Softwr

Remote Work · head to head

HubSpot CRM vs Hubstaff

HubSpot CRM logo

HubSpot CRM

Remote Work

Free CRM for sales and marketing

From
Free
Rated
-
Hubstaff logo

Hubstaff

Productivity

Time tracking and team management for remote teams

From
$5.99/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only HubSpot CRM has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: HubSpot CRM starter plan discount for new customers only, subject to discontinuation at any time without notice; Hubstaff no pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed
  • They diverge on capability: HubSpot CRM covers Contact management, Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which HubSpot CRM and Hubstaff actually diverge.

Attributes where HubSpot CRM and Hubstaff differ
AttributeHubSpot CRMHubstaff
Starting priceFree$5.99/month
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWeb, Mobile iOS, Mobile AndroidWeb, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows
CategoryRemote WorkProductivity
Founded20062012

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in HubSpot CRM

  • Contact management
  • Deal tracking
  • Email
  • Reporting
  • Automation
  • Slack
  • GitHub
  • Salesforce

Only in Hubstaff

  • Time tracking with timer
  • Activity monitoring
  • GPS location tracking
  • Screenshots
  • Reports and analytics
  • Invoicing
  • Team management
  • Mobile apps

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

HubSpot CRM

  • Contact and deal management for sales teamsnot Hubstaff
  • Customer data organization and reportingnot Hubstaff
  • Team collaboration with permission controlsnot Hubstaff

Hubstaff

  • Productivitynot HubSpot CRM
  • Collaborationnot HubSpot CRM
  • Task managementnot HubSpot CRM
  • Organizationnot HubSpot CRM

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

HubSpot CRM

  • Starter plan discount for new customers only, subject to discontinuation at any time without notice
  • Free plan limited to 2 users and 1,000 contacts, requiring upgrade for larger teams
  • Per-seat pricing model on all paid tiers, making team expansion costly

Hubstaff

  • No pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed
  • Per-seat pricing structure means users charged per team member regardless of active tracking use
  • Billing model includes prorated charges on annual plans but full rates for new monthly users, creating potential cost complications

Pricing, plan by plan

HubSpot CRM

Free
  • Free CRMFree
    • Up to 2 users
    • 1,000 contacts
    • Unlimited customer data
  • Starter$15/month
    • Required fields
    • Permission sets
    • Multiple currencies
  • Professional$50/month
    • AI customer agent
    • Duplicate management
    • Standard contact scoring
  • Enterprise$75/month
    • Custom objects
    • Organize teams
    • Single sign-on

Hubstaff

$5.99/month
  • FreeFree
    • Basic time tracking
    • Limited to 1 user
    • Basic reports
  • Starter$5.99/month
    • Time tracking
    • Team management
    • Reports
  • Pro$9.99/month
    • Everything in Starter
    • GPS tracking
    • Activity monitoring

Which should you pick?

Choose HubSpot CRM if

  • You need contact management.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Mobile iOS, Mobile Android.
  • You also want deal tracking.

Choose Hubstaff if

  • You need time tracking with timer.
  • You work on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows.
  • You also want activity monitoring.

Questions people ask

Is HubSpot CRM or Hubstaff better?
Neither clearly leads. HubSpot CRM starts at Free and Hubstaff at $5.99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, HubSpot CRM or Hubstaff?
HubSpot CRM has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for HubSpot CRM and $5.99/month for Hubstaff.
Does HubSpot CRM or Hubstaff run on more platforms?
HubSpot CRM runs on Web, Mobile iOS, Mobile Android. Hubstaff runs on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows.
Can I use HubSpot CRM for free?
Yes. HubSpot CRM has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Hubstaff starts at $5.99/month.
What is HubSpot CRM best used for?
HubSpot CRM is most often used for contact and deal management for sales teams, customer data organization and reporting, team collaboration with permission controls. Of those, contact and deal management for sales teams and customer data organization and reporting are not what Hubstaff is typically brought in for.
What can HubSpot CRM do that Hubstaff cannot?
HubSpot CRM covers Contact management, Deal tracking, Email, Reporting. Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, Activity monitoring, GPS location tracking, Screenshots.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

HubSpot CRM: What is the cost of HubSpot CRM for different company sizes?

Free CRM for up to 2 users at $0/month. Starter at $15/month per seat (new customers only), Professional at $50/month per seat, Enterprise at $75/month per seat.

Source
Hubstaff: How much does Hubstaff cost?

Specific pricing amounts are not published on the pricing page. Hubstaff offers monthly and annual billing options with a per-seat pricing structure, a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans, and a 14-day free trial with no credit card required.

Source
HubSpot CRM: What are the user and contact limits on the free HubSpot CRM plan?

Free plan supports up to 2 users, 1,000 contacts, and unlimited customer data with no expiration date or credit card required.

Source
Hubstaff: Is there a free trial for Hubstaff?

Hubstaff offers a free 14-day trial with no credit card required, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans excluding the free trial period.

Source
HubSpot CRM: Can data migrate from free to paid HubSpot CRM plans without loss?

Users can upgrade from free to premium tiers without data migration required, meaning all contacts and information transfer to the new plan.

Source
Hubstaff: How does Hubstaff billing work when adding team members mid-cycle?

For annual plans, Hubstaff prorates charges when adding seats mid-cycle. For monthly plans, full rates apply for new users with no prorating offered.

Source
HubSpot CRM: Is there a discount for HubSpot CRM new customer pricing?

Starter plan offers a new customer discount with no set end date, but HubSpot reserves the right to discontinue this offer at any time.

Source
Hubstaff: Can Hubstaff plans be canceled anytime?

Plans can be canceled anytime by contacting support or archiving the associated organization. Users removed from monthly plans do not receive prorated refunds.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads