Productivity · head to head
Hubstaff vs Todoist

Hubstaff
Productivity
Time tracking and team management for remote teams
- From
- $5.99/month
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Todoist has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Hubstaff no pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed; Todoist no built-in time tracking for tasks; requires third-party integration like Toggl
- They diverge on capability: Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, Todoist covers Natural language input.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Hubstaff and Todoist actually diverge.
Identical on both: platforms (Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Productivity).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Hubstaff
- Time tracking with timer
- Activity monitoring
- GPS location tracking
- Screenshots
- Reports and analytics
- Invoicing
- Team management
- Mobile apps
Only in Todoist
- Natural language input
- Recurring tasks
- Projects and sub-tasks
- Labels and filters
- Priority levels
- Productivity tracking
- Templates
- Notifications
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Hubstaff
- Productivitynot Todoist
- Collaborationnot Todoist
- Task managementnot Todoist
- Organizationnot Todoist
Todoist
- Personal task managementnot Hubstaff
- Team project coordinationnot Hubstaff
- Goal trackingnot Hubstaff
- Habit buildingnot Hubstaff
- Daily planningnot Hubstaff
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Hubstaff
- No pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed
- Per-seat pricing structure means users charged per team member regardless of active tracking use
- Billing model includes prorated charges on annual plans but full rates for new monthly users, creating potential cost complications
Todoist
- No built-in time tracking for tasks; requires third-party integration like Toggl
- Free plan limited to 5 personal projects only
- No Gantt charts, resource allocation, or advanced project management features for large enterprises
- Phone support not available; email and help center only
- Calendar view and advanced filtering only available on paid plans
Pricing, plan by plan
Hubstaff
$5.99/month- FreeFree
- Basic time tracking
- Limited to 1 user
- Basic reports
- Starter$5.99/month
- Time tracking
- Team management
- Reports
- Pro$9.99/month
- Everything in Starter
- GPS tracking
- Activity monitoring
Todoist
Free- BeginnerFree
- 5 personal projects
- Smart Quick Add
- Task reminders
- Pro$5/month
- 300 personal projects
- Calendar layout
- Custom task reminders
- Business$8/month
- Everything in Pro
- Shared team workspace
- Up to 500 team projects
Which should you pick?
Choose Hubstaff if
- You need time tracking with timer.
- You work on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows.
- You also want activity monitoring.
Choose Todoist if
- You need natural language input.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows.
- You also want recurring tasks.
Questions people ask
- Is Hubstaff or Todoist better?
- Neither clearly leads. Hubstaff starts at $5.99/month and Todoist at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Hubstaff or Todoist?
- Todoist has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $5.99/month for Hubstaff and Free for Todoist.
- Does Hubstaff or Todoist run on more platforms?
- Hubstaff runs on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows. Todoist runs on Web, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows.
- Can I use Todoist for free?
- Yes. Todoist has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Hubstaff starts at $5.99/month.
- What is Hubstaff best used for?
- Hubstaff is most often used for productivity, collaboration, task management, organization. Of those, productivity and collaboration are not what Todoist is typically brought in for.
- What can Hubstaff do that Todoist cannot?
- Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, Activity monitoring, GPS location tracking, Screenshots. Todoist covers Natural language input, Recurring tasks, Projects and sub-tasks, Labels and filters.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Hubstaff: How much does Hubstaff cost?
Specific pricing amounts are not published on the pricing page. Hubstaff offers monthly and annual billing options with a per-seat pricing structure, a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans, and a 14-day free trial with no credit card required.
SourceTodoist: Does Todoist work offline?
Basic editing and task management work offline, but advanced features like syncing reminders and shared updates require internet connectivity.
SourceHubstaff: Is there a free trial for Hubstaff?
Hubstaff offers a free 14-day trial with no credit card required, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans excluding the free trial period.
SourceTodoist: Does Todoist have a free plan and what does it include?
Yes, Todoist offers a free Beginner plan with 5 personal projects, Smart Quick Add, task reminders, flexible layouts, 3 filter views, and 1 week activity history. More advanced features require the Pro or Business plans.
SourceHubstaff: How does Hubstaff billing work when adding team members mid-cycle?
For annual plans, Hubstaff prorates charges when adding seats mid-cycle. For monthly plans, full rates apply for new users with no prorating offered.
SourceTodoist: Can I use Todoist on mobile devices?
Yes, Todoist offers native apps for both iOS and Android with over 30 million downloads. Mobile apps provide full task management functionality across devices.
SourceHubstaff: Can Hubstaff plans be canceled anytime?
Plans can be canceled anytime by contacting support or archiving the associated organization. Users removed from monthly plans do not receive prorated refunds.
SourceTodoist: What integrations does Todoist support?
Todoist integrates with over 100 apps including Slack, Google Calendar, Outlook, Microsoft Teams, Gmail, and Toggl Track. Additional integrations are available through Zapier, Make, and IFTTT automation platforms.
SourceTodoist: How much does Todoist cost?
Free plan is $0. Pro plan costs $5/month (billed annually) or $7/month (monthly billing). Business plan costs $8/month per user (annual) or $10/month per user (monthly), as of December 2025.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Hubstaff vs OmniFocus 3
- Hubstaff vs Things 3
- Hubstaff vs Brain.fm
- Hubstaff vs Time Doctor
- Hubstaff vs Memtime
- Hubstaff vs MeetGeek
- Hubstaff vs FigJam
- Hubstaff vs DeskTime
- Hubstaff vs Tana
- Hubstaff vs Alfred
- Hubstaff vs MindMeister
- Hubstaff vs Akiflow
- Hubstaff vs Any.do
- Hubstaff vs Forest
- Hubstaff vs HEY
- Hubstaff vs Mealime
- Hubstaff vs Microsoft 365
- Hubstaff vs Remember The Milk
- Hubstaff vs TickTick
- Hubstaff vs Habitica
- Hubstaff vs Focus@Will
- Hubstaff vs Focusmate
- Hubstaff vs Bear Notes
- Hubstaff vs Mimestream
- Hubstaff vs Nitro PDF
- Hubstaff vs Beautiful.ai
- Hubstaff vs PDF Expert
- Todoist vs OmniFocus 3
- Todoist vs Things 3
- Todoist vs Brain.fm
- Todoist vs Time Doctor
- Todoist vs Memtime
- Todoist vs MeetGeek
- Todoist vs FigJam
- Todoist vs DeskTime
- Todoist vs Tana
- Todoist vs Alfred
- Todoist vs MindMeister
- Todoist vs Akiflow
- Todoist vs Any.do
- Todoist vs Forest
- Todoist vs HEY
- Todoist vs Mealime
- Todoist vs Microsoft 365
- Todoist vs Remember The Milk
- Todoist vs TickTick
- Todoist vs Habitica
- Todoist vs Focus@Will
- Todoist vs Focusmate
- Todoist vs Bear Notes
- Todoist vs Mimestream
- Todoist vs Nitro PDF
- Todoist vs Beautiful.ai
- Todoist vs PDF Expert

