Softwr

Productivity · head to head

Alfred vs Hubstaff

Alfred logo

Alfred

Productivity

Mac launcher and automation tool sold as a one-time Powerpack licence rather than a subscription

From
Free
Rated
-
Hubstaff logo

Hubstaff

Productivity

Time tracking and team management for remote teams

From
$5.99/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Alfred has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Alfred there is no official built in AI assistant, so anything AI related depends on a community workflow calling an external API key you supply yourself.; Hubstaff no pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed
  • They diverge on capability: Alfred covers Workflows, Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Alfred and Hubstaff actually diverge.

Attributes where Alfred and Hubstaff differ
AttributeAlfredHubstaff
Starting priceFree$5.99/month
Pricing modelOne-time purchasesubscription
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsMacWeb, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows
FoundedUnknown2012

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Productivity).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Alfred

  • Workflows
  • Clipboard history
  • Snippets
  • File actions
  • Universal actions
  • Theming

Only in Hubstaff

  • Time tracking with timer
  • Activity monitoring
  • GPS location tracking
  • Screenshots
  • Reports and analytics
  • Invoicing
  • Team management
  • Mobile apps

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Alfred

  • A developer who wants to trigger scripts, run shell commands and search files from one hotkey without a subscriptionnot Hubstaff
  • A writer who wants text snippets and clipboard history and does not want built in AInot Hubstaff
  • A long time Alfred user with a large personal library of custom workflows built up over yearsnot Hubstaff
  • A user who prefers paying once per major version over a recurring monthly chargenot Hubstaff

Hubstaff

  • Productivitynot Alfred
  • Collaborationnot Alfred
  • Task managementnot Alfred
  • Organizationnot Alfred

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Alfred

  • There is no official built in AI assistant, so anything AI related depends on a community workflow calling an external API key you supply yourself.
  • The workflow format is older XML and script filters, which is less approachable for a beginner than a modern extension store with typed APIs.
  • It is Mac only, so a user who splits time between Mac and Windows needs a second tool on the other machine.
  • The free tier is quite limited, with no workflows or clipboard history, so most serious users end up paying for the Powerpack anyway.
  • Because upgrades to a new major version are a separate purchase for Single Licence holders, users who skip the Mega Supporter tier can face a further one-time charge every few years.

Hubstaff

  • No pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed
  • Per-seat pricing structure means users charged per team member regardless of active tracking use
  • Billing model includes prorated charges on annual plans but full rates for new monthly users, creating potential cost complications

Pricing, plan by plan

Alfred

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Basic app and file launching
    • Web searches and system commands
    • No workflows or clipboard history
  • Powerpack Single Licence$34/one-time
    • 1 user on up to 2 Macs
    • Workflows, clipboard history and snippets
    • Free updates within the same major version
  • Powerpack Mega Supporter$59/one-time
    • 1 user on up to 4 Macs
    • Free upgrades to all future major versions
    • Early access to betas

Hubstaff

$5.99/month
  • FreeFree
    • Basic time tracking
    • Limited to 1 user
    • Basic reports
  • Starter$5.99/month
    • Time tracking
    • Team management
    • Reports
  • Pro$9.99/month
    • Everything in Starter
    • GPS tracking
    • Activity monitoring

Which should you pick?

Choose Alfred if

  • You need workflows.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Mac.
  • You also want clipboard history.

Choose Hubstaff if

  • You need time tracking with timer.
  • You work on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows.
  • You also want activity monitoring.

Questions people ask

Is Alfred or Hubstaff better?
Neither clearly leads. Alfred starts at Free and Hubstaff at $5.99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Alfred or Hubstaff?
Alfred has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Alfred and $5.99/month for Hubstaff.
Does Alfred or Hubstaff run on more platforms?
Alfred runs on Mac. Hubstaff runs on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows.
Can I use Alfred for free?
Yes. Alfred has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Hubstaff starts at $5.99/month.
What is Alfred best used for?
Alfred is most often used for a developer who wants to trigger scripts, run shell commands and search files from one hotkey without a subscription, a writer who wants text snippets and clipboard history and does not want built in ai, a long time alfred user with a large personal library of custom workflows built up over years, a user who prefers paying once per major version over a recurring monthly charge. Of those, a developer who wants to trigger scripts, run shell commands and search files from one hotkey without a subscription and a writer who wants text snippets and clipboard history and does not want built in ai are not what Hubstaff is typically brought in for.
What can Alfred do that Hubstaff cannot?
Alfred covers Workflows, Clipboard history, Snippets, File actions. Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, Activity monitoring, GPS location tracking, Screenshots.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Alfred: Is Alfred a subscription?

No. The Powerpack is a one-time purchase per major version, or a one-time Mega Supporter purchase that includes all future major version upgrades.

Hubstaff: How much does Hubstaff cost?

Specific pricing amounts are not published on the pricing page. Hubstaff offers monthly and annual billing options with a per-seat pricing structure, a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans, and a 14-day free trial with no credit card required.

Source
Alfred: Does Alfred replace Spotlight?

It can. Alfred can take over the system-wide hotkey and generally returns results faster with more configurable behaviour than Spotlight.

Hubstaff: Is there a free trial for Hubstaff?

Hubstaff offers a free 14-day trial with no credit card required, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans excluding the free trial period.

Source
Alfred: Does Alfred have AI features?

Not officially built in. Some community workflows add AI chat or completion by calling an external API with a key you provide.

Hubstaff: How does Hubstaff billing work when adding team members mid-cycle?

For annual plans, Hubstaff prorates charges when adding seats mid-cycle. For monthly plans, full rates apply for new users with no prorating offered.

Source
Hubstaff: Can Hubstaff plans be canceled anytime?

Plans can be canceled anytime by contacting support or archiving the associated organization. Users removed from monthly plans do not receive prorated refunds.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads