Restaurants · head to head
Apicbase vs TouchBistro
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; TouchBistro requires annual contracts with no monthly billing option
- They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, TouchBistro covers iPad POS.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Apicbase and TouchBistro actually diverge.
| Attribute | Apicbase | TouchBistro |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | On request | $69/month |
| Pricing model | quote | Unknown |
| Platforms | Web, Ios, Android | iPad |
| Founded | 2017 | 2010 |
Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Apicbase
- Centralized recipes
- Inventory management
- Procurement
- Food cost analytics
- Menu engineering
- HACCP
- POS systems
- Accounting software
Only in TouchBistro
- iPad POS
- Table management
- Menu management
- Staff scheduling
- Inventory tracking
- Customer relationship management
- QuickBooks
- Xero
Both cover
- Ios support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Apicbase
- Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot TouchBistro
- Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot TouchBistro
- Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot TouchBistro
- Purchasing and supplier price managementnot TouchBistro
- Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot TouchBistro
TouchBistro
- Point of Salenot Apicbase
- Order Managementnot Apicbase
- Inventory Controlnot Apicbase
- Staff Schedulingnot Apicbase
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Apicbase
- No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
- Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
- Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
- Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed
TouchBistro
- Requires annual contracts with no monthly billing option
- Add-on pricing for features like online ordering, reservations, loyalty programs is not transparent and requires custom quotes
- Limited to iPad hardware, reducing flexibility compared to multi-device systems like Lightspeed or Clover
- Mandatory use of TouchBistro Payments for new customers reduces payment processor options
Pricing, plan by plan
Apicbase
On request- Growth$undefined/mo
- Starting from 5 outlets
- Up to 5,000 ingredients
- Up to 1,000 recipes
- Professional$undefined/mo
- For established brands
- Up to 10,000 ingredients
- Up to 2,000 recipes
- Enterprise$undefined/mo
- For large-scale operators
- Custom arrangements
TouchBistro
$69/monthNo published plan breakdown. See the TouchBistro review.
Which should you pick?
Choose Apicbase if
- You need centralized recipes.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android.
- You also want inventory management.
Choose TouchBistro if
- You need ipad pos.
- You work on iPad.
- You also want table management.
Questions people ask
- Is Apicbase or TouchBistro better?
- Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and TouchBistro at $69/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Apicbase or TouchBistro?
- Apicbase starts at On request and TouchBistro at $69/month.
- Does Apicbase or TouchBistro run on more platforms?
- Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. TouchBistro runs on iPad.
- What is Apicbase best used for?
- Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what TouchBistro is typically brought in for.
- What can Apicbase do that TouchBistro cannot?
- Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. TouchBistro covers iPad POS, Table management, Menu management, Staff scheduling. Both handle Ios support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?
Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.
SourceTouchBistro: Can TouchBistro process payments offline?
Yes. TouchBistro has offline payment capabilities where you can accept payments and store credit card information when offline, with transactions processing once Internet is restored. However, you cannot dip or tap the card in offline mode; you must swipe instead.
SourceApicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?
Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.
SourceTouchBistro: Can I integrate TouchBistro with DoorDash or Uber Eats?
Yes. TouchBistro integrates with delivery platforms through Deliverect and UrbanPiper, which aggregate orders from DoorDash, Uber Eats, and other services directly into your TouchBistro POS, eliminating manual order entry.
SourceApicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?
Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.
SourceTouchBistro: What are the minimum hardware requirements for TouchBistro?
TouchBistro runs on Apple iPads and works with compatible printers, cash drawers, and payment terminals. The system leverages iPad hardware you may already own, potentially reducing initial hardware costs compared to dedicated POS systems.
SourceApicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?
Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.
SourceTouchBistro: Do I have to sign a long-term contract with TouchBistro?
Yes. All TouchBistro plans require annual contracts, and the system requires TouchBistro Payments (powered by Chase) for payment processing on all new customer accounts.
SourceRelated pages
More on TouchBistro
Other head to heads
- Apicbase vs WISK
- Apicbase vs Square for Restaurants
- Apicbase vs Toast POS
- Apicbase vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- Apicbase vs Clover
- Apicbase vs CrunchTime
- Apicbase vs Lunchbox
- Apicbase vs meez
- Apicbase vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- Apicbase vs Restroworks
- Apicbase vs Compeat
- Apicbase vs Craftable
- Apicbase vs Rezku POS
- Apicbase vs SevenRooms
- Apicbase vs Slice
- Apicbase vs Sling
- Apicbase vs Talech
- Apicbase vs Tock
- Apicbase vs Lavu
- Apicbase vs Aloha POS
- Apicbase vs Revel Systems
- Apicbase vs CAKE POS
- Apicbase vs Upserve
- Apicbase vs Heartland Restaurant
- Apicbase vs SpotOn
- Apicbase vs Swiggy
- Apicbase vs UrbanPiper
- Apicbase vs xtraCHEF
- TouchBistro vs WISK
- TouchBistro vs Square for Restaurants
- TouchBistro vs Toast POS
- TouchBistro vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- TouchBistro vs Clover
- TouchBistro vs CrunchTime
- TouchBistro vs Lunchbox
- TouchBistro vs meez
- TouchBistro vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- TouchBistro vs Restroworks
- TouchBistro vs Compeat
- TouchBistro vs Craftable
- TouchBistro vs Rezku POS
- TouchBistro vs SevenRooms
- TouchBistro vs Slice
- TouchBistro vs Sling
- TouchBistro vs Talech
- TouchBistro vs Tock
- TouchBistro vs Lavu
- TouchBistro vs Aloha POS
- TouchBistro vs Revel Systems
- TouchBistro vs CAKE POS
- TouchBistro vs Upserve
- TouchBistro vs Heartland Restaurant
- TouchBistro vs SpotOn
- TouchBistro vs Swiggy
- TouchBistro vs UrbanPiper
- TouchBistro vs xtraCHEF


