Restaurants · head to head
Apicbase vs Sling
The short version
- Only Sling has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; Sling the free plan is limited to 30 users
- They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Sling covers Employee scheduling.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Apicbase and Sling actually diverge.
Identical on both: platforms (Web, Ios, Android), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Apicbase
- Centralized recipes
- Inventory management
- Procurement
- Food cost analytics
- Menu engineering
- HACCP
- POS systems
- Accounting software
Only in Sling
- Employee scheduling
- Time tracking
- Team messaging
- Task management
- Shift swapping
- Labor cost tracking
- Toast
- Square
Both cover
- Web support
- Ios support
- Android support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Apicbase
- Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot Sling
- Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot Sling
- Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot Sling
- Purchasing and supplier price managementnot Sling
- Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot Sling
Sling
- Building and publishing shift schedules for hourly staffnot Apicbase
- Tracking clock in and clock out and labour costnot Apicbase
- Messaging and announcements across a shift based teamnot Apicbase
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Apicbase
- No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
- Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
- Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
- Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed
Sling
- The free plan is limited to 30 users
- Time tracking on mobile, labour cost tracking and overtime analysis require the Premium plan
- Kiosk time clock, hours and wages reporting, no show tracking, sick leave and PTO tracking require the Business plan
- The lowest advertised per user rates of $1.70 and $3.40 require annual billing
Pricing, plan by plan
Apicbase
On request- Growth$undefined/mo
- Starting from 5 outlets
- Up to 5,000 ingredients
- Up to 1,000 recipes
- Professional$undefined/mo
- For established brands
- Up to 10,000 ingredients
- Up to 2,000 recipes
- Enterprise$undefined/mo
- For large-scale operators
- Custom arrangements
Sling
Free- FreeFree
- Up to 30 users
- Shift scheduling
- Time-off requests
- Premium$2/month
- Mobile time tracking
- Labor cost management
- Overtime tracking
- Business$4/month
- Kiosk time tracking
- Comprehensive reports
- No-show tracking
Which should you pick?
Choose Apicbase if
- You need centralized recipes.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android.
- You also want inventory management.
Choose Sling if
- You need employee scheduling.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android.
- You also want time tracking.
Questions people ask
- Is Apicbase or Sling better?
- Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and Sling at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Apicbase or Sling?
- Sling has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Apicbase and Free for Sling.
- Does Apicbase or Sling run on more platforms?
- Both run on Web, Ios, Android, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
- Can I use Sling for free?
- Yes. Sling has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Apicbase starts at On request.
- What is Apicbase best used for?
- Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what Sling is typically brought in for.
- What can Apicbase do that Sling cannot?
- Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. Sling covers Employee scheduling, Time tracking, Team messaging, Task management. Both handle Web support, Ios support, Android support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?
Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.
SourceSling: How much does Sling cost?
Sling offers a free tier supporting up to 30 users. Premium plans start at $2.00 per user per month (or $1.70 with annual billing), and Business plans cost $4.00 per user per month (or $3.40 with annual billing). Both paid tiers offer a 15% discount for annual billing.
SourceApicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?
Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.
SourceSling: Does Sling offer a free trial?
Yes, Sling offers a free plan supporting unlimited scheduling features for up to 30 users. Additionally, Premium and Business plans include 15-day free trials with no credit card required to start.
SourceApicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?
Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.
SourceSling: What does Sling's Business plan include?
Sling's Business plan, marked as recommended, costs $4.00 per user per month (or $3.40 with annual billing). It includes kiosk time tracking, comprehensive reports, no-show tracking, sick call-out management, and PTO management. Users only pay for active team members with prorated charges when employees are deactivated.
SourceApicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?
Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Apicbase vs WISK
- Apicbase vs Square for Restaurants
- Apicbase vs Toast POS
- Apicbase vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- Apicbase vs Clover
- Apicbase vs CrunchTime
- Apicbase vs Lunchbox
- Apicbase vs meez
- Apicbase vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- Apicbase vs Restroworks
- Apicbase vs Compeat
- Apicbase vs Craftable
- Apicbase vs Rezku POS
- Apicbase vs SevenRooms
- Apicbase vs Slice
- Apicbase vs Talech
- Apicbase vs Tock
- Apicbase vs HotSchedules
- Apicbase vs When I Work
- Apicbase vs 7shifts
- Apicbase vs Restaurant365
- Apicbase vs Lavu
- Apicbase vs Deputy
- Apicbase vs Revel Systems
- Apicbase vs Uber Eats
- Apicbase vs Flipdish
- Apicbase vs Foodics
- Apicbase vs Galley Solutions
- Apicbase vs Jolt
- Apicbase vs Lineup.ai
- Sling vs WISK
- Sling vs Square for Restaurants
- Sling vs Toast POS
- Sling vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- Sling vs Clover
- Sling vs CrunchTime
- Sling vs Lunchbox
- Sling vs meez
- Sling vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- Sling vs Restroworks
- Sling vs Compeat
- Sling vs Craftable
- Sling vs Rezku POS
- Sling vs SevenRooms
- Sling vs Slice
- Sling vs Talech
- Sling vs Tock
- Sling vs HotSchedules
- Sling vs When I Work
- Sling vs 7shifts
- Sling vs Restaurant365
- Sling vs Lavu
- Sling vs Deputy
- Sling vs Revel Systems
- Sling vs Uber Eats
- Sling vs Flipdish
- Sling vs Foodics
- Sling vs Galley Solutions
- Sling vs Jolt
- Sling vs Lineup.ai


