Restaurants · head to head
Apicbase vs Revel Systems
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; Revel Systems requires 3-year contract with high early termination fees making it difficult to cancel
- They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Revel Systems covers iPad POS.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Apicbase and Revel Systems actually diverge.
| Attribute | Apicbase | Revel Systems |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | On request | $99/month |
| Pricing model | quote | Unknown |
| Platforms | Web, Ios, Android | iPad, Web |
| Founded | 2017 | 2010 |
Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Apicbase
- Centralized recipes
- Procurement
- Food cost analytics
- Menu engineering
- HACCP
- POS systems
- Accounting software
- Supplier platforms
Only in Revel Systems
- iPad POS
- CRM
- Employee management
- Delivery management
- Multi-location management
- QuickBooks
- Xero
- 7shifts
Both cover
- Inventory management
- Ios support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Apicbase
- Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot Revel Systems
- Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot Revel Systems
- Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot Revel Systems
- Purchasing and supplier price managementnot Revel Systems
- Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot Revel Systems
Revel Systems
- Point of Salenot Apicbase
- Order Managementnot Apicbase
- Inventory Controlnot Apicbase
- Staff Schedulingnot Apicbase
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Apicbase
- No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
- Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
- Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
- Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed
Revel Systems
- Requires 3-year contract with high early termination fees making it difficult to cancel
- System crashes and glitches frequently, especially at high transaction volumes
- Mandatory payment processing through Revel's Advantage processor with external processors heavily penalized
- Customer support quality is poor with Level 1 support described as ineffective
- Expensive upfront costs and numerous hidden fees for add-on features
Pricing, plan by plan
Apicbase
On request- Growth$undefined/mo
- Starting from 5 outlets
- Up to 5,000 ingredients
- Up to 1,000 recipes
- Professional$undefined/mo
- For established brands
- Up to 10,000 ingredients
- Up to 2,000 recipes
- Enterprise$undefined/mo
- For large-scale operators
- Custom arrangements
Revel Systems
$99/monthNo published plan breakdown. See the Revel Systems review.
Which should you pick?
Choose Apicbase if
- You need centralized recipes.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android.
- You also want procurement.
Choose Revel Systems if
- You need ipad pos.
- You work on iPad, Web.
- You also want crm.
Questions people ask
- Is Apicbase or Revel Systems better?
- Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and Revel Systems at $99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Apicbase or Revel Systems?
- Apicbase starts at On request and Revel Systems at $99/month.
- Does Apicbase or Revel Systems run on more platforms?
- Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. Revel Systems runs on iPad, Web.
- What is Apicbase best used for?
- Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what Revel Systems is typically brought in for.
- What can Apicbase do that Revel Systems cannot?
- Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Procurement, Food cost analytics, Menu engineering. Revel Systems covers iPad POS, CRM, Employee management, Delivery management. Both handle Inventory management, Ios support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?
Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.
SourceRevel Systems: What does Revel Systems cost?
Revel pricing starts around $99 per month per terminal with a minimum 3-year contract requirement. Customers also pay for additional features like reporting, workforce management, integrations, and Advantage payment processing which is typically mandatory.
SourceApicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?
Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.
SourceRevel Systems: How long does implementation take?
Revel implementation typically takes 2-4 weeks, including hardware setup, menu configuration, staff training, and system integration.
SourceApicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?
Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.
SourceRevel Systems: What integrations does Revel support?
Revel integrates with multiple payment processors through Stripe and Square connectors, plus accounting, payroll, and ecommerce solutions. Payment gateways vary by region.
SourceApicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?
Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.
SourceRevel Systems: What are Revel's contract terms?
Revel requires a minimum 3-year contract with high early termination fees. Use of Revel's Advantage payment processing is typically mandatory, and using outside processors is heavily penalized or not allowed.
SourceRelated pages
More on Revel Systems
Other head to heads
- Apicbase vs WISK
- Apicbase vs Square for Restaurants
- Apicbase vs Toast POS
- Apicbase vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- Apicbase vs Clover
- Apicbase vs CrunchTime
- Apicbase vs Lunchbox
- Apicbase vs meez
- Apicbase vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- Apicbase vs Restroworks
- Apicbase vs Compeat
- Apicbase vs Craftable
- Apicbase vs Rezku POS
- Apicbase vs SevenRooms
- Apicbase vs Slice
- Apicbase vs Sling
- Apicbase vs Talech
- Apicbase vs Tock
- Apicbase vs Aloha POS
- Apicbase vs Lavu
- Apicbase vs TouchBistro
- Apicbase vs Restaurant365
- Apicbase vs Olo
- Apicbase vs Heartland Restaurant
- Apicbase vs Deliverect
- Apicbase vs Wisely
- Apicbase vs Yelp Reservations
- Apicbase vs Deliveroo
- Revel Systems vs WISK
- Revel Systems vs Square for Restaurants
- Revel Systems vs Toast POS
- Revel Systems vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- Revel Systems vs Clover
- Revel Systems vs CrunchTime
- Revel Systems vs Lunchbox
- Revel Systems vs meez
- Revel Systems vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- Revel Systems vs Restroworks
- Revel Systems vs Compeat
- Revel Systems vs Craftable
- Revel Systems vs Rezku POS
- Revel Systems vs SevenRooms
- Revel Systems vs Slice
- Revel Systems vs Sling
- Revel Systems vs Talech
- Revel Systems vs Tock
- Revel Systems vs Aloha POS
- Revel Systems vs Lavu
- Revel Systems vs TouchBistro
- Revel Systems vs Restaurant365
- Revel Systems vs Olo
- Revel Systems vs Heartland Restaurant
- Revel Systems vs Deliverect
- Revel Systems vs Wisely
- Revel Systems vs Yelp Reservations
- Revel Systems vs Deliveroo


