Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

Apicbase vs UrbanPiper

Apicbase logo

Apicbase

Restaurants

F&B management for multi-unit operations

From
On request
Rated
-
UrbanPiper logo

UrbanPiper

Restaurants

Order and menu middleware connecting Indian delivery marketplaces to restaurant point of sale systems

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; UrbanPiper the commission paid to Swiggy and Zomato is unchanged, so the per outlet fee is an additional cost layered on top of marketplace economics rather than a saving.
  • They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, UrbanPiper covers Marketplace order injection.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Apicbase and UrbanPiper actually diverge.

Attributes where Apicbase and UrbanPiper differ
AttributeApicbaseUrbanPiper
PlatformsWeb, Ios, AndroidWeb, Android, iOS
Founded2017Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (quote), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Apicbase

  • Centralized recipes
  • Inventory management
  • Procurement
  • Food cost analytics
  • Menu engineering
  • HACCP
  • POS systems
  • Accounting software

Only in UrbanPiper

  • Marketplace order injection
  • Catalogue management
  • Stock and availability sync
  • Direct ordering storefront
  • Consolidated reporting
  • Outlet level controls

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Apicbase

  • Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot UrbanPiper
  • Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot UrbanPiper
  • Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot UrbanPiper
  • Purchasing and supplier price managementnot UrbanPiper
  • Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot UrbanPiper

UrbanPiper

  • An Indian chain whose staff currently re key Swiggy and Zomato orders into the till during peak servicenot Apicbase
  • A cloud kitchen running several brands that need separate menus kept in step across marketplacesnot Apicbase
  • An operator who needs to pause an outlet on every channel instantly when the kitchen is backed upnot Apicbase
  • A group that wants marketplace and direct order performance reported in the same placenot Apicbase

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Apicbase

  • No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
  • Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
  • Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
  • Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed

UrbanPiper

  • The commission paid to Swiggy and Zomato is unchanged, so the per outlet fee is an additional cost layered on top of marketplace economics rather than a saving.
  • Integrations exist at the discretion of two dominant marketplaces, and any change they make to partner access or API terms lands directly on customers.
  • Value is concentrated in Indian and adjacent markets, so a group expanding to Europe or North America needs a different middleware vendor there.
  • POS integration depth varies, and where item level mapping is incomplete orders arrive lumped, which undermines the product mix reporting that justified the purchase.
  • As with all order middleware it is a failure point between the marketplace and the kitchen, so an incident stops orders arriving while the apps continue to accept them.

Pricing, plan by plan

Apicbase

On request
  • Growth$undefined/mo
    • Starting from 5 outlets
    • Up to 5,000 ingredients
    • Up to 1,000 recipes
  • Professional$undefined/mo
    • For established brands
    • Up to 10,000 ingredients
    • Up to 2,000 recipes
  • Enterprise$undefined/mo
    • For large-scale operators
    • Custom arrangements

UrbanPiper

On request
  • UrbanPiper$undefined/year
    • Quoted per outlet per month
    • Channel connections counted per outlet
    • Direct ordering storefront licensed separately

Which should you pick?

Choose Apicbase if

  • You need centralized recipes.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose UrbanPiper if

  • You need marketplace order injection.
  • You work on Web, Android, iOS.
  • You also want catalogue management.

Questions people ask

Is Apicbase or UrbanPiper better?
Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and UrbanPiper at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Apicbase or UrbanPiper?
Apicbase starts at On request and UrbanPiper at On request.
Does Apicbase or UrbanPiper run on more platforms?
Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. UrbanPiper runs on Web, Android, iOS.
What is Apicbase best used for?
Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what UrbanPiper is typically brought in for.
What can Apicbase do that UrbanPiper cannot?
Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. UrbanPiper covers Marketplace order injection, Catalogue management, Stock and availability sync, Direct ordering storefront.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?

Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.

Source
UrbanPiper: Does it reduce Swiggy and Zomato commission?

No. Commission is set by the marketplaces. UrbanPiper removes manual order entry and menu drift.

Apicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?

Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.

Source
UrbanPiper: Which point of sale systems does it support?

Most Indian cloud POS platforms, including Restroworks and Petpooja, along with several international systems.

Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?

Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.

Source
UrbanPiper: Can it run my own ordering channel?

Yes, through its direct storefront and app products, licensed in addition to marketplace integration.

Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?

Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.

Source
UrbanPiper: Is it available outside India?

It operates in South East Asia and the Middle East as well, but its channel coverage advantage is in India.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads