Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

Apicbase vs Slice

Apicbase logo

Apicbase

Restaurants

F&B management for multi-unit operations

From
On request
Rated
-
Slice logo

Slice

Restaurants

Online ordering, POS and group purchasing built only for independent pizzerias

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; Slice the platform sells only to pizzerias, so a group that adds a second concept has to run a separate ordering stack for it.
  • They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Slice covers Flat fee per order.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Apicbase and Slice actually diverge.

Attributes where Apicbase and Slice differ
AttributeApicbaseSlice
Founded2017Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (quote), free tier (No), platforms (Web, Ios, Android), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Apicbase

  • Centralized recipes
  • Inventory management
  • Procurement
  • Food cost analytics
  • Menu engineering
  • HACCP
  • POS systems
  • Accounting software

Only in Slice

  • Flat fee per order
  • Branded ordering site and app
  • Slice Register
  • Slice Ingredients
  • Delivery dispatch
  • Marketing tools

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Apicbase

  • Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot Slice
  • Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot Slice
  • Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot Slice
  • Purchasing and supplier price managementnot Slice
  • Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot Slice

Slice

  • An independent pizzeria that wants online ordering without paying a percentage commission on every large family ordernot Apicbase
  • A shop whose packaging and cheese costs are high enough that group purchasing pays for the platform on its ownnot Apicbase
  • A two location pizzeria replacing an ageing legacy terminal with a POS that understands half and half toppingsnot Apicbase
  • An owner with no marketing staff who needs a customer list and repeat order campaigns run for themnot Apicbase

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Apicbase

  • No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
  • Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
  • Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
  • Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed

Slice

  • The platform sells only to pizzerias, so a group that adds a second concept has to run a separate ordering stack for it.
  • The consumer marketplace lists nearby competitors alongside you, and the flat order fee is charged even on repeat customers you introduced yourself, so you pay indefinitely for demand you already own.
  • Slice Register is a much younger product than general purpose restaurant POS software and its reporting, inventory and multi location features are thinner than what an established POS offers.
  • Delivery fulfilled through third party fleets is billed per delivery on top of the order fee, so the true cost per delivered order is well above the headline flat fee.
  • Group purchasing savings depend on switching or supplementing your existing distributor and meeting order minimums, which small shops with limited storage often cannot do.

Pricing, plan by plan

Apicbase

On request
  • Growth$undefined/mo
    • Starting from 5 outlets
    • Up to 5,000 ingredients
    • Up to 1,000 recipes
  • Professional$undefined/mo
    • For established brands
    • Up to 10,000 ingredients
    • Up to 2,000 recipes
  • Enterprise$undefined/mo
    • For large-scale operators
    • Custom arrangements

Slice

On request
  • Slice Ordering$undefined/year
    • Flat fee charged per order rather than a percentage of the ticket
    • Branded ordering site and marketplace listing included
    • Delivery dispatch billed separately per delivery
  • Slice Register$undefined/year
    • POS hardware and software bundle for pizzerias
    • Card processing quoted with the hardware
    • Register pricing differs from ordering only accounts

Which should you pick?

Choose Apicbase if

  • You need centralized recipes.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose Slice if

  • You need flat fee per order.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want branded ordering site and app.

Questions people ask

Is Apicbase or Slice better?
Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and Slice at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Apicbase or Slice?
Apicbase starts at On request and Slice at On request.
Does Apicbase or Slice run on more platforms?
Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. Slice runs on Web, iOS, Android.
What is Apicbase best used for?
Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what Slice is typically brought in for.
What can Apicbase do that Slice cannot?
Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. Slice covers Flat fee per order, Branded ordering site and app, Slice Register, Slice Ingredients.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?

Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.

Source
Slice: Does Slice take a commission on orders?

No. It charges a flat amount per order, so the fee does not rise with ticket size. Delivery, if you use the Slice driver network, is billed separately per delivery.

Apicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?

Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.

Source
Slice: Do I have to use Slice Register to get online ordering?

No. Ordering works alongside most common POS systems, and many shops take Slice orders on a tablet without any POS integration at all.

Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?

Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.

Source
Slice: Will customers know they are ordering from my pizzeria or from Slice?

Both happen. Orders placed on your branded site look like yours; orders placed in the Slice app come from a marketplace where your listing sits beside other pizzerias.

Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?

Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.

Source
Slice: Is it available outside the United States?

No. Slice operates in the United States only.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads