Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

Apicbase vs Talech

Apicbase logo

Apicbase

Restaurants

F&B management for multi-unit operations

From
On request
Rated
-
Talech logo

Talech

Restaurants

Smart POS for restaurants and retail

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Talech has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; Talech iPad-only solution with no Android or Windows support
  • They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Talech covers Cloud POS.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Apicbase and Talech actually diverge.

Attributes where Apicbase and Talech differ
AttributeApicbaseTalech
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelquoteUnknown
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWeb, Ios, AndroidiPad
Founded20172012

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Apicbase

  • Centralized recipes
  • Inventory management
  • Procurement
  • Food cost analytics
  • Menu engineering
  • HACCP
  • POS systems
  • Accounting software

Only in Talech

  • Cloud POS
  • Menu management
  • Table layouts
  • Inventory tracking
  • Employee management
  • Reporting
  • QuickBooks
  • Elavon payments

Both cover

  • Ios support
  • Android support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Apicbase

  • Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot Talech
  • Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot Talech
  • Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot Talech
  • Purchasing and supplier price managementnot Talech
  • Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot Talech

Talech

  • Point of Salenot Apicbase
  • Order Managementnot Apicbase
  • Inventory Controlnot Apicbase
  • Staff Schedulingnot Apicbase

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Apicbase

  • No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
  • Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
  • Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
  • Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed

Talech

  • iPad-only solution with no Android or Windows support
  • Limited offline functionality for disconnected operations

Pricing, plan by plan

Apicbase

On request
  • Growth$undefined/mo
    • Starting from 5 outlets
    • Up to 5,000 ingredients
    • Up to 1,000 recipes
  • Professional$undefined/mo
    • For established brands
    • Up to 10,000 ingredients
    • Up to 2,000 recipes
  • Enterprise$undefined/mo
    • For large-scale operators
    • Custom arrangements

Talech

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Talech review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Apicbase if

  • You need centralized recipes.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose Talech if

  • You need cloud pos.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on iPad.
  • You also want menu management.

Questions people ask

Is Apicbase or Talech better?
Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and Talech at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Apicbase or Talech?
Talech has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Apicbase and Free for Talech.
Does Apicbase or Talech run on more platforms?
Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. Talech runs on iPad.
Can I use Talech for free?
Yes. Talech has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Apicbase starts at On request.
What is Apicbase best used for?
Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what Talech is typically brought in for.
What can Apicbase do that Talech cannot?
Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. Talech covers Cloud POS, Menu management, Table layouts, Inventory tracking. Both handle Ios support, Android support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?

Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.

Source
Talech: Does Talech have a free plan?

Talech offers a Mobile plan at $0 per month for very small operators, but with limited features. Standard features start at $29 per month for the Starter plan.

Source
Apicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?

Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.

Source
Talech: What devices does Talech support?

Talech is an iPad-based POS system that works with iPad Pro, Air, and Mini models, and is compatible with various peripherals including card readers, receipt printers, and barcode scanners.

Source
Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?

Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.

Source
Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?

Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads