Restaurants · head to head
Apicbase vs Craftable

Craftable
Restaurants
Back of house inventory, invoice processing and costing built first for beverage led venues
- From
- On request
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; Craftable beverage and food are separately licensed modules, so a venue with a full bar and a full kitchen is quoted twice for the same address and the effective per venue cost is roughly double the headline.
- They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Craftable covers Weight based bottle counting.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Apicbase and Craftable actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (quote), free tier (No), platforms (Web, Ios, Android), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Apicbase
- Centralized recipes
- Inventory management
- Procurement
- Food cost analytics
- Menu engineering
- HACCP
- POS systems
- Accounting software
Only in Craftable
- Weight based bottle counting
- Invoice digitisation
- Recipe and plate costing
- Variance reporting
- Purchasing and ordering
- Accounts payable export
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Apicbase
- Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot Craftable
- Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot Craftable
- Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot Craftable
- Purchasing and supplier price managementnot Craftable
- Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot Craftable
Craftable
- A cocktail bar where liquor shrinkage is material and eyeballed bottle counts are not accurate enoughnot Apicbase
- A hotel food and beverage department running several outlets and one central storenot Apicbase
- A restaurant group that needs supplier invoices coded and exported to Sage Intacct without manual entrynot Apicbase
- An operator who wants pour cost variance reported by bartender rather than only by venuenot Apicbase
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Apicbase
- No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
- Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
- Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
- Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed
Craftable
- Beverage and food are separately licensed modules, so a venue with a full bar and a full kitchen is quoted twice for the same address and the effective per venue cost is roughly double the headline.
- Invoice digitisation only helps if your suppliers are covered and their documents are legible; a venue buying from small local producers with handwritten dockets will still key those in by hand.
- Accurate variance depends on counting on a fixed cadence, and venues that slip from weekly to monthly counts get numbers too stale to act on, which is the most common reason implementations quietly fail.
- Weight based counting needs connected scales at each venue, an unbudgeted hardware cost that grows with the number of bars in the building.
- Implementation requires mapping every item to supplier catalogue codes and building recipes before the first useful report, typically several weeks of a manager time that nobody has allocated.
Pricing, plan by plan
Apicbase
On request- Growth$undefined/mo
- Starting from 5 outlets
- Up to 5,000 ingredients
- Up to 1,000 recipes
- Professional$undefined/mo
- For established brands
- Up to 10,000 ingredients
- Up to 2,000 recipes
- Enterprise$undefined/mo
- For large-scale operators
- Custom arrangements
Craftable
On request- Beverage module$undefined/year
- Bar inventory, pour costing and variance by product
- Priced per venue
- Scale hardware quoted separately
- Food module$undefined/year
- Kitchen inventory, plate costing and purchasing
- Priced per venue and quoted in addition to the beverage module
- Invoice and accounts payable$undefined/year
- Invoice digitisation with line item detail
- Ledger coding and export to the accounting system
- Volume of invoices affects the quote
Which should you pick?
Choose Apicbase if
- You need centralized recipes.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android.
- You also want inventory management.
Choose Craftable if
- You need weight based bottle counting.
- You work on Web, iOS, Android.
- You also want invoice digitisation.
Questions people ask
- Is Apicbase or Craftable better?
- Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and Craftable at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Apicbase or Craftable?
- Apicbase starts at On request and Craftable at On request.
- Does Apicbase or Craftable run on more platforms?
- Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. Craftable runs on Web, iOS, Android.
- What is Apicbase best used for?
- Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what Craftable is typically brought in for.
- What can Apicbase do that Craftable cannot?
- Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. Craftable covers Weight based bottle counting, Invoice digitisation, Recipe and plate costing, Variance reporting.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?
Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.
SourceCraftable: Is Craftable the same product as Bevager and Foodager?
Yes. Those were the beverage and food product names before the platform was consolidated under the Craftable brand; they are now modules rather than separate products.
Apicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?
Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.
SourceCraftable: Does it replace my accounting system?
No. It codes and exports invoices into an existing ledger such as QuickBooks or Sage Intacct rather than becoming the ledger.
Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?
Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.
SourceCraftable: Do I need the scale hardware?
Only for beverage. Weighing partial bottles is what makes liquor variance reliable; without it you are back to tenth of a bottle estimates.
Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?
Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.
SourceCraftable: Can it handle multiple venues under one group?
Yes, with consolidated reporting across venues, but each venue is priced individually.
Related pages
Other head to heads
- Apicbase vs WISK
- Apicbase vs Square for Restaurants
- Apicbase vs Toast POS
- Apicbase vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- Apicbase vs Clover
- Apicbase vs CrunchTime
- Apicbase vs Lunchbox
- Apicbase vs meez
- Apicbase vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- Apicbase vs Restroworks
- Apicbase vs Compeat
- Apicbase vs Rezku POS
- Apicbase vs SevenRooms
- Apicbase vs Slice
- Apicbase vs Sling
- Apicbase vs Talech
- Apicbase vs Tock
- Apicbase vs Restaurant365
- Apicbase vs xtraCHEF
- Apicbase vs MarginEdge
- Apicbase vs Nory
- Apicbase vs PAR Brink POS
- Apicbase vs Epos Now
- Apicbase vs Foodics
- Apicbase vs OpenTable
- Apicbase vs Owner.com
- Apicbase vs Petpooja
- Apicbase vs Revel Systems
- Apicbase vs SpotOn
- Craftable vs WISK
- Craftable vs Square for Restaurants
- Craftable vs Toast POS
- Craftable vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- Craftable vs Clover
- Craftable vs CrunchTime
- Craftable vs Lunchbox
- Craftable vs meez
- Craftable vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- Craftable vs Restroworks
- Craftable vs Compeat
- Craftable vs Rezku POS
- Craftable vs SevenRooms
- Craftable vs Slice
- Craftable vs Sling
- Craftable vs Talech
- Craftable vs Tock
- Craftable vs Restaurant365
- Craftable vs xtraCHEF
- Craftable vs MarginEdge
- Craftable vs Nory
- Craftable vs PAR Brink POS
- Craftable vs Epos Now
- Craftable vs Foodics
- Craftable vs OpenTable
- Craftable vs Owner.com
- Craftable vs Petpooja
- Craftable vs Revel Systems
- Craftable vs SpotOn

