Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

Apicbase vs SpotOn

Apicbase logo

Apicbase

Restaurants

F&B management for multi-unit operations

From
On request
Rated
-
SpotOn logo

SpotOn

Restaurants

Restaurant tech that works as hard as you

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; SpotOn credit card processing issues with handheld devices reported by users
  • They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, SpotOn covers Cloud POS.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Apicbase and SpotOn actually diverge.

Attributes where Apicbase and SpotOn differ
AttributeApicbaseSpotOn
Pricing modelquoteUnknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), free tier (No), platforms (Web, Ios, Android), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants), founded (2017).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Apicbase

  • Centralized recipes
  • Inventory management
  • Procurement
  • Food cost analytics
  • Menu engineering
  • HACCP
  • POS systems
  • Accounting software

Only in SpotOn

  • Cloud POS
  • Online ordering
  • Reservations
  • Loyalty programs
  • Marketing tools
  • Reporting
  • DoorDash
  • Google

Both cover

  • Web support
  • Ios support
  • Android support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Apicbase

  • Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot SpotOn
  • Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot SpotOn
  • Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot SpotOn
  • Purchasing and supplier price managementnot SpotOn
  • Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot SpotOn

SpotOn

  • Point of Salenot Apicbase
  • Order Managementnot Apicbase
  • Inventory Controlnot Apicbase
  • Staff Schedulingnot Apicbase

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Apicbase

  • No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
  • Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
  • Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
  • Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed

SpotOn

  • Credit card processing issues with handheld devices reported by users
  • System crashes and lost tickets in high-volume restaurants
  • Customer tabs can disappear from system, resulting in lost revenue
  • Menu edits live only in back office; no real-time updates to handhelds
  • Limited hardware options with no direct accessory purchases available

Pricing, plan by plan

Apicbase

On request
  • Growth$undefined/mo
    • Starting from 5 outlets
    • Up to 5,000 ingredients
    • Up to 1,000 recipes
  • Professional$undefined/mo
    • For established brands
    • Up to 10,000 ingredients
    • Up to 2,000 recipes
  • Enterprise$undefined/mo
    • For large-scale operators
    • Custom arrangements

SpotOn

On request
  • All-In PlanFree
    • Hardware included
    • Card present: 2.79% + $0.20
    • Keyed: 3.79% + $0.20
  • POS Essentials$55/month
    • Best value
    • Card present: 2.45% + $0.15
    • Hardware discounted

Which should you pick?

Choose Apicbase if

  • You need centralized recipes.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose SpotOn if

  • You need cloud pos.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Questions people ask

Is Apicbase or SpotOn better?
Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and SpotOn at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Apicbase or SpotOn?
Apicbase starts at On request and SpotOn at On request.
Does Apicbase or SpotOn run on more platforms?
Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. SpotOn runs on Web, iOS, Android.
What is Apicbase best used for?
Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what SpotOn is typically brought in for.
What can Apicbase do that SpotOn cannot?
Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. SpotOn covers Cloud POS, Online ordering, Reservations, Loyalty programs. Both handle Web support, Ios support, Android support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?

Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.

Source
SpotOn: What hardware does SpotOn require?

SpotOn provides proprietary hardware including countertop terminals (Station 15 at $750), tableside handhelds ($297), and kitchen display systems. All hardware is included with the All-In Plan or purchased separately with other plans.

Source
Apicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?

Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.

Source
SpotOn: Does SpotOn have online ordering?

Yes, SpotOn offers commission-free online ordering with a white-label app option and integration into their Core Bundle. The system supports QR code ordering and digital menus.

Source
Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?

Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.

Source
SpotOn: What payment processing fees does SpotOn charge?

Fees vary by plan. All-In Plan: 2.79% + $0.20 for card-present transactions. POS Essentials: 2.45% + $0.15. Business or custom plans offer negotiated rates.

Source
Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?

Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads