Restaurants · head to head
Apicbase vs Upserve
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; Upserve offline terminals can only store credit card payment data for 48 hours before requiring internet connection
- They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Upserve covers Cloud POS.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Apicbase and Upserve actually diverge.
Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Apicbase
- Centralized recipes
- Inventory management
- Procurement
- Food cost analytics
- Menu engineering
- HACCP
- POS systems
- Accounting software
Only in Upserve
- Cloud POS
- Guest insights
- Menu intelligence
- Server performance
- Reputation management
- Inventory tracking
- QuickBooks
- Xero
Both cover
- Web support
- Ios support
- Android support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Apicbase
- Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot Upserve
- Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot Upserve
- Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot Upserve
- Purchasing and supplier price managementnot Upserve
- Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot Upserve
Upserve
- Point of Salenot Apicbase
- Order Managementnot Apicbase
- Inventory Controlnot Apicbase
- Staff Schedulingnot Apicbase
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Apicbase
- No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
- Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
- Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
- Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed
Upserve
- Offline terminals can only store credit card payment data for 48 hours before requiring internet connection
- Customers cannot add tips when the system operates in offline mode
- $400 monthly penalty for using alternative payment processors instead of Lightspeed
- No global ability to change menu items across all locations at once, requiring per-location updates
- Mandatory 2.6% + $0.10 per transaction payment processing fee with Lightspeed
Pricing, plan by plan
Apicbase
On request- Growth$undefined/mo
- Starting from 5 outlets
- Up to 5,000 ingredients
- Up to 1,000 recipes
- Professional$undefined/mo
- For established brands
- Up to 10,000 ingredients
- Up to 2,000 recipes
- Enterprise$undefined/mo
- For large-scale operators
- Custom arrangements
Upserve
$59/month- Core$59/month
- Cloud-based point of sale
- Basic reporting
- Guest insights
- Pro$199/month
- All Core features
- Inventory management
- Online ordering
Which should you pick?
Choose Apicbase if
- You need centralized recipes.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android.
- You also want inventory management.
Choose Upserve if
- You need cloud pos.
- You work on Web, iPad, Android, Custom POS terminals.
- You also want guest insights.
Questions people ask
- Is Apicbase or Upserve better?
- Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and Upserve at $59/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Apicbase or Upserve?
- Apicbase starts at On request and Upserve at $59/month.
- Does Apicbase or Upserve run on more platforms?
- Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. Upserve runs on Web, iPad, Android, Custom POS terminals.
- What is Apicbase best used for?
- Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what Upserve is typically brought in for.
- What can Apicbase do that Upserve cannot?
- Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. Upserve covers Cloud POS, Guest insights, Menu intelligence, Server performance. Both handle Web support, Ios support, Android support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?
Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.
SourceUpserve: Does Upserve support offline mode?
Yes. Upserve is a hybrid cloud-based system where reporting data is stored in the cloud but offline mode allows the software to store important data locally on your device in case the internet goes down, allowing transactions to continue.
SourceApicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?
Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.
SourceUpserve: What is Upserve's pricing structure?
Upserve offers three plans: Core at $59/month, Pro at $199/month with advanced features like inventory management and loyalty programs, and Pro+ with custom pricing for enterprise customers. Hardware is sold separately.
SourceApicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?
Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.
SourceUpserve: Does Upserve offer a free trial?
Yes, Upserve offers a 14-day free trial for new users to test the platform before committing to a paid plan.
SourceApicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?
Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.
SourceUpserve: What delivery platforms does Upserve integrate with?
Upserve integrates with DoorDash, Uber Eats, and Grubhub through partner middleware services like Chowly and Deliverect, which provide real-time menu syncing and order management.
SourceUpserve: What are the payment processing requirements?
Upserve requires using Lightspeed payment processing at 2.6% + $0.10 per transaction. Using alternative payment processors incurs a $400 monthly fee, making Lightspeed the mandatory choice for most restaurants.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Apicbase vs WISK
- Apicbase vs Square for Restaurants
- Apicbase vs Toast POS
- Apicbase vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- Apicbase vs Clover
- Apicbase vs CrunchTime
- Apicbase vs Lunchbox
- Apicbase vs meez
- Apicbase vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- Apicbase vs Restroworks
- Apicbase vs Compeat
- Apicbase vs Craftable
- Apicbase vs Rezku POS
- Apicbase vs SevenRooms
- Apicbase vs Slice
- Apicbase vs Sling
- Apicbase vs Talech
- Apicbase vs Tock
- Apicbase vs Lavu
- Apicbase vs Heartland Restaurant
- Apicbase vs Avero
- Apicbase vs TouchBistro
- Apicbase vs CAKE POS
- Apicbase vs Aloha POS
- Apicbase vs Revel Systems
- Apicbase vs SpotOn
- Apicbase vs PAR Brink POS
- Apicbase vs Plate IQ
- Apicbase vs Postmates
- Apicbase vs Resy
- Upserve vs WISK
- Upserve vs Square for Restaurants
- Upserve vs Toast POS
- Upserve vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- Upserve vs Clover
- Upserve vs CrunchTime
- Upserve vs Lunchbox
- Upserve vs meez
- Upserve vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- Upserve vs Restroworks
- Upserve vs Compeat
- Upserve vs Craftable
- Upserve vs Rezku POS
- Upserve vs SevenRooms
- Upserve vs Slice
- Upserve vs Sling
- Upserve vs Talech
- Upserve vs Tock
- Upserve vs Lavu
- Upserve vs Heartland Restaurant
- Upserve vs Avero
- Upserve vs TouchBistro
- Upserve vs CAKE POS
- Upserve vs Aloha POS
- Upserve vs Revel Systems
- Upserve vs SpotOn
- Upserve vs PAR Brink POS
- Upserve vs Plate IQ
- Upserve vs Postmates
- Upserve vs Resy


