Softwr

Email Marketing · head to head

RD Station Marketing vs Sendy

RD Station Marketing logo

RD Station Marketing

Email Marketing

Marketing automation for growing businesses

From
Free
Rated
-
Sendy logo

Sendy

Email Marketing

Self-hosted newsletter app bought once for $69 that sends through your own Amazon SES account

From
$69/one-time
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only RD Station Marketing has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: RD Station Marketing pro plan requires 12-month contract lock-in and additional R$ 2,699 implementation fee. Enterprise plan pricing not disclosed.; Sendy free updates run only to the next major version, so the one-time purchase is really one purchase per major release and the long-term cost is not zero.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which RD Station Marketing and Sendy actually diverge.

Attributes where RD Station Marketing and Sendy differ
AttributeRD Station MarketingSendy
Starting priceFree$69/one-time
Pricing modelsubscriptionOne-time purchase
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWebWeb, Linux

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Email Marketing).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in RD Station Marketing

Nothing recorded that Sendy does not also cover.

Only in Sendy

  • One-time licence
  • Amazon SES delivery
  • Multiple brands
  • Autoresponders
  • Segmentation
  • Bounce and complaint handling
  • Reporting
  • Client access

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

RD Station Marketing

  • Nurturing leads across email and WhatsApp with automated sequencesnot Sendy
  • Managing sales pipelines with direct WhatsApp deal negotiationsnot Sendy
  • Consolidating omnichannel support across WhatsApp, email, and chatnot Sendy
  • Building email campaigns and landing pages without codingnot Sendy
  • Prioritizing high-probability leads with AI qualificationnot Sendy

Sendy

  • A publisher with a large list sending frequently, where a hosted platform bills by subscriber count month after monthnot RD Station Marketing
  • An agency managing newsletters for several clients who each get their own brand and login under one licencenot RD Station Marketing
  • A business that must keep subscriber data on its own infrastructure for privacy or contractual reasonsnot RD Station Marketing
  • A developer wiring signups from a custom application into a mailing list without paying platform API feesnot RD Station Marketing

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

RD Station Marketing

  • Pro plan requires 12-month contract lock-in and additional R$ 2,699 implementation fee. Enterprise plan pricing not disclosed.

Sendy

  • Free updates run only to the next major version, so the one-time purchase is really one purchase per major release and the long-term cost is not zero.
  • Deliverability becomes entirely your problem: SES gives you a raw sending pipe and no warm-up guidance, reputation dashboards or deliverability consultants when a campaign starts landing in spam.
  • Amazon SES requires production access approval and will suspend accounts on high bounce or complaint rates, which can take a list offline mid-campaign with little warning.
  • The template editor and design tooling are basic next to Mailchimp or Klaviyo, so anything visually ambitious means hand-written HTML email.
  • You own the server: PHP upgrades, database backups and patching are yours, and an unmaintained Sendy install holding a subscriber list is a data breach waiting to happen.

Pricing, plan by plan

RD Station Marketing

Free
  • Light Plan$16/month
    • Up to 1,000 active contacts
    • Special promotional pricing from USD 18 to USD 16/month
    • No lock-in contract
  • Basic Plan$72/month
    • Up to 1,000 contacts
    • Special promotional pricing from USD 112 to USD 72/month
    • No lock-in contract
  • Pro Plan$159/month
    • Up to 3,000 contacts
    • Mandatory 12-month annual contract
    • Required implementation fee of R$ 2,699
  • Enterprise Plan$undefined/mo
    • Custom pricing for bases exceeding 100,000 contacts
    • Maximum flexibility with unlimited users
    • Highest email send limits

Sendy

$69/one-time
  • Sendy licence$69/one-time
    • One-time purchase, no subscription
    • Free updates only up to the next major version
    • Unlimited lists, subscribers and campaigns
  • AI Assistant bundle$39/one-time
    • Optional add-on, listed at a discount from $49
    • AI writing assistance inside the campaign editor
  • Installation service$79/one-time
    • Optional one-off setup by the vendor
    • For buyers who do not want to configure hosting and SES themselves

Which should you pick?

Choose RD Station Marketing if

  • You want to start without paying.

Choose Sendy if

  • You need one-time licence.
  • You work on Web, Linux.
  • You also want amazon ses delivery.

Questions people ask

Is RD Station Marketing or Sendy better?
Neither clearly leads. RD Station Marketing starts at Free and Sendy at $69/one-time, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, RD Station Marketing or Sendy?
RD Station Marketing has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for RD Station Marketing and $69/one-time for Sendy.
Does RD Station Marketing or Sendy run on more platforms?
RD Station Marketing runs on Web. Sendy runs on Web, Linux.
Can I use RD Station Marketing for free?
Yes. RD Station Marketing has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Sendy starts at $69/one-time.
What is RD Station Marketing best used for?
RD Station Marketing is most often used for nurturing leads across email and whatsapp with automated sequences, managing sales pipelines with direct whatsapp deal negotiations, consolidating omnichannel support across whatsapp, email, and chat, building email campaigns and landing pages without coding. Of those, nurturing leads across email and whatsapp with automated sequences and managing sales pipelines with direct whatsapp deal negotiations are not what Sendy is typically brought in for.
What can RD Station Marketing do that Sendy cannot?
Sendy covers One-time licence, Amazon SES delivery, Multiple brands, Autoresponders.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

RD Station Marketing: Does RD Station Marketing offer a free trial?

Yes. RD Station Marketing offers a 10-day free trial without requiring a credit card. No automatic charges apply after the trial ends.

Source
Sendy: What does it actually cost to send?

The licence is $69 once. Delivery is Amazon SES at roughly $1 per 10,000 emails, plus your own hosting, so a 50,000-contact weekly newsletter costs a few dollars a month to send.

RD Station Marketing: What is the cheapest RD Station Marketing plan?

The Light Plan is the cheapest at USD 16/month (promotional pricing down from USD 18) for up to 1,000 active contacts with no contract lock-in.

Source
Sendy: Are updates free forever?

No. Updates are free up to the next major version, for example within 7.x. Moving from 7.x to 8.x is a paid upgrade.

RD Station Marketing: Does RD Station Marketing have a contract requirement?

Light and Basic plans have no lock-in contracts. The Pro plan requires a mandatory 12-month annual contract plus an implementation fee of R$ 2,699.

Source
Sendy: Do I need to know how to set up a server?

Standard PHP and MySQL hosting is enough and the vendor compares it to installing WordPress, but the SES side needs AWS configuration. An $79 installation service is offered if you would rather not.

Sendy: What happens if Amazon suspends my SES account?

Your sending stops until you resolve it with AWS. There is no alternative delivery route built in, and this is the single biggest operational risk of the model.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads