Softwr

Email Marketing · head to head

Ortto vs RD Station Marketing

Ortto logo

Ortto

Email Marketing

Australian marketing automation with a customer data platform and analytics included rather than sold separately

From
On request
Rated
-
RD Station Marketing logo

RD Station Marketing

Email Marketing

Marketing automation for growing businesses

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only RD Station Marketing has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Ortto contact-based pricing counts everyone stored, including unsubscribed and long-inactive records, so the bill rises with list decay unless someone owns a pruning routine.; RD Station Marketing pro plan requires 12-month contract lock-in and additional R$ 2,699 implementation fee. Enterprise plan pricing not disclosed.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Ortto and RD Station Marketing actually diverge.

Attributes where Ortto and RD Station Marketing differ
AttributeOrttoRD Station Marketing
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelquotesubscription
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWeb, REST APIWeb

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Email Marketing).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Ortto

  • Customer data platform
  • Journeys
  • Talk
  • Dashboards and reports
  • Playbooks
  • Capture

Only in RD Station Marketing

Nothing recorded that Ortto does not also cover.

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Ortto

  • A SaaS company that wants trial and onboarding lifecycle plus product analytics without buying two toolsnot RD Station Marketing
  • A small team replacing a stack of email tool, chat widget and dashboard product with one subscriptionnot RD Station Marketing
  • Reporting on revenue by campaign and cohort without exporting events to a warehouse firstnot RD Station Marketing
  • Teams already on Autopilot that need a supported migration path rather than a replatform to a US vendornot RD Station Marketing

RD Station Marketing

  • Nurturing leads across email and WhatsApp with automated sequencesnot Ortto
  • Managing sales pipelines with direct WhatsApp deal negotiationsnot Ortto
  • Consolidating omnichannel support across WhatsApp, email, and chatnot Ortto
  • Building email campaigns and landing pages without codingnot Ortto
  • Prioritizing high-probability leads with AI qualificationnot Ortto

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Ortto

  • Contact-based pricing counts everyone stored, including unsubscribed and long-inactive records, so the bill rises with list decay unless someone owns a pruning routine.
  • Each bundled component is shallower than the specialist it replaces, and the email template editor in particular is behind the ecommerce-focused competitors.
  • Deliverability guidance and reputation tooling are thinner than at dedicated email providers, which matters most in the first months of a sending domain.
  • The partner and agency ecosystem outside Australia and New Zealand is small, so hiring contractors with real Ortto experience is harder than for the larger platforms.
  • Support hours follow Australian business time, so European and American teams often wait a working day for a substantive answer on complex issues.

RD Station Marketing

  • Pro plan requires 12-month contract lock-in and additional R$ 2,699 implementation fee. Enterprise plan pricing not disclosed.

Pricing, plan by plan

Ortto

On request
  • Ortto$undefined/month
    • Priced by number of contacts held, with separate email and SMS send allowances
    • Talk live chat and additional seats charged separately
    • Monthly and annual terms available

RD Station Marketing

Free
  • Light Plan$16/month
    • Up to 1,000 active contacts
    • Special promotional pricing from USD 18 to USD 16/month
    • No lock-in contract
  • Basic Plan$72/month
    • Up to 1,000 contacts
    • Special promotional pricing from USD 112 to USD 72/month
    • No lock-in contract
  • Pro Plan$159/month
    • Up to 3,000 contacts
    • Mandatory 12-month annual contract
    • Required implementation fee of R$ 2,699
  • Enterprise Plan$undefined/mo
    • Custom pricing for bases exceeding 100,000 contacts
    • Maximum flexibility with unlimited users
    • Highest email send limits

Which should you pick?

Choose Ortto if

  • You need customer data platform.
  • You work on Web, REST API.
  • You also want journeys.

Choose RD Station Marketing if

  • You want to start without paying.

Questions people ask

Is Ortto or RD Station Marketing better?
Neither clearly leads. Ortto starts at On request and RD Station Marketing at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Ortto or RD Station Marketing?
RD Station Marketing has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Ortto and Free for RD Station Marketing.
Does Ortto or RD Station Marketing run on more platforms?
Ortto runs on Web, REST API. RD Station Marketing runs on Web.
Can I use RD Station Marketing for free?
Yes. RD Station Marketing has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Ortto starts at On request.
What is Ortto best used for?
Ortto is most often used for a saas company that wants trial and onboarding lifecycle plus product analytics without buying two tools, a small team replacing a stack of email tool, chat widget and dashboard product with one subscription, reporting on revenue by campaign and cohort without exporting events to a warehouse first, teams already on autopilot that need a supported migration path rather than a replatform to a us vendor. Of those, a saas company that wants trial and onboarding lifecycle plus product analytics without buying two tools and a small team replacing a stack of email tool, chat widget and dashboard product with one subscription are not what RD Station Marketing is typically brought in for.
What can Ortto do that RD Station Marketing cannot?
Ortto covers Customer data platform, Journeys, Talk, Dashboards and reports.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Ortto: Is Ortto the same product as Autopilot?

It is the successor from the same company, rebranded in 2022 and substantially rebuilt. Older Autopilot tutorials no longer match the interface.

RD Station Marketing: Does RD Station Marketing offer a free trial?

Yes. RD Station Marketing offers a 10-day free trial without requiring a credit card. No automatic charges apply after the trial ends.

Source
Ortto: Do inactive contacts cost money?

Yes. Pricing counts contacts stored, so unsubscribed and dormant records consume allowance until they are deleted.

RD Station Marketing: What is the cheapest RD Station Marketing plan?

The Light Plan is the cheapest at USD 16/month (promotional pricing down from USD 18) for up to 1,000 active contacts with no contract lock-in.

Source
Ortto: Can it replace a BI tool?

For campaign, funnel and cohort reporting on its own event data, usually yes. For joins against finance or support data it cannot.

RD Station Marketing: Does RD Station Marketing have a contract requirement?

Light and Basic plans have no lock-in contracts. The Pro plan requires a mandatory 12-month annual contract plus an implementation fee of R$ 2,699.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads