Automotive · head to head
CarNow vs Shopmonkey
The short version
- Each has a real cost: CarNow no pricing information disclosed on website; Shopmonkey included user licences are capped at 3 on Basic, 4 on Clever and 5 on Genius, with each extra user costing $20 per month
- They diverge on capability: CarNow covers Lease processing, Shopmonkey covers Digital estimates.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which CarNow and Shopmonkey actually diverge.
| Attribute | CarNow | Shopmonkey |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $800/month | $215/month |
| Platforms | Web, Mobile, Api | Web, Ios, Android |
| Founded | 2015 | 2016 |
Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Automotive).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in CarNow
- Lease processing
- Document automation
- Compliance management
- Lease tracking
- Customer portal
- Warranty integration
- Fleet management
- DMS systems
Only in Shopmonkey
- Digital estimates
- Work order management
- Digital inspections
- Customer messaging
- Parts ordering
- Appointment scheduling
- Reporting & analytics
- Parts suppliers
Both cover
- Payment processing
- Payment processors
- Data encryption
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
CarNow
- Automotive dealership managementnot Shopmonkey
- Car inventory and sales automationnot Shopmonkey
Shopmonkey
- Managing estimates, repair orders and invoicing in an auto repair shopnot CarNow
- Digital vehicle inspections sent to customers by text or emailnot CarNow
- Tracking parts inventory, purchase orders and technician timenot CarNow
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
CarNow
- No pricing information disclosed on website
- Vendor directs customers to book demo or contact support for pricing
- Consultative sales approach suggests custom pricing based on dealership needs
Shopmonkey
- Included user licences are capped at 3 on Basic, 4 on Clever and 5 on Genius, with each extra user costing $20 per month
- The Basic plan at $239 per month allows only 2 digital vehicle inspection templates; unlimited inspections require Clever
- Inventory management, purchase orders, time clock tracking and customisable workflow are all excluded from the Basic plan
- Multi-Shop is custom priced with no published rate and additional user licences on it are call-for-pricing
- The discounted rates of $215, $359 and $449 per month require annual billing rather than monthly
- Annual billing saves up to 10%, so the monthly premium is roughly 11% higher
Pricing, plan by plan
CarNow
$800/month- Starter$800/month
- Lease processing
- Document automation
- Basic compliance
- Professional$1800/month
- Everything in Starter
- Advanced compliance
- Multi-location support
- Enterprise$undefined/month
- Everything in Professional
- Custom integrations
- Advanced reporting
Shopmonkey
$215/month- Basic$239/month
- 3 user licenses
- $215/month with annual billing (10% savings)
- 2-way text and email
- Clever$399/month
- 4 user licenses
- $359/month with annual billing
- unlimited DVI templates
- Genius$499/month
- 5 user licenses
- $449/month with annual billing
- coupons manager
- Multi-Shop$null/custom
- for franchises and 100+ location operations
- cross-location reporting
- standardization
Which should you pick?
Choose CarNow if
- You need lease processing.
- You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
- You also want document automation.
Choose Shopmonkey if
- You need digital estimates.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android.
- You also want work order management.
Questions people ask
- Is CarNow or Shopmonkey better?
- Neither clearly leads. CarNow starts at $800/month and Shopmonkey at $215/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, CarNow or Shopmonkey?
- CarNow starts at $800/month and Shopmonkey at $215/month.
- Does CarNow or Shopmonkey run on more platforms?
- CarNow runs on Web, Mobile, Api. Shopmonkey runs on Web, Ios, Android.
- What is CarNow best used for?
- CarNow is most often used for automotive dealership management, car inventory and sales automation. Of those, automotive dealership management and car inventory and sales automation are not what Shopmonkey is typically brought in for.
- What can CarNow do that Shopmonkey cannot?
- CarNow covers Lease processing, Document automation, Compliance management, Lease tracking. Shopmonkey covers Digital estimates, Work order management, Digital inspections, Customer messaging. Both handle Payment processing, Payment processors, Data encryption.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
CarNow: How much does CarNow cost?
CarNow does not publish pricing on its website. To receive pricing information, you must book a demo or contact support at 877-882-5353 or [email protected].
SourceShopmonkey: How much does Shopmonkey cost?
Shopmonkey's Basic tier is $239/month ($215/month annually), Clever is $399/month ($359/month annually), Genius is $499/month ($449/month annually), and Multi-Shop requires custom pricing. All prices are in USD with up to 10% savings with annual billing.
SourceCarNow: Does CarNow offer different pricing tiers?
CarNow's pricing model is not publicly disclosed, but the vendor's consultative approach suggests pricing is customized based on individual dealership size, location, and specific requirements.
SourceShopmonkey: What features does each Shopmonkey tier include?
Basic includes 3 user licenses, 2-way text and email, and unlimited estimates. Clever adds 4 user licenses and workflow customization. Genius includes 5 user licenses and full platform features including Google Reviews Manager and automated estimate follow-ups.
SourceCarNow: Can I request a free trial of CarNow?
CarNow encourages booking a demo to see the platform in action, but trial terms and conditions are not specified on the public website.
SourceShopmonkey: What additional costs does Shopmonkey charge?
Shopmonkey charges $249 upfront plus $10/month per card reader device (available for Basic-Genius tiers). Additional user licenses on Basic cost $20/month each. Payment processing fees and QuickBooks Desktop integration require additional charges.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- CarNow vs Carfax
- CarNow vs CDK Global
- CarNow vs Edmunds
- CarNow vs AutoCheck
- CarNow vs DealerTrack
- CarNow vs Fleetio
- CarNow vs Tekion
- CarNow vs Reynolds and Reynolds
- CarNow vs AutoiPacket
- CarNow vs DealerSocket
- CarNow vs Digital Air Strike
- CarNow vs TSD Rental
- CarNow vs vAuto
- CarNow vs VinAudit
- CarNow vs Vroom
- CarNow vs Mitchell
- CarNow vs CARFAX for Dealers
- CarNow vs Kelley Blue Book
- CarNow vs AutoVitals
- CarNow vs Tekmetric
- CarNow vs Mitchell 1
- CarNow vs AutoFluent
- CarNow vs NAPA TRACS
- CarNow vs Shop-Ware
- CarNow vs ProDemand
- Shopmonkey vs Carfax
- Shopmonkey vs CDK Global
- Shopmonkey vs Edmunds
- Shopmonkey vs AutoCheck
- Shopmonkey vs DealerTrack
- Shopmonkey vs Fleetio
- Shopmonkey vs Tekion
- Shopmonkey vs Reynolds and Reynolds
- Shopmonkey vs AutoiPacket
- Shopmonkey vs DealerSocket
- Shopmonkey vs Digital Air Strike
- Shopmonkey vs TSD Rental
- Shopmonkey vs vAuto
- Shopmonkey vs VinAudit
- Shopmonkey vs Vroom
- Shopmonkey vs Mitchell
- Shopmonkey vs CARFAX for Dealers
- Shopmonkey vs Kelley Blue Book
- Shopmonkey vs AutoVitals
- Shopmonkey vs Tekmetric
- Shopmonkey vs Mitchell 1
- Shopmonkey vs AutoFluent
- Shopmonkey vs NAPA TRACS
- Shopmonkey vs Shop-Ware
- Shopmonkey vs ProDemand


