Automotive · head to head
CarNow vs Fleetio
The short version
- Only Fleetio has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: CarNow no pricing information disclosed on website; Fleetio priced per vehicle per month, so cost scales with fleet size rather than with the number of people using it
- They diverge on capability: CarNow covers Lease processing, Fleetio covers Vehicle tracking.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which CarNow and Fleetio actually diverge.
Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Automotive).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in CarNow
- Lease processing
- Document automation
- Compliance management
- Lease tracking
- Customer portal
- Payment processing
- Warranty integration
- Fleet management
Only in Fleetio
- Vehicle tracking
- Maintenance scheduling
- Fuel management
- Digital inspections
- Work orders
- Parts inventory
- Vendor management
- Analytics & reports
Both cover
- Accounting software
- Data encryption
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
CarNow
- Automotive dealership managementnot Fleetio
- Car inventory and sales automationnot Fleetio
Fleetio
- Fleet maintenance scheduling and vehicle inspection trackingnot CarNow
- Managing parts inventory, work orders and fuel across a vehicle fleetnot CarNow
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
CarNow
- No pricing information disclosed on website
- Vendor directs customers to book demo or contact support for pricing
- Consultative sales approach suggests custom pricing based on dealership needs
Fleetio
- Priced per vehicle per month, so cost scales with fleet size rather than with the number of people using it
- The Professional and Premium plans are billed annually only, with no monthly option
- Tire management is excluded from both Essential and Professional
- API access is rate limited by plan, at 50 requests a minute on Professional against 250 on Premium
- Active automations are rationed, at 5 on Professional against 40 on Premium
- The published per vehicle prices assume a 5 asset band, so a different fleet size is a different rate
Pricing, plan by plan
CarNow
$800/month- Starter$800/month
- Lease processing
- Document automation
- Basic compliance
- Professional$1800/month
- Everything in Starter
- Advanced compliance
- Multi-location support
- Enterprise$undefined/month
- Everything in Professional
- Custom integrations
- Advanced reporting
Fleetio
Free- FreeFree
- Up to 5 vehicles
- Basic tracking
- Service reminders
- Pro$5/month
- Unlimited vehicles
- Fuel tracking
- Inspections
- Advanced$8/month
- Everything in Pro
- GPS integrations
- Fuel card integration
Which should you pick?
Choose CarNow if
- You need lease processing.
- You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
- You also want document automation.
Choose Fleetio if
- You need vehicle tracking.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android, Api.
- You also want maintenance scheduling.
Questions people ask
- Is CarNow or Fleetio better?
- Neither clearly leads. CarNow starts at $800/month and Fleetio at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, CarNow or Fleetio?
- Fleetio has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $800/month for CarNow and Free for Fleetio.
- Does CarNow or Fleetio run on more platforms?
- CarNow runs on Web, Mobile, Api. Fleetio runs on Web, Ios, Android, Api.
- Can I use Fleetio for free?
- Yes. Fleetio has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. CarNow starts at $800/month.
- What is CarNow best used for?
- CarNow is most often used for automotive dealership management, car inventory and sales automation. Of those, automotive dealership management and car inventory and sales automation are not what Fleetio is typically brought in for.
- What can CarNow do that Fleetio cannot?
- CarNow covers Lease processing, Document automation, Compliance management, Lease tracking. Fleetio covers Vehicle tracking, Maintenance scheduling, Fuel management, Digital inspections. Both handle Accounting software, Data encryption.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
CarNow: How much does CarNow cost?
CarNow does not publish pricing on its website. To receive pricing information, you must book a demo or contact support at 877-882-5353 or [email protected].
SourceFleetio: How much does Fleetio cost per vehicle, and does billing frequency affect the price?
Essential costs $4 per vehicle per month when billed annually or $5 when billed monthly. Professional costs $7 per vehicle when billed annually. Premium costs $10 per vehicle when billed annually. Monthly billing is available only for the Essential plan at the higher rate.
SourceCarNow: Does CarNow offer different pricing tiers?
CarNow's pricing model is not publicly disclosed, but the vendor's consultative approach suggests pricing is customized based on individual dealership size, location, and specific requirements.
SourceFleetio: What is included in the free trial, and how long does it last?
Fleetio offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required. The trial includes full access to all features during the trial period.
SourceCarNow: Can I request a free trial of CarNow?
CarNow encourages booking a demo to see the platform in action, but trial terms and conditions are not specified on the public website.
SourceFleetio: What storage and automation limits come with each plan?
Essential includes 2.5GB storage and no automations. Professional includes 25GB storage and up to 5 automations. Premium includes 250GB storage and up to 40 automations.
SourceFleetio: How many vehicles can each plan manage?
Essential supports up to 100 vehicles. Professional and Premium both support unlimited vehicles.
SourceFleetio: Are there add-ons available beyond the base plans?
Yes. Fleetio offers a Tools add-on starting at approximately $0.50 per piece per month, which requires a core Fleetio subscription and cannot be purchased standalone.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- CarNow vs Carfax
- CarNow vs CDK Global
- CarNow vs Edmunds
- CarNow vs AutoCheck
- CarNow vs DealerTrack
- CarNow vs Tekion
- CarNow vs Reynolds and Reynolds
- CarNow vs AutoiPacket
- CarNow vs DealerSocket
- CarNow vs Digital Air Strike
- CarNow vs TSD Rental
- CarNow vs vAuto
- CarNow vs VinAudit
- CarNow vs Vroom
- CarNow vs Mitchell
- CarNow vs CARFAX for Dealers
- CarNow vs Kelley Blue Book
- CarNow vs Rent Centric
- CarNow vs Shopmonkey
- CarNow vs AutoFluent
- CarNow vs Tekmetric
- CarNow vs AutoVitals
- CarNow vs Carvana
- Fleetio vs Carfax
- Fleetio vs CDK Global
- Fleetio vs Edmunds
- Fleetio vs AutoCheck
- Fleetio vs DealerTrack
- Fleetio vs Tekion
- Fleetio vs Reynolds and Reynolds
- Fleetio vs AutoiPacket
- Fleetio vs DealerSocket
- Fleetio vs Digital Air Strike
- Fleetio vs TSD Rental
- Fleetio vs vAuto
- Fleetio vs VinAudit
- Fleetio vs Vroom
- Fleetio vs Mitchell
- Fleetio vs CARFAX for Dealers
- Fleetio vs Kelley Blue Book
- Fleetio vs Rent Centric
- Fleetio vs Shopmonkey
- Fleetio vs AutoFluent
- Fleetio vs Tekmetric
- Fleetio vs AutoVitals
- Fleetio vs Carvana


