Softwr

E-Commerce · head to head

Depop vs Retail Pro

Depop logo

Depop

E-Commerce

Fashion resale marketplace popular with younger sellers, owned by Etsy, with a per-item plus percentage fee

From
Free
Rated
-
Retail Pro logo

Retail Pro

E-Commerce

Comprehensive retail management software

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Depop has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Depop the 2024 shift away from a flat 10 percent fee increased the effective cost per sale for sellers moving high volumes of low-priced items, a group that was previously well served by the app.; Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • They diverge on capability: Depop covers Curated seller shops, Retail Pro covers Point of sale.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Depop and Retail Pro actually diverge.

Attributes where Depop and Retail Pro differ
AttributeDepopRetail Pro
Starting priceFreeOn request
Pricing modelFree to list; percentage plus per-order seller fee, separate payment processing feeUnknown
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsiOS, Android, WebiOS, Android, Windows
FoundedUnknown1988

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Depop

  • Curated seller shops
  • Social discovery feed
  • Per-order seller fee
  • Depop Payments
  • Offers and bundles
  • Boost and promoted listings

Only in Retail Pro

  • Point of sale
  • Inventory management
  • Customer database
  • Employee management
  • Sales analytics
  • Promotion management
  • Multi-store support
  • Reporting tools

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Depop

  • A younger seller building a curated vintage or streetwear shop with a distinct aesthetic identitynot Retail Pro
  • A buyer who discovers items through a social-style feed rather than direct searchnot Retail Pro
  • A seller moving higher-priced individual pieces where the current fee structure is more favourable than the old flat ratenot Retail Pro
  • Someone who wants social features like likes and follows as part of the buying and selling experiencenot Retail Pro

Retail Pro

  • Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not Depop
  • Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot Depop
  • Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot Depop

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Depop

  • The 2024 shift away from a flat 10 percent fee increased the effective cost per sale for sellers moving high volumes of low-priced items, a group that was previously well served by the app.
  • Payment processing is a separate fee on top of the per-order seller fee, so the total deduction from a sale is not fully captured by the headline percentage alone.
  • Discovery leans heavily on an algorithmic social feed, so newer sellers without an existing following can find it harder to get visibility without paying for Boost promotion.
  • As an Etsy subsidiary since 2021, Depop's roadmap and fee decisions are set within a larger public company strategy rather than independently, and past fee changes reflect that broader commercial pressure.
  • Buyer protection and dispute resolution for item condition or authenticity issues rely on Depop's own policies, which are less standardised than the seller-rating-driven trust systems on some competitors.

Retail Pro

  • Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • No published technical requirements or system specifications
  • International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region

Pricing, plan by plan

Depop

Free
  • SellingFree
    • Percentage-based fee on sale price plus a small fixed per-order fee
    • Separate payment processing fee applies on top
    • Sellers should check current published rates, as the fee structure changed from a flat 10 percent in 2024

Retail Pro

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Depop if

  • You need curated seller shops.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Web.
  • You also want social discovery feed.

Choose Retail Pro if

  • You need point of sale.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
  • You also want inventory management.

Questions people ask

Is Depop or Retail Pro better?
Neither clearly leads. Depop starts at Free and Retail Pro at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Depop or Retail Pro?
Depop has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Depop and On request for Retail Pro.
Does Depop or Retail Pro run on more platforms?
Depop runs on iOS, Android, Web. Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows.
Can I use Depop for free?
Yes. Depop has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Retail Pro starts at On request.
What is Depop best used for?
Depop is most often used for a younger seller building a curated vintage or streetwear shop with a distinct aesthetic identity, a buyer who discovers items through a social-style feed rather than direct search, a seller moving higher-priced individual pieces where the current fee structure is more favourable than the old flat rate, someone who wants social features like likes and follows as part of the buying and selling experience. Of those, a younger seller building a curated vintage or streetwear shop with a distinct aesthetic identity and a buyer who discovers items through a social-style feed rather than direct search are not what Retail Pro is typically brought in for.
What can Depop do that Retail Pro cannot?
Depop covers Curated seller shops, Social discovery feed, Per-order seller fee, Depop Payments. Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Inventory management, Customer database, Employee management.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Depop: Is Depop seller fee still a flat 10 percent?

No, Depop moved to a percentage plus small fixed per-order fee structure in 2024, replacing the earlier flat 10 percent rate.

Retail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?

Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.

Source
Depop: Who owns Depop?

Etsy, which acquired Depop in 2021 for 1.625 billion dollars.

Depop: Does Depop charge for payment processing separately?

Yes, Depop Payments carries its own fee in addition to the per-order seller fee.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads