E-Commerce · head to head
Ecwid vs Retail Pro
The short version
- Only Ecwid has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Ecwid the $5 a month Starter plan caps the catalogue at 10 products; Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
- They diverge on capability: Ecwid covers Omnichannel selling, Retail Pro covers Point of sale.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Ecwid and Retail Pro actually diverge.
| Attribute | Ecwid | Retail Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | On request |
| Pricing model | subscription | Unknown |
| Free tier | Yes | No |
| Platforms | Web | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Founded | 2009 | 1988 |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Ecwid
- Omnichannel selling
- Product catalog
- Payment processing
- Email marketing
- Analytics
- Mobile app
- API access
Only in Retail Pro
- Point of sale
- Customer database
- Employee management
- Sales analytics
- Promotion management
- Multi-store support
- Reporting tools
Both cover
- Inventory management
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Ecwid
- E-commerce store setup with no transaction fees charged by Ecwidnot Retail Pro
- Multi-channel selling across Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, and Pinterestnot Retail Pro
- Automated email marketing with abandoned cart recovery campaignsnot Retail Pro
- Inventory management and order tracking across all sales channelsnot Retail Pro
- AI-powered product photo background removal and enhancementnot Retail Pro
Retail Pro
- Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not Ecwid
- Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot Ecwid
- Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot Ecwid
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Ecwid
- The $5 a month Starter plan caps the catalogue at 10 products
- Staff accounts start at the Business plan, and are limited to 2 until the Unlimited plan
- Abandoned cart recovery requires the Business plan at $65 a month
- In person selling through POS integration is Unlimited only, at $149 a month
- The Venture plan at $35 a month still caps products at 100
Retail Pro
- Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
- No published technical requirements or system specifications
- International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region
Pricing, plan by plan
Ecwid
Free- FreeFree
- Up to 10 products
- Basic storefront
- Standard payment methods
- Unlimited$99.08/month
- Unlimited products
- Advanced features
- Priority support
Retail Pro
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.
Which should you pick?
Choose Ecwid if
- You need omnichannel selling.
- You want to start without paying.
- You also want product catalog.
Choose Retail Pro if
- You need point of sale.
- You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
- You also want customer database.
Questions people ask
- Is Ecwid or Retail Pro better?
- Neither clearly leads. Ecwid starts at Free and Retail Pro at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Ecwid or Retail Pro?
- Ecwid has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Ecwid and On request for Retail Pro.
- Does Ecwid or Retail Pro run on more platforms?
- Ecwid runs on Web. Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows.
- Can I use Ecwid for free?
- Yes. Ecwid has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Retail Pro starts at On request.
- What is Ecwid best used for?
- Ecwid is most often used for e-commerce store setup with no transaction fees charged by ecwid, multi-channel selling across instagram, facebook, tiktok, and pinterest, automated email marketing with abandoned cart recovery campaigns, inventory management and order tracking across all sales channels. Of those, e-commerce store setup with no transaction fees charged by ecwid and multi-channel selling across instagram, facebook, tiktok, and pinterest are not what Retail Pro is typically brought in for.
- What can Ecwid do that Retail Pro cannot?
- Ecwid covers Omnichannel selling, Product catalog, Payment processing, Email marketing. Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Customer database, Employee management, Sales analytics. Both handle Inventory management.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Ecwid: Does Ecwid charge transaction fees?
Ecwid states on its site: no transaction fees. However, pricing tiers and their specific features are not disclosed on the vendor's public pages.
SourceRetail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?
Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.
SourceEcwid: Is there a free version of Ecwid?
Ecwid offers a free tier to launch a store and start selling. Specific upgrade tiers and costs are not listed on the vendor's website.
SourceEcwid: How much does Ecwid cost?
Ecwid does not publish pricing details on its website. The vendor directs users to contact sales or view pricing, but specific rates are not displayed publicly.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Ecwid vs Magento
- Ecwid vs Square
- Ecwid vs BigCommerce
- Ecwid vs Shopkeep
- Ecwid vs Amazon Shopping
- Ecwid vs TikTok Shop
- Ecwid vs Poshmark
- Ecwid vs Temu
- Ecwid vs SAP Commerce Cloud
- Ecwid vs 3dcart
- Ecwid vs Algopix
- Ecwid vs OpenCart
- Ecwid vs Instacart
- Ecwid vs Medusa
- Ecwid vs Printful
- Ecwid vs Square for Retail
- Ecwid vs KORONA POS
- Ecwid vs Heartland Retail
- Ecwid vs Oracle Commerce
- Ecwid vs Erply
- Ecwid vs Inventory Lab
- Ecwid vs Toast
- Ecwid vs Volusion
- Ecwid vs Loox
- Ecwid vs Memberful
- Ecwid vs Mollie
- Ecwid vs Namecheap
- Retail Pro vs Magento
- Retail Pro vs Square
- Retail Pro vs BigCommerce
- Retail Pro vs Shopkeep
- Retail Pro vs Amazon Shopping
- Retail Pro vs TikTok Shop
- Retail Pro vs Poshmark
- Retail Pro vs Temu
- Retail Pro vs SAP Commerce Cloud
- Retail Pro vs 3dcart
- Retail Pro vs Algopix
- Retail Pro vs OpenCart
- Retail Pro vs Instacart
- Retail Pro vs Medusa
- Retail Pro vs Printful
- Retail Pro vs Square for Retail
- Retail Pro vs KORONA POS
- Retail Pro vs Heartland Retail
- Retail Pro vs Oracle Commerce
- Retail Pro vs Erply
- Retail Pro vs Inventory Lab
- Retail Pro vs Toast
- Retail Pro vs Volusion
- Retail Pro vs Loox
- Retail Pro vs Memberful
- Retail Pro vs Mollie
- Retail Pro vs Namecheap


