Softwr

E-Commerce · head to head

Retail Pro vs Toast

Retail Pro logo

Retail Pro

E-Commerce

Comprehensive retail management software

From
On request
Rated
-
Toast logo

Toast

E-Commerce

Cloud POS platform for restaurants and hospitality

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Toast has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation; Toast starter tier lacks advanced features; most capabilities require paid plans above $69/month
  • They diverge on capability: Retail Pro covers Inventory management, Toast covers Order management.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Retail Pro and Toast actually diverge.

Attributes where Retail Pro and Toast differ
AttributeRetail ProToast
Starting priceOn requestFree
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsiOS, Android, WindowsWeb, iOS, Android, Tablets, Web browsers
Founded19882011

Identical on both: pricing model (Unknown), user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Retail Pro

  • Inventory management
  • Customer database
  • Employee management
  • Sales analytics
  • Promotion management
  • Multi-store support
  • Reporting tools

Only in Toast

  • Order management
  • Kitchen display system
  • Employee scheduling
  • Customer management
  • Inventory tracking
  • Analytics & reporting
  • Delivery integration

Both cover

  • Point of sale

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Retail Pro

  • Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not Toast
  • Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot Toast
  • Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot Toast

Toast

No use cases recorded yet. See the Toast review.

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Retail Pro

  • Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • No published technical requirements or system specifications
  • International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region

Toast

  • Starter tier lacks advanced features; most capabilities require paid plans above $69/month
  • No free tier for advanced features like employee scheduling, inventory, or loyalty programs
  • Setup and training time required for complex multi-location deployments
  • Payment processing tied to Toast ecosystem; limited flexibility for alternative payment processors
  • Hardware costs can be substantial for full-featured setups with multiple terminals and kitchen displays

Pricing, plan by plan

Retail Pro

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.

Toast

Free
  • Starter KitFree
    • Cloud-based POS
    • Payment processing
    • 1-2 terminals
  • Point of Sale$69/month
    • Custom hardware configurations
    • Advanced reporting
    • Core POS features

Which should you pick?

Choose Retail Pro if

  • You need inventory management.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
  • You also want customer database.

Choose Toast if

  • You need order management.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android, Tablets, Web browsers.
  • You also want kitchen display system.

Questions people ask

Is Retail Pro or Toast better?
Neither clearly leads. Retail Pro starts at On request and Toast at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Retail Pro or Toast?
Toast has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Retail Pro and Free for Toast.
Does Retail Pro or Toast run on more platforms?
Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows. Toast runs on Web, iOS, Android, Tablets, Web browsers.
Can I use Toast for free?
Yes. Toast has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Retail Pro starts at On request.
What is Retail Pro best used for?
Retail Pro is most often used for multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores), inventory management with serialized product tracking, customer loyalty programs via appcard integration. Of those, multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores) and inventory management with serialized product tracking are not what Toast is typically brought in for.
What can Retail Pro do that Toast cannot?
Retail Pro covers Inventory management, Customer database, Employee management, Sales analytics. Toast covers Order management, Kitchen display system, Employee scheduling, Customer management. Both handle Point of sale.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Retail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?

Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.

Source
Toast: What is the cost of Toast POS?

Toast offers a free Starter Kit tier for one or two terminals with POS and payment processing at no upfront cost, though costs are built into payment processing rates. Paid plans start at $69/month for the Point of Sale plan, with Custom tier available via quote for advanced features.

Source
Toast: Does Toast include online ordering?

Yes. Toast offers online ordering capabilities where customers can order via QR code while seated (Order & Pay) or through standalone online ordering integrated with the POS for kitchen automation.

Source
Toast: Does Toast offer drive-through capabilities?

Yes. In April 2026, Toast launched a drive-thru product supporting voice ordering through integrations, allowing restaurants to automate drive-through workflows.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads