Softwr

E-Commerce · head to head

Retail Pro vs Vinted

Retail Pro logo

Retail Pro

E-Commerce

Comprehensive retail management software

From
On request
Rated
-
Vinted logo

Vinted

E-Commerce

Lithuania-founded secondhand fashion marketplace that charges the buyer, not the seller, a platform fee

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Vinted has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation; Vinted the Buyer Protection fee is not shown in the browsable item price, so comparing a listing price across Vinted and a commission-based competitor understates Vinted's true checkout cost unless the buyer manually adds the fee.
  • They diverge on capability: Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Vinted covers No seller commission.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Retail Pro and Vinted actually diverge.

Attributes where Retail Pro and Vinted differ
AttributeRetail ProVinted
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelUnknownFree for sellers, no commission; buyer pays a variable Buyer Protection fee at checkout
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsiOS, Android, WindowsiOS, Android, Web
Founded1988Unknown

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Retail Pro

  • Point of sale
  • Inventory management
  • Customer database
  • Employee management
  • Sales analytics
  • Promotion management
  • Multi-store support
  • Reporting tools

Only in Vinted

  • No seller commission
  • Buyer Protection fee
  • Direct shipping via carrier partners
  • Item verification service
  • Bundle discounts
  • In-app messaging and offers

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Retail Pro

  • Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not Vinted
  • Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot Vinted
  • Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot Vinted

Vinted

  • A seller who wants to keep the full listed price of an item rather than losing a percentage to platform commissionnot Retail Pro
  • A buyer comparing item prices across marketplaces who understands the checkout total includes a protection fee not shown on the listingnot Retail Pro
  • Someone selling many low-value items where a commission-based platform fee would eat disproportionately into returnsnot Retail Pro
  • A shopper in a European market where Vinted has deep local inventory and established shipping partnershipsnot Retail Pro

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Retail Pro

  • Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • No published technical requirements or system specifications
  • International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region

Vinted

  • The Buyer Protection fee is not shown in the browsable item price, so comparing a listing price across Vinted and a commission-based competitor understates Vinted's true checkout cost unless the buyer manually adds the fee.
  • The fee is proportionally larger on cheap items, so buying several low-value pieces separately costs more in fees relative to item price than buying one higher-value item.
  • Sellers keeping the full sale price shifts cost to buyers rather than removing it, so the platform is not free to use overall, only free for the seller side of a transaction.
  • Item authentication is optional and limited to eligible higher-value categories, so counterfeit risk on everyday clothing items rests mostly on buyer judgement of listing photos and seller history.
  • Market strength is concentrated in Europe, and inventory depth, shipping partnerships and buyer volume are considerably thinner in markets outside its established base.

Pricing, plan by plan

Retail Pro

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.

Vinted

Free
  • SellingFree
    • No commission deducted from the sale price
    • Seller receives the full listed amount
    • Shipping label cost typically passed to the buyer or built into price
  • BuyingFree
    • Buyer Protection fee calculated from item price, added at checkout
    • Covers refund if item does not arrive or does not match description
    • Fee is proportionally larger on lower-priced items

Which should you pick?

Choose Retail Pro if

  • You need point of sale.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose Vinted if

  • You need no seller commission.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Web.
  • You also want buyer protection fee.

Questions people ask

Is Retail Pro or Vinted better?
Neither clearly leads. Retail Pro starts at On request and Vinted at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Retail Pro or Vinted?
Vinted has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Retail Pro and Free for Vinted.
Does Retail Pro or Vinted run on more platforms?
Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows. Vinted runs on iOS, Android, Web.
Can I use Vinted for free?
Yes. Vinted has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Retail Pro starts at On request.
What is Retail Pro best used for?
Retail Pro is most often used for multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores), inventory management with serialized product tracking, customer loyalty programs via appcard integration. Of those, multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores) and inventory management with serialized product tracking are not what Vinted is typically brought in for.
What can Retail Pro do that Vinted cannot?
Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Inventory management, Customer database, Employee management. Vinted covers No seller commission, Buyer Protection fee, Direct shipping via carrier partners, Item verification service.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Retail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?

Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.

Source
Vinted: Does Vinted charge sellers a commission?

No, sellers receive the full listed sale price with no percentage taken by the platform.

Vinted: So how does Vinted make money?

From a Buyer Protection fee added at checkout, calculated from the item price, which the buyer pays on top of the listed amount and shipping.

Vinted: Is the buyer protection fee shown on the item listing?

No, it is calculated and added at checkout, so the browsable listing price does not reflect the final total a buyer pays.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads