Softwr

E-Commerce · head to head

OpenCart vs Retail Pro

OpenCart logo

OpenCart

E-Commerce

Self-hosted open source shopping cart written in PHP, released under the MIT licence

From
Free
Rated
-
Retail Pro logo

Retail Pro

E-Commerce

Comprehensive retail management software

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only OpenCart has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: OpenCart extensions modify core behaviour through an XML patching system, so two modules that patch the same file conflict in ways that surface as broken checkout rather than as an installation error, and resolving that requires a developer reading both patches.; Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • They diverge on capability: OpenCart covers MIT licensed source, Retail Pro covers Point of sale.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which OpenCart and Retail Pro actually diverge.

Attributes where OpenCart and Retail Pro differ
AttributeOpenCartRetail Pro
Starting priceFreeOn request
Pricing modelopen-sourceUnknown
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWebiOS, Android, Windows
Founded20091988

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in OpenCart

  • MIT licensed source
  • Self-hosted PHP and MySQL
  • No transaction fees
  • Multi-store
  • Extension marketplace
  • Multi-currency and multi-language
  • OCMod modification system
  • Full data access

Only in Retail Pro

  • Point of sale
  • Inventory management
  • Customer database
  • Employee management
  • Sales analytics
  • Promotion management
  • Multi-store support
  • Reporting tools

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

OpenCart

  • A merchant with volume high enough that a percentage transaction fee costs more than a developernot Retail Pro
  • An agency building client stores where the client must own the code and the data outrightnot Retail Pro
  • A store with unusual catalogue or pricing logic that a hosted platform will not permitnot Retail Pro
  • Selling in a market where the local payment gateway is not supported by the mainstream SaaS platformsnot Retail Pro

Retail Pro

  • Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not OpenCart
  • Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot OpenCart
  • Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot OpenCart

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

OpenCart

  • Extensions modify core behaviour through an XML patching system, so two modules that patch the same file conflict in ways that surface as broken checkout rather than as an installation error, and resolving that requires a developer reading both patches.
  • Major version upgrades have broken third party extension compatibility, so moving between them means re-purchasing or re-commissioning modules and effectively rebuilding parts of the store rather than clicking update.
  • Hosting, patching, backups and PCI scope are all your responsibility, so a security update you postpone is a breach you own, and there is no vendor obligation to notify or protect you.
  • Extension quality on the marketplace is uneven and modules are sold as one-off purchases with no guaranteed maintenance, so a module central to your store can simply stop being updated and leave you holding the code.
  • The core project is maintained by a very small team relative to the platforms it competes with, so security fixes, compatibility with new PHP versions and feature work all arrive at a pace you cannot influence or pay to accelerate.

Retail Pro

  • Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • No published technical requirements or system specifications
  • International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region

Pricing, plan by plan

OpenCart

Free
  • Open SourceFree
    • Core ecommerce features
    • Free support
    • Extensions available

Retail Pro

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.

Which should you pick?

Choose OpenCart if

  • You need mit licensed source.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want self-hosted php and mysql.

Choose Retail Pro if

  • You need point of sale.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
  • You also want inventory management.

Questions people ask

Is OpenCart or Retail Pro better?
Neither clearly leads. OpenCart starts at Free and Retail Pro at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, OpenCart or Retail Pro?
OpenCart has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for OpenCart and On request for Retail Pro.
Does OpenCart or Retail Pro run on more platforms?
OpenCart runs on Web. Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows.
Can I use OpenCart for free?
Yes. OpenCart has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Retail Pro starts at On request.
What is OpenCart best used for?
OpenCart is most often used for a merchant with volume high enough that a percentage transaction fee costs more than a developer, an agency building client stores where the client must own the code and the data outright, a store with unusual catalogue or pricing logic that a hosted platform will not permit, selling in a market where the local payment gateway is not supported by the mainstream saas platforms. Of those, a merchant with volume high enough that a percentage transaction fee costs more than a developer and an agency building client stores where the client must own the code and the data outright are not what Retail Pro is typically brought in for.
What can OpenCart do that Retail Pro cannot?
OpenCart covers MIT licensed source, Self-hosted PHP and MySQL, No transaction fees, Multi-store. Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Inventory management, Customer database, Employee management.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

OpenCart: Is OpenCart really free?

The software is MIT licensed with no paid edition. The costs are hosting, extensions, and a developer, and for a low volume store those can exceed a SaaS subscription.

Retail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?

Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.

Source
OpenCart: Does it charge transaction fees?

No. There is no platform cut and no surcharge for using your own payment gateway, which is the main financial argument for self-hosting at volume.

OpenCart: How hard is customisation?

Theme changes are ordinary PHP templates and are approachable. Changing behaviour means the OCMod patching system, which conflicts between extensions and needs a developer.

OpenCart: What is the biggest hidden cost?

Upgrades. Version transitions have broken extension compatibility before, so budget for a partial rebuild rather than assuming updates are routine maintenance.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads