E-Commerce · head to head
Retail Pro vs Square for Retail

Square for Retail
E-Commerce
Integrated point of sale and retail management
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Square for Retail has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation; Square for Retail limited customer support with primarily email and online forums, slow response times for urgent issues
- They diverge on capability: Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Square for Retail covers Contactless payments.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Retail Pro and Square for Retail actually diverge.
| Attribute | Retail Pro | Square for Retail |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | On request | Free |
| Free tier | No | Yes |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, API |
| Founded | 1988 | 2009 |
Identical on both: pricing model (Unknown), user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Retail Pro
- Point of sale
- Inventory management
- Customer database
- Promotion management
- Multi-store support
Only in Square for Retail
- Contactless payments
- Inventory tracking
- Customer profiles
- Receipt printing
- Integration with Square Online
Both cover
- Employee management
- Sales analytics
- Reporting tools
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Retail Pro
- Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not Square for Retail
- Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot Square for Retail
- Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot Square for Retail
Square for Retail
- Retail point-of-sale systemsnot Retail Pro
- Online store payment processingnot Retail Pro
- Appointment and booking schedulingnot Retail Pro
- Phone and field payment collectionnot Retail Pro
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Retail Pro
- Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
- No published technical requirements or system specifications
- International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region
Square for Retail
- Limited customer support with primarily email and online forums, slow response times for urgent issues
- Internet connectivity required for normal operations; weak signal impacts transaction processing and experience
- Restricted to Square's payment processing with higher transaction fees compared to some competitors
- Limited to iOS devices and Square's proprietary hardware, excluding Android or third-party devices
- Limited advanced retail capabilities and deeper third-party integrations compared to enterprise POS systems
Pricing, plan by plan
Retail Pro
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.
Square for Retail
Free- FreeFree
- Payment processing at 2.6% + 15 cents
- Basic inventory management
- Invoicing
- Plus$49/month
- In-person: 2.5% + 15 cents
- Online: 2.9% + 30 cents
- Product exchanges
- Premium$149/month
- In-person: 2.4% + 15 cents
- Online: 2.9% + 30 cents
- Advanced features
Which should you pick?
Choose Retail Pro if
- You need point of sale.
- You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
- You also want inventory management.
Choose Square for Retail if
- You need contactless payments.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on iOS, API.
- You also want inventory tracking.
Questions people ask
- Is Retail Pro or Square for Retail better?
- Neither clearly leads. Retail Pro starts at On request and Square for Retail at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Retail Pro or Square for Retail?
- Square for Retail has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Retail Pro and Free for Square for Retail.
- Does Retail Pro or Square for Retail run on more platforms?
- Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows. Square for Retail runs on iOS, API.
- Can I use Square for Retail for free?
- Yes. Square for Retail has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Retail Pro starts at On request.
- What is Retail Pro best used for?
- Retail Pro is most often used for multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores), inventory management with serialized product tracking, customer loyalty programs via appcard integration. Of those, multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores) and inventory management with serialized product tracking are not what Square for Retail is typically brought in for.
- What can Retail Pro do that Square for Retail cannot?
- Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Inventory management, Customer database, Promotion management. Square for Retail covers Contactless payments, Inventory tracking, Customer profiles, Receipt printing. Both handle Employee management, Sales analytics, Reporting tools.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Retail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?
Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.
SourceSquare for Retail: Does Square for Retail have a free tier?
Yes, Square for Retail's free tier includes payment processing at 2.6% plus 15 cents per transaction, basic inventory, invoicing, online shop, and booking tools with no monthly subscription fee.
SourceSquare for Retail: What are the transaction fees across Square's pricing tiers?
Free tier: 2.6% + 15 cents. Plus tier ($49/month): 2.5% + 15 cents in-person, 2.9% + 30 cents online. Premium tier ($149/month): 2.4% + 15 cents in-person, 2.9% + 30 cents online.
SourceSquare for Retail: What devices can run Square for Retail?
Square for Retail runs on iOS devices (iPad and iPhone) using Square's proprietary hardware or compatible mobile devices, and requires integration with Square's payment processing.
SourceSquare for Retail: Can I use Square for Retail offline?
Square for Retail depends on an internet connection for optimal functionality. Offline functionality is limited, and high-traffic operations may require recharging or connection verification.
SourceSquare for Retail: Does Square for Retail support third-party integrations?
Yes, Square offers integrations through its App Marketplace and provides APIs for custom development including payments, inventory, orders, customers, loyalty, and webhooks.
SourceRelated pages
More on Square for Retail
Other head to heads
- Retail Pro vs Shopkeep
- Retail Pro vs Square
- Retail Pro vs Magento
- Retail Pro vs BigCommerce
- Retail Pro vs KORONA POS
- Retail Pro vs Heartland Retail
- Retail Pro vs Oracle Commerce
- Retail Pro vs Erply
- Retail Pro vs Inventory Lab
- Retail Pro vs Toast
- Retail Pro vs Volusion
- Retail Pro vs Loox
- Retail Pro vs Memberful
- Retail Pro vs Mollie
- Retail Pro vs Namecheap
- Retail Pro vs OpenCart
- Retail Pro vs NCR Voyix
- Retail Pro vs Bluepark
- Retail Pro vs Sellfy
- Retail Pro vs Braintree
- Retail Pro vs Drip
- Retail Pro vs Ecwid
- Retail Pro vs Etsy
- Retail Pro vs Gumroad
- Square for Retail vs Shopkeep
- Square for Retail vs Square
- Square for Retail vs Magento
- Square for Retail vs BigCommerce
- Square for Retail vs KORONA POS
- Square for Retail vs Heartland Retail
- Square for Retail vs Oracle Commerce
- Square for Retail vs Erply
- Square for Retail vs Inventory Lab
- Square for Retail vs Toast
- Square for Retail vs Volusion
- Square for Retail vs Loox
- Square for Retail vs Memberful
- Square for Retail vs Mollie
- Square for Retail vs Namecheap
- Square for Retail vs OpenCart
- Square for Retail vs NCR Voyix
- Square for Retail vs Bluepark
- Square for Retail vs Sellfy
- Square for Retail vs Braintree
- Square for Retail vs Drip
- Square for Retail vs Ecwid
- Square for Retail vs Etsy
- Square for Retail vs Gumroad

