Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs SevenRooms

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
SevenRooms logo

SevenRooms

Restaurants

Guest experience and retention platform

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; SevenRooms higher price point at $499/month compared to OpenTable Basic at $149/month
  • They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, SevenRooms covers Reservations.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and SevenRooms actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and SevenRooms differ
AttributeCAKE POSSevenRooms
Starting price$69/monthOn request
PlatformsIos, AndroidWeb
Founded20102011

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Online ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Reporting
  • Kitchen display
  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub

Only in SevenRooms

  • Reservations
  • Table management
  • CRM
  • Marketing automation
  • Direct ordering
  • Guest data
  • Toast
  • Oracle

Both cover

  • Ios support
  • Android support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Sale
  • Order Management
  • Inventory Control
  • Staff Scheduling

SevenRooms

  • Point of Sale
  • Order Management
  • Inventory Control
  • Staff Scheduling

Both are used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling, on those jobs the choice comes down to price and fit rather than capability.

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

SevenRooms

  • Higher price point at $499/month compared to OpenTable Basic at $149/month

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

SevenRooms

On request
  • EssentialFree
    • Custom pricing
    • Reservations
    • CRM
  • ProfessionalFree
    • Custom pricing
    • Marketing
    • Analytics
  • EnterpriseFree
    • Custom pricing
    • Full platform

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Choose SevenRooms if

  • You need reservations.
  • You also want table management.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or SevenRooms better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and SevenRooms at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or SevenRooms?
CAKE POS starts at $69/month and SevenRooms at On request.
Does CAKE POS or SevenRooms run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. SevenRooms runs on Web.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling.
What can CAKE POS do that SevenRooms cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management. SevenRooms covers Reservations, Table management, CRM, Marketing automation. Both handle Ios support, Android support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
SevenRooms: What does SevenRooms cost?

SevenRooms starts at $499/month. SevenRooms is differentiated from OpenTable and Resy by offering the deepest CRM capabilities for guest intelligence and loyalty programs.

Source
CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
SevenRooms: How does SevenRooms compare to OpenTable?

OpenTable has basic tiers starting at $149/month, but cover fees apply on network bookings and your brand takes a back seat in guest communications. SevenRooms at $499/month offers more control and deeper CRM functionality.

Source
CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads