Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs Waitlist Me

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
W

Waitlist Me

Restaurants

Waitlist, reservation and appointment management across devices and locations

From
$27.99/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; Waitlist Me entry Premium plan caps at 1,000 notifications per month with a $0.02 per-notification overage fee beyond that, as of August 2026
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and Waitlist Me actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and Waitlist Me differ
AttributeCAKE POSWaitlist Me
Starting price$69/month$27.99/month
PlatformsIos, AndroidWeb
Founded2010Unknown

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Online ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Reporting
  • Kitchen display
  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub

Only in Waitlist Me

Nothing recorded that CAKE POS does not also cover.

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Salenot Waitlist Me
  • Order Managementnot Waitlist Me
  • Inventory Controlnot Waitlist Me
  • Staff Schedulingnot Waitlist Me

Waitlist Me

  • Restaurant wait time managementnot CAKE POS
  • Service industry customer schedulingnot CAKE POS
  • Multi-location waitlist coordinationnot CAKE POS
  • Reservation and table managementnot CAKE POS
  • Real-time customer notificationsnot CAKE POS

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

Waitlist Me

  • Entry Premium plan caps at 1,000 notifications per month with a $0.02 per-notification overage fee beyond that, as of August 2026
  • Monthly billing without the annual commitment costs $34.99 per month for Premium versus $27.99 on the annual plan, as of August 2026

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

Waitlist Me

$27.99/month
  • Premium$27.99/month
    • 1000 notifications per month
    • Intuitive Waitlist View
    • Reservations Calendar
  • Pro$47.99/month
    • 2500 notifications per month
    • Table and resource management
    • Business hours configuration
  • Platinum$79.99/month
    • 5000 notifications per month
    • Smart floorplans
    • Spatial management

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Choose Waitlist Me if

Nothing in the data separates Waitlist Me from CAKE POS on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or Waitlist Me better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Waitlist Me at $27.99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or Waitlist Me?
CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Waitlist Me at $27.99/month.
Does CAKE POS or Waitlist Me run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. Waitlist Me runs on Web.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling. Of those, point of sale and order management are not what Waitlist Me is typically brought in for.
What can CAKE POS do that Waitlist Me cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
Waitlist Me: How much does Waitlist Me cost?

Premium starts at $27.99/month (or $22.39/month annually). Pro tier costs $47.99/month (or $38.39/month annually). Platinum is $79.99/month (or $63.99/month annually). Additional notifications cost $0.02 each beyond plan limits.

Source
CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
Waitlist Me: Is there a free plan?

No, Waitlist Me does not offer a free plan. All pricing tiers are paid subscriptions, though the page indicates transparent billing and support for all plans.

Source
CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Waitlist Me: What is included in all plans?

All Waitlist Me plans include multi-device syncing (iOS, Android, Web), unlimited usage within notification limits, multi-location support, and customer support.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads