Restaurants · head to head
BentoBox vs CAKE POS
The short version
- Each has a real cost: BentoBox bentoBox is now Clover, and its own site states that BentoBox products and services are only available to Clover POS customers; CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
- They diverge on capability: BentoBox covers Website builder, CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which BentoBox and CAKE POS actually diverge.
Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in BentoBox
- Website builder
- Email marketing
- Gift cards
- Catering
- Event management
- OpenTable
- Resy
- Toast
Only in CAKE POS
- Tableside ordering
- Guest management
- Menu management
- Reporting
- Kitchen display
- DoorDash
- Grubhub
- QuickBooks
Both cover
- Online ordering
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
BentoBox
- Restaurant websites with integrated online orderingnot CAKE POS
- Gift cards, events and catering enquiries from a restaurant's own sitenot CAKE POS
- Marketing and customer data capture for restaurants on Clover POSnot CAKE POS
CAKE POS
- Point of Salenot BentoBox
- Order Managementnot BentoBox
- Inventory Controlnot BentoBox
- Staff Schedulingnot BentoBox
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
BentoBox
- BentoBox is now Clover, and its own site states that BentoBox products and services are only available to Clover POS customers
- The pricing page publishes no plan price, setup fee, online ordering commission or contract length
- Existing customers wanting to add services are directed to a customer success manager or an email address rather than a self serve price
CAKE POS
- Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
- Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
- Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership
Pricing, plan by plan
BentoBox
$99/month- Starter$99/month
- Website
- Basic features
- Essential$199/month
- Online ordering
- Marketing
- Pro$399/month
- Full features
- Catering
CAKE POS
$69/month- Essentials$69/month
- POS
- Online ordering
- Professional$125/month
- Guest management
- Advanced features
Which should you pick?
Choose CAKE POS if
- You need tableside ordering.
- You work on Ios, Android.
- You also want guest management.
Questions people ask
- Is BentoBox or CAKE POS better?
- Neither clearly leads. BentoBox starts at $99/month and CAKE POS at $69/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, BentoBox or CAKE POS?
- BentoBox starts at $99/month and CAKE POS at $69/month.
- Does BentoBox or CAKE POS run on more platforms?
- BentoBox runs on Web. CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android.
- What is BentoBox best used for?
- BentoBox is most often used for restaurant websites with integrated online ordering, gift cards, events and catering enquiries from a restaurant's own site, marketing and customer data capture for restaurants on clover pos. Of those, restaurant websites with integrated online ordering and gift cards, events and catering enquiries from a restaurant's own site are not what CAKE POS is typically brought in for.
- What can BentoBox do that CAKE POS cannot?
- BentoBox covers Website builder, Email marketing, Gift cards, Catering. CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Guest management, Menu management, Reporting. Both handle Online ordering.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?
CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.
SourceCAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?
CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.
SourceCAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?
CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- BentoBox vs ChowNow
- BentoBox vs Toast POS
- BentoBox vs Square for Restaurants
- BentoBox vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- BentoBox vs Owner.com
- BentoBox vs SpotOn
- BentoBox vs Lunchbox
- BentoBox vs Flipdish
- BentoBox vs Slice
- BentoBox vs Olo
- BentoBox vs Popmenu
- BentoBox vs When I Work
- BentoBox vs Wisely
- BentoBox vs WISK
- BentoBox vs Yelp Reservations
- BentoBox vs Deliveroo
- BentoBox vs Heartland Restaurant
- BentoBox vs Clover
- BentoBox vs Rezku POS
- BentoBox vs Lavu
- BentoBox vs TouchBistro
- BentoBox vs Talech
- BentoBox vs Upserve
- BentoBox vs Waitlist Me
- CAKE POS vs ChowNow
- CAKE POS vs Toast POS
- CAKE POS vs Square for Restaurants
- CAKE POS vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- CAKE POS vs Owner.com
- CAKE POS vs SpotOn
- CAKE POS vs Lunchbox
- CAKE POS vs Flipdish
- CAKE POS vs Slice
- CAKE POS vs Olo
- CAKE POS vs Popmenu
- CAKE POS vs When I Work
- CAKE POS vs Wisely
- CAKE POS vs WISK
- CAKE POS vs Yelp Reservations
- CAKE POS vs Deliveroo
- CAKE POS vs Heartland Restaurant
- CAKE POS vs Clover
- CAKE POS vs Rezku POS
- CAKE POS vs Lavu
- CAKE POS vs TouchBistro
- CAKE POS vs Talech
- CAKE POS vs Upserve
- CAKE POS vs Waitlist Me

