Restaurants · head to head
Aloha POS vs CAKE POS
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Aloha POS high upfront hardware costs ($1,000+ per terminal) make it expensive to deploy across multiple locations; CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
- They diverge on capability: Aloha POS covers Table management, CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Aloha POS and CAKE POS actually diverge.
Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Aloha POS
- Table management
- Order management
- Labor scheduling
- Inventory control
- Enterprise reporting
- Loyalty programs
- NCR Back Office
- Third-party delivery
Only in CAKE POS
- Tableside ordering
- Online ordering
- Guest management
- Menu management
- Reporting
- Kitchen display
- DoorDash
- Grubhub
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Aloha POS
- Point of Sale
- Order Management
- Inventory Control
- Staff Scheduling
CAKE POS
- Point of Sale
- Order Management
- Inventory Control
- Staff Scheduling
Both are used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling, on those jobs the choice comes down to price and fit rather than capability.
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Aloha POS
- High upfront hardware costs ($1,000+ per terminal) make it expensive to deploy across multiple locations
- User interface is dated with functionality from 2005-era design, requiring training for staff familiar with modern applications
- Network connectivity issues cause terminals to lose access to central database when Wi-Fi drops, leading to transaction failures
- Requires proprietary terminals unlike competitors that run on standard iPads or Android tablets
- Complex customization requires expensive professional services and cannot be configured by restaurant staff
CAKE POS
- Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
- Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
- Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership
Pricing, plan by plan
Aloha POS
$150/month- Essentials$150/month
- POS
- Basic reporting
- Professional$250/month
- Advanced features
- Labor management
- EnterpriseFree
- Custom pricing
- Full suite
CAKE POS
$69/month- Essentials$69/month
- POS
- Online ordering
- Professional$125/month
- Guest management
- Advanced features
Which should you pick?
Choose Aloha POS if
- You need table management.
- You work on Windows, Android.
- You also want order management.
Choose CAKE POS if
- You need tableside ordering.
- You work on Ios, Android.
- You also want online ordering.
Questions people ask
- Is Aloha POS or CAKE POS better?
- Neither clearly leads. Aloha POS starts at $150/month and CAKE POS at $69/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Aloha POS or CAKE POS?
- Aloha POS starts at $150/month and CAKE POS at $69/month.
- Does Aloha POS or CAKE POS run on more platforms?
- Aloha POS runs on Windows, Android. CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android.
- What is Aloha POS best used for?
- Aloha POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling.
- What can Aloha POS do that CAKE POS cannot?
- Aloha POS covers Table management, Order management, Labor scheduling, Inventory control. CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Aloha POS: What are the hardware options for Aloha POS?
Aloha offers two main products: Aloha Essentials POS which runs on Windows servers at your location, and Aloha Cloud POS which operates on Android-based mobile terminals connected to cloud systems. Hardware costs approximately $1,000 per terminal or available through subscription.
SourceCAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?
CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.
SourceAloha POS: What features does Aloha include for restaurant operations?
Aloha includes kitchen automation, table management, staff rosters, payment processing, inventory tracking, reporting, customer loyalty programs, and employee time tracking.
SourceCAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?
CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.
SourceAloha POS: Is Aloha POS available as a subscription?
Yes. NCR Aloha offers an all-in-one monthly subscription model that includes software, hardware, payment processing, and 24/7 customer support. Upfront implementation costs vary based on specific needs.
SourceCAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?
CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.
SourceAloha POS: What are the network requirements for Aloha POS?
Aloha Essentials requires a stable network connection between terminals and the Windows server. Network disruptions cause terminals to lose access to the central database, resulting in transaction failures and payment errors.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Aloha POS vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- Aloha POS vs Lavu
- Aloha POS vs TouchBistro
- Aloha POS vs Heartland Restaurant
- Aloha POS vs Clover
- Aloha POS vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- Aloha POS vs PAR Brink POS
- Aloha POS vs Revel Systems
- Aloha POS vs Square for Restaurants
- Aloha POS vs Talech
- Aloha POS vs HotSchedules
- Aloha POS vs Rezku POS
- Aloha POS vs WISK
- Aloha POS vs Yelp Reservations
- Aloha POS vs Deliveroo
- Aloha POS vs Popmenu
- Aloha POS vs 7shifts
- Aloha POS vs Toast POS
- Aloha POS vs SpotOn
- Aloha POS vs ChowNow
- Aloha POS vs Lunchbox
- Aloha POS vs BentoBox
- Aloha POS vs Upserve
- Aloha POS vs Waitlist Me
- Aloha POS vs When I Work
- Aloha POS vs Wisely
- CAKE POS vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- CAKE POS vs Lavu
- CAKE POS vs TouchBistro
- CAKE POS vs Heartland Restaurant
- CAKE POS vs Clover
- CAKE POS vs Oracle MICROS Simphony
- CAKE POS vs PAR Brink POS
- CAKE POS vs Revel Systems
- CAKE POS vs Square for Restaurants
- CAKE POS vs Talech
- CAKE POS vs HotSchedules
- CAKE POS vs Rezku POS
- CAKE POS vs WISK
- CAKE POS vs Yelp Reservations
- CAKE POS vs Deliveroo
- CAKE POS vs Popmenu
- CAKE POS vs 7shifts
- CAKE POS vs Toast POS
- CAKE POS vs SpotOn
- CAKE POS vs ChowNow
- CAKE POS vs Lunchbox
- CAKE POS vs BentoBox
- CAKE POS vs Upserve
- CAKE POS vs Waitlist Me
- CAKE POS vs When I Work
- CAKE POS vs Wisely


