Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs Owner.com

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
Owner.com logo

Owner.com

Restaurants

Digital storefront for restaurants

From
$249/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; Owner.com the $249 per month Flexible plan adds a 5 percent restaurant fee on every order, so cost rises with sales volume
  • They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Owner.com covers Website builder.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and Owner.com actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and Owner.com differ
AttributeCAKE POSOwner.com
Starting price$69/month$249/month
PlatformsIos, AndroidWeb, Ios, Android
Founded20102019

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Reporting
  • Kitchen display
  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub
  • QuickBooks

Only in Owner.com

  • Website builder
  • Marketing automation
  • Customer database
  • Loyalty program
  • Delivery integration
  • DoorDash Drive
  • Google
  • Facebook

Both cover

  • Online ordering
  • Ios support
  • Android support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Salenot Owner.com
  • Order Managementnot Owner.com
  • Inventory Controlnot Owner.com
  • Staff Schedulingnot Owner.com

Owner.com

  • Commission free online ordering direct from a restaurant's own websitenot CAKE POS
  • Branded restaurant mobile app and loyalty programmenot CAKE POS
  • Automated email and SMS marketing to a restaurant's own customer listnot CAKE POS
  • Taking catering orders directly rather than through delivery marketplacesnot CAKE POS

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

Owner.com

  • The $249 per month Flexible plan adds a 5 percent restaurant fee on every order, so cost rises with sales volume
  • Avoiding the per order fee requires the Flat Rate plan at $499 per month
  • Guests are charged a 5 percent order support fee on top of the restaurant's own costs
  • Multi location operators are quoted special rates that are not published

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

Owner.com

$249/month
  • Flexible Plan$249/month
    • AI-optimized website with SEO ranking
    • Online ordering system
    • Branded mobile app
  • Flat Rate Plan$499/month
    • AI-optimized website with SEO ranking
    • Online ordering system
    • Branded mobile app

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want guest management.

Choose Owner.com if

  • You need website builder.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want marketing automation.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or Owner.com better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Owner.com at $249/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or Owner.com?
CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Owner.com at $249/month.
Does CAKE POS or Owner.com run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. Owner.com runs on Web, Ios, Android.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling. Of those, point of sale and order management are not what Owner.com is typically brought in for.
What can CAKE POS do that Owner.com cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Guest management, Menu management, Reporting. Owner.com covers Website builder, Marketing automation, Customer database, Loyalty program. Both handle Online ordering, Ios support, Android support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
Owner.com: How much does Owner.com cost for restaurants?

Owner.com offers two pricing options: Flexible Plan at $249/month with a 5% restaurant fee per order, or Flat Rate Plan at $499/month with no additional fees. Both include AI website, online ordering, mobile app, and 24/7 support.

Source
CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
Owner.com: Which Owner.com plan is best for my restaurant?

The Flexible Plan suits lower-volume restaurants, while the Flat Rate Plan works better for restaurants generating $5,000 or more monthly in online sales, as it eliminates the 5% per-order fee.

Source
CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Owner.com: Are there cancellation fees with Owner.com?

No, Owner.com operates on month-to-month billing with no long-term contracts required and no cancellation fees, allowing restaurants to switch plans or cancel anytime.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads