Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs Resy

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
Resy logo

Resy

Restaurants

Premium reservation platform for restaurants

From
$289/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; Resy platform & Essential tier (289 USD/month) lacks advanced analytics and POS integrations (Premium required)
  • They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Resy covers Online reservations.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and Resy actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and Resy differ
AttributeCAKE POSResy
Starting price$69/month$289/month
Pricing modelsubscriptionUnknown
PlatformsIos, AndroidWeb
Founded20102014

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Online ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Reporting
  • Kitchen display
  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub

Only in Resy

  • Online reservations
  • Table optimization
  • Guest CRM
  • Waitlist
  • Marketing
  • AmEx integration
  • Toast
  • Square

Both cover

  • Ios support
  • Android support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Salenot Resy
  • Order Managementnot Resy
  • Inventory Controlnot Resy
  • Staff Schedulingnot Resy

Resy

  • Restaurant reservation and table managementnot CAKE POS
  • Waitlist and walk-in managementnot CAKE POS
  • Event ticketing and experience management for restaurantsnot CAKE POS
  • Guest CRM and personalised communicationnot CAKE POS
  • Real-time analytics and revenue reportingnot CAKE POS
  • Premium dining inventory managementnot CAKE POS

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

Resy

  • Platform & Essential tier (289 USD/month) lacks advanced analytics and POS integrations (Premium required)
  • Platform tier lacks Premium features such as priority phone support and advanced experience management
  • Essential tier charged with 3% prepayment fees on events (Premium reduced to 2%)

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

Resy

$289/month

No published plan breakdown. See the Resy review.

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Choose Resy if

  • You need online reservations.
  • You also want table optimization.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or Resy better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Resy at $289/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or Resy?
CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Resy at $289/month.
Does CAKE POS or Resy run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. Resy runs on Web.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling. Of those, point of sale and order management are not what Resy is typically brought in for.
What can CAKE POS do that Resy cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management. Resy covers Online reservations, Table optimization, Guest CRM, Waitlist. Both handle Ios support, Android support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads