Restaurants · head to head
CAKE POS vs ChowNow
The short version
- Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; ChowNow limited website customization with only pre-built Squarespace templates available
- They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, ChowNow covers Branded ordering.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and ChowNow actually diverge.
Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants), founded (2010).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in CAKE POS
- Tableside ordering
- Online ordering
- Guest management
- Menu management
- Reporting
- Kitchen display
- DoorDash
- Grubhub
Only in ChowNow
- Branded ordering
- Website integration
- Mobile app
- Customer database
- Marketing tools
- Delivery integration
- DoorDash Drive
Both cover
- Ios support
- Android support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
CAKE POS
- Point of Sale
- Order Management
- Inventory Control
- Staff Scheduling
ChowNow
- Point of Sale
- Order Management
- Inventory Control
- Staff Scheduling
Both are used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling, on those jobs the choice comes down to price and fit rather than capability.
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
CAKE POS
- Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
- Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
- Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership
ChowNow
- Limited website customization with only pre-built Squarespace templates available
- No multi-language support, limiting service to non-English speaking customer bases
- Multi-location management requires separate dashboard for each location
- Delivery reliability issues with reported order delays and non-arrivals
- Limited customer support responsiveness with long phone wait times
Pricing, plan by plan
CAKE POS
$69/month- Essentials$69/month
- POS
- Online ordering
- Professional$125/month
- Guest management
- Advanced features
ChowNow
$249/month- Launch$249/month
- Commission-free ordering
- Website and mobile app
- Basic POS integrations
- Grow$349/month
- All Launch features
- Advanced marketing tools
- Email and SMS campaigns
- Elevate$449/month
- All Grow features
- Advanced reporting
- Priority support
Which should you pick?
Choose CAKE POS if
- You need tableside ordering.
- You work on Ios, Android.
- You also want online ordering.
Choose ChowNow if
- You need branded ordering.
- You work on Web, iOS, Android.
- You also want website integration.
Questions people ask
- Is CAKE POS or ChowNow better?
- Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and ChowNow at $249/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or ChowNow?
- CAKE POS starts at $69/month and ChowNow at $249/month.
- Does CAKE POS or ChowNow run on more platforms?
- CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. ChowNow runs on Web, iOS, Android.
- What is CAKE POS best used for?
- CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling.
- What can CAKE POS do that ChowNow cannot?
- CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management. ChowNow covers Branded ordering, Website integration, Mobile app, Customer database. Both handle Ios support, Android support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?
CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.
SourceChowNow: Is ChowNow truly commission-free?
Yes, ChowNow charges no commission on orders placed through your website, app, or marketplace channels. However, you pay a monthly subscription ($249-$449), payment processing fees (2.95% plus $0.29 per transaction), and optional delivery fees ($7.98 per order with Flex Delivery).
SourceCAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?
CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.
SourceChowNow: Does ChowNow integrate with my POS system?
Yes. ChowNow integrates with over 45 POS systems including Toast, Square, Clover, and Revel. Orders are automatically synced to your POS and kitchen printers without manual entry.
SourceCAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?
CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.
SourceChowNow: Can I use ChowNow with delivery platforms like DoorDash and Uber Eats?
ChowNow handles direct orders but also supports order aggregation from third-party delivery platforms including DoorDash, UberEats, and Grubhub through integrations.
SourceChowNow: How much does ChowNow cost?
ChowNow plans start at $249/month (Launch), $349/month (Grow), and $449/month (Elevate) when billed monthly. Annual billing saves 8-9%. Additional fees include payment processing (2.95% plus $0.29 per transaction), setup fees ($119-$499), and optional delivery charges.
SourceChowNow: What platforms are supported by ChowNow?
ChowNow is available on web, iOS, and Android. Restaurants get a website ordering interface and can offer a branded mobile app. Customers discover restaurants through Google Maps, Apple Maps, Yelp, and the ChowNow Marketplace.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- CAKE POS vs Toast POS
- CAKE POS vs Square for Restaurants
- CAKE POS vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- CAKE POS vs Clover
- CAKE POS vs SpotOn
- CAKE POS vs Rezku POS
- CAKE POS vs Lavu
- CAKE POS vs TouchBistro
- CAKE POS vs Lunchbox
- CAKE POS vs Talech
- CAKE POS vs BentoBox
- CAKE POS vs Upserve
- CAKE POS vs Waitlist Me
- CAKE POS vs When I Work
- CAKE POS vs Wisely
- CAKE POS vs WISK
- CAKE POS vs Yelp Reservations
- CAKE POS vs Flipdish
- CAKE POS vs Slice
- CAKE POS vs Olo
- CAKE POS vs Deliverect
- CAKE POS vs Otter
- CAKE POS vs Owner.com
- CAKE POS vs Popmenu
- CAKE POS vs Plate IQ
- CAKE POS vs Postmates
- CAKE POS vs Resy
- CAKE POS vs SevenRooms
- ChowNow vs Toast POS
- ChowNow vs Square for Restaurants
- ChowNow vs Lightspeed Restaurant
- ChowNow vs Clover
- ChowNow vs SpotOn
- ChowNow vs Rezku POS
- ChowNow vs Lavu
- ChowNow vs TouchBistro
- ChowNow vs Lunchbox
- ChowNow vs Talech
- ChowNow vs BentoBox
- ChowNow vs Upserve
- ChowNow vs Waitlist Me
- ChowNow vs When I Work
- ChowNow vs Wisely
- ChowNow vs WISK
- ChowNow vs Yelp Reservations
- ChowNow vs Flipdish
- ChowNow vs Slice
- ChowNow vs Olo
- ChowNow vs Deliverect
- ChowNow vs Otter
- ChowNow vs Owner.com
- ChowNow vs Popmenu
- ChowNow vs Plate IQ
- ChowNow vs Postmates
- ChowNow vs Resy
- ChowNow vs SevenRooms


