Softwr

Productivity · head to head

Hubstaff vs Teamwork

Hubstaff logo

Hubstaff

Productivity

Time tracking and team management for remote teams

From
$5.99/month
Rated
-
Teamwork logo

Teamwork

Professional Services

Project management software that lets you work your way

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Teamwork has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Hubstaff no pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed; Teamwork the free plan allows 5 users, 5 projects and 100 MB of file storage
  • They diverge on capability: Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, Teamwork covers Task management.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Hubstaff and Teamwork actually diverge.

Attributes where Hubstaff and Teamwork differ
AttributeHubstaffTeamwork
Starting price$5.99/monthFree
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWeb, IOS, Android, MacOS, WindowsWeb, Ios, Android, Desktop, Api
CategoryProductivityProfessional Services
Founded20122007

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Hubstaff

  • Time tracking with timer
  • Activity monitoring
  • GPS location tracking
  • Screenshots
  • Reports and analytics
  • Team management
  • Mobile apps

Only in Teamwork

  • Task management
  • Gantt charts
  • Board view
  • Time tracking
  • Project templates
  • Client management
  • Resource scheduling
  • Slack

Both cover

  • Invoicing

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Hubstaff

  • Productivitynot Teamwork
  • Collaborationnot Teamwork
  • Task managementnot Teamwork
  • Organizationnot Teamwork

Teamwork

  • Project and task management for client services teamsnot Hubstaff
  • Tracking billable time, budgets and profitability against projectsnot Hubstaff

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Hubstaff

  • No pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed
  • Per-seat pricing structure means users charged per team member regardless of active tracking use
  • Billing model includes prorated charges on annual plans but full rates for new monthly users, creating potential cost complications

Teamwork

  • The free plan allows 5 users, 5 projects and 100 MB of file storage
  • Projects are capped even on paid plans, at 300 on Basics and 600 on Accelerate
  • Automations are rationed by tier, at 100 on free, 20,000 on Accelerate and 100,000 on Optimize
  • Single sign on is Enterprise only
  • The two highest tiers publish no price at all

Pricing, plan by plan

Hubstaff

$5.99/month
  • FreeFree
    • Basic time tracking
    • Limited to 1 user
    • Basic reports
  • Starter$5.99/month
    • Time tracking
    • Team management
    • Reports
  • Pro$9.99/month
    • Everything in Starter
    • GPS tracking
    • Activity monitoring

Teamwork

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Up to 5 projects
    • Max 5 users
    • Task/list/board/Gantt views
  • Basics$9.99/month
    • Unlimited projects
    • Unlimited users
    • Unlimited templates
  • Accelerate$24.99/month
    • All Basics features
    • Smart forms
    • 20,000 automations
  • Optimize$null/month
    • Custom pricing
    • Quoting
    • 100,000 automations

Which should you pick?

Choose Hubstaff if

  • You need time tracking with timer.
  • You work on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows.
  • You also want activity monitoring.

Choose Teamwork if

  • You need task management.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android, Desktop, Api.
  • You also want gantt charts.

Questions people ask

Is Hubstaff or Teamwork better?
Neither clearly leads. Hubstaff starts at $5.99/month and Teamwork at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Hubstaff or Teamwork?
Teamwork has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $5.99/month for Hubstaff and Free for Teamwork.
Does Hubstaff or Teamwork run on more platforms?
Hubstaff runs on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows. Teamwork runs on Web, Ios, Android, Desktop, Api.
Can I use Teamwork for free?
Yes. Teamwork has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Hubstaff starts at $5.99/month.
What is Hubstaff best used for?
Hubstaff is most often used for productivity, collaboration, task management, organization. Of those, productivity and collaboration are not what Teamwork is typically brought in for.
What can Hubstaff do that Teamwork cannot?
Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, Activity monitoring, GPS location tracking, Screenshots. Teamwork covers Task management, Gantt charts, Board view, Time tracking. Both handle Invoicing.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Hubstaff: How much does Hubstaff cost?

Specific pricing amounts are not published on the pricing page. Hubstaff offers monthly and annual billing options with a per-seat pricing structure, a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans, and a 14-day free trial with no credit card required.

Source
Teamwork: What is the difference between Basics and Accelerate plans?

Basics ($9.99/user/month) includes time tracking and basic automations (100 limit). Accelerate ($24.99/user/month) adds smart forms, capacity planning, 20,000 automations, client invoicing, and integrations with HubSpot and QuickBooks.

Source
Hubstaff: Is there a free trial for Hubstaff?

Hubstaff offers a free 14-day trial with no credit card required, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans excluding the free trial period.

Source
Teamwork: How much do I save with annual billing?

Annual subscriptions save 29% compared to monthly billing on paid plans. The Free plan is not affected.

Source
Hubstaff: How does Hubstaff billing work when adding team members mid-cycle?

For annual plans, Hubstaff prorates charges when adding seats mid-cycle. For monthly plans, full rates apply for new users with no prorating offered.

Source
Teamwork: Is there a free trial available?

Yes, 14-day free trials are available for Basics and Accelerate plans. No credit card is required.

Source
Hubstaff: Can Hubstaff plans be canceled anytime?

Plans can be canceled anytime by contacting support or archiving the associated organization. Users removed from monthly plans do not receive prorated refunds.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads