Softwr

Communication · head to head

Loom vs Mattermost

Loom logo

Loom

Communication

Record instantly, share anywhere

From
Free
Rated
-
Mattermost logo

Mattermost

Communication

Channel-centric collaboration for secure workflows

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Loom has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Loom starter plan limited to 25 videos per person; Mattermost no published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Loom and Mattermost actually diverge.

Attributes where Loom and Mattermost differ
AttributeLoomMattermost
Starting priceFreeOn request
Pricing modelfreemiumquote
Free tierYesNo
Founded2015Unknown

Identical on both: platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Communication).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Loom

  • Screen & camera recording
  • Instant sharing
  • Video editing
  • Viewer analytics
  • Comments & reactions
  • Transcription
  • Custom CTAs
  • Drawing tools

Only in Mattermost

Nothing recorded that Loom does not also cover.

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Loom

  • Asynchronous video communication and screen recordingnot Mattermost
  • Product demonstrations and tutorialsnot Mattermost
  • Meeting transcription and documentationnot Mattermost
  • Team communication and knowledge sharingnot Mattermost

Mattermost

  • Team messaging and collaborationnot Loom
  • Secure enterprise communicationnot Loom
  • On-premise or self-hosted deploymentnot Loom

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Loom

  • Starter plan limited to 25 videos per person
  • Starter plan limited to 5 minute recordings
  • Enterprise plan pricing not publicly available, requires sales contact
  • Per-user billing for Business plans may increase costs with team growth

Mattermost

  • No published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
  • Three tiers (Professional, Enterprise, Enterprise Advanced) have feature differences but no cost transparency
  • User scaling caps differ between tiers without public price justification

Pricing, plan by plan

Loom

Free
  • StarterFree
    • Up to 50 members
    • 25 videos per person
    • 5 minute screen recordings
  • Business$18/month
    • Unlimited videos
    • Unlimited recording time
    • 4K quality
  • Business + AI$24/month
    • Auto-video enhancement
    • Video-to-text automation
    • Auto-meeting recap emails

Mattermost

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Mattermost review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Loom if

  • You need screen & camera recording.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want instant sharing.

Choose Mattermost if

Nothing in the data separates Mattermost from Loom on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is Loom or Mattermost better?
Neither clearly leads. Loom starts at Free and Mattermost at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Loom or Mattermost?
Loom has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Loom and On request for Mattermost.
Does Loom or Mattermost run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Loom for free?
Yes. Loom has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Mattermost starts at On request.
What is Loom best used for?
Loom is most often used for asynchronous video communication and screen recording, product demonstrations and tutorials, meeting transcription and documentation, team communication and knowledge sharing. Of those, asynchronous video communication and screen recording and product demonstrations and tutorials are not what Mattermost is typically brought in for.
What can Loom do that Mattermost cannot?
Loom covers Screen & camera recording, Instant sharing, Video editing, Viewer analytics.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Loom: How much does Loom cost?

Loom offers a free Starter plan at no cost. Paid plans begin at $18 per user per month for Business, or $24 per user per month for Business + AI. Annual billing provides a 17% discount. Enterprise pricing is custom and requires contacting sales.

Source
Mattermost: What user limits apply to each Mattermost pricing tier?

Professional tier supports maximum 250 users. Enterprise scales to 50,000 concurrent users. Enterprise Advanced scales to 200,000 concurrent users. Exact per-user costs not stated.

Source
Loom: What are the limitations of Loom's free plan?

The free Starter plan includes up to 50 members, 25 videos per person with 5 minute maximum screen recordings, and basic features like comments and emoji reactions.

Source
Mattermost: What support response times are included with each plan?

Professional includes community support plus business hours professional support with next business day response. Enterprise includes 24x7 support with 4-hour response time. Enterprise Advanced includes 24x7 with Premier Support option.

Source
Loom: What does Loom AI add compared to the standard Business plan?

Business + AI adds $6 per month to the Business plan and includes auto-video enhancement, video-to-text automation, auto-meeting recap emails, and auto-meeting notes.

Source
Mattermost: How much does Mattermost cost for teams under 250 users?

Pricing for Professional tier with user counts under 250 is not disclosed publicly. Contact Mattermost sales for specific quotes.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads