Softwr

Communication · head to head

Grasshopper vs Mattermost

Grasshopper logo

Grasshopper

Communication

The entrepreneur's phone system

From
$14/month
Rated
-
Mattermost logo

Mattermost

Communication

Channel-centric collaboration for secure workflows

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Grasshopper available only in the USA and Canada; the site returns a not available in your region error outside those countries; Mattermost no published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Grasshopper and Mattermost actually diverge.

Attributes where Grasshopper and Mattermost differ
AttributeGrasshopperMattermost
Starting price$14/monthOn request
Pricing modelsubscriptionquote

Identical on both: free tier (No), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Communication).

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Grasshopper

  • Mobile app development and programming educationnot Mattermost

Mattermost

  • Team messaging and collaborationnot Grasshopper
  • Secure enterprise communicationnot Grasshopper
  • On-premise or self-hosted deploymentnot Grasshopper

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Grasshopper

  • Available only in the USA and Canada; the site returns a not available in your region error outside those countries
  • Plans start at $14/month only under a promotional discount of up to $75 off select plans, meaning the advertised entry price is not the standing rate

Mattermost

  • No published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
  • Three tiers (Professional, Enterprise, Enterprise Advanced) have feature differences but no cost transparency
  • User scaling caps differ between tiers without public price justification

Pricing, plan by plan

Grasshopper

$14/month

No published plan breakdown. See the Grasshopper review.

Mattermost

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Mattermost review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Grasshopper if

Nothing in the data separates Grasshopper from Mattermost on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Choose Mattermost if

Nothing in the data separates Mattermost from Grasshopper on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is Grasshopper or Mattermost better?
Neither clearly leads. Grasshopper starts at $14/month and Mattermost at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Grasshopper or Mattermost?
Grasshopper starts at $14/month and Mattermost at On request.
Does Grasshopper or Mattermost run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
What is Grasshopper best used for?
Grasshopper is most often used for mobile app development and programming education. Of those, mobile app development and programming education is not what Mattermost is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Grasshopper: How much does Grasshopper cost?

Grasshopper pricing starts at $14/month. The site does not disclose complete pricing details or feature breakdowns for different tiers.

Source
Mattermost: What user limits apply to each Mattermost pricing tier?

Professional tier supports maximum 250 users. Enterprise scales to 50,000 concurrent users. Enterprise Advanced scales to 200,000 concurrent users. Exact per-user costs not stated.

Source
Grasshopper: Is Grasshopper available outside the USA and Canada?

Grasshopper currently operates only in the USA and Canada, with regional availability restrictions mentioned on the pricing page.

Source
Mattermost: What support response times are included with each plan?

Professional includes community support plus business hours professional support with next business day response. Enterprise includes 24x7 support with 4-hour response time. Enterprise Advanced includes 24x7 with Premier Support option.

Source
Mattermost: How much does Mattermost cost for teams under 250 users?

Pricing for Professional tier with user counts under 250 is not disclosed publicly. Contact Mattermost sales for specific quotes.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads