Communication · head to head
Mattermost vs Rocket.Chat

Mattermost
Communication
Channel-centric collaboration for secure workflows
- From
- On request
- Rated
- -

Rocket.Chat
Communication
Deployment flexibility and compliance across regulatory frameworks
- From
- On request
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Mattermost no published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers; Rocket.Chat all enterprise plan tiers use custom quote-based pricing
- Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Mattermost and Rocket.Chat actually diverge.
| Attribute | Mattermost | Rocket.Chat |
|---|
Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (quote), free tier (No), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Communication).
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Mattermost
- Team messaging and collaborationnot Rocket.Chat
- Secure enterprise communicationnot Rocket.Chat
- On-premise or self-hosted deploymentnot Rocket.Chat
Rocket.Chat
- Deploying HIPAA-compliant messaging for healthcare team communicationnot Mattermost
- Meeting data sovereignty requirements for government and defense agenciesnot Mattermost
- Federating secure channels with external partners without shared infrastructurenot Mattermost
- Maintaining FINRA and MiFID II compliance for financial servicesnot Mattermost
- Supporting classified network communications in air-gapped environmentsnot Mattermost
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Mattermost
- No published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
- Three tiers (Professional, Enterprise, Enterprise Advanced) have feature differences but no cost transparency
- User scaling caps differ between tiers without public price justification
Rocket.Chat
- All enterprise plan tiers use custom quote-based pricing
- No published pricing for Commercial, Government, or Defense tiers
- Starter plan link provided but pricing details not included on pricing page
Pricing, plan by plan
Mattermost
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the Mattermost review.
Rocket.Chat
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the Rocket.Chat review.
Which should you pick?
Choose Mattermost if
Nothing in the data separates Mattermost from Rocket.Chat on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.
Choose Rocket.Chat if
Nothing in the data separates Rocket.Chat from Mattermost on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.
Questions people ask
- Is Mattermost or Rocket.Chat better?
- Neither clearly leads. Mattermost starts at On request and Rocket.Chat at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Mattermost or Rocket.Chat?
- Mattermost starts at On request and Rocket.Chat at On request.
- Does Mattermost or Rocket.Chat run on more platforms?
- Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
- What is Mattermost best used for?
- Mattermost is most often used for team messaging and collaboration, secure enterprise communication, on-premise or self-hosted deployment. Of those, team messaging and collaboration and secure enterprise communication are not what Rocket.Chat is typically brought in for.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Mattermost: What user limits apply to each Mattermost pricing tier?
Professional tier supports maximum 250 users. Enterprise scales to 50,000 concurrent users. Enterprise Advanced scales to 200,000 concurrent users. Exact per-user costs not stated.
SourceRocket.Chat: How much does Rocket.Chat cost?
Rocket.Chat does not publish pricing. Commercial, Government, and Defense plans require contacting sales for custom quotes. A Starter plan is available for technical evaluation and small businesses but pricing is not shown.
SourceMattermost: What support response times are included with each plan?
Professional includes community support plus business hours professional support with next business day response. Enterprise includes 24x7 support with 4-hour response time. Enterprise Advanced includes 24x7 with Premier Support option.
SourceRocket.Chat: What is the pricing model for Rocket.Chat?
Enterprise plans use a custom quote model. Pricing is determined based on deployment type, regulatory requirements, and specific organizational needs.
SourceMattermost: How much does Mattermost cost for teams under 250 users?
Pricing for Professional tier with user counts under 250 is not disclosed publicly. Contact Mattermost sales for specific quotes.
SourceRocket.Chat: Is there a free plan available?
A Starter plan is mentioned for technical evaluation and small businesses, but no pricing or feature details are published on the pricing page.
SourceRelated pages
More on Rocket.Chat
Other head to heads
- Mattermost vs Zoom
- Mattermost vs RingCentral Video
- Mattermost vs Loom
- Mattermost vs Microsoft Teams
- Mattermost vs Novu
- Mattermost vs Telegram
- Mattermost vs Webex by Cisco
- Mattermost vs LINE WORKS
- Mattermost vs Naver Works
- Mattermost vs Slack
- Mattermost vs KakaoTalk
- Mattermost vs Quo
- Mattermost vs Sessions
- Mattermost vs Signal
- Mattermost vs TeamViewer
- Mattermost vs WeChat
- Mattermost vs Courier
- Mattermost vs Kakao Work
- Mattermost vs Google Chat
- Mattermost vs Grasshopper
- Rocket.Chat vs Zoom
- Rocket.Chat vs RingCentral Video
- Rocket.Chat vs Loom
- Rocket.Chat vs Microsoft Teams
- Rocket.Chat vs Novu
- Rocket.Chat vs Telegram
- Rocket.Chat vs Webex by Cisco
- Rocket.Chat vs LINE WORKS
- Rocket.Chat vs Naver Works
- Rocket.Chat vs Slack
- Rocket.Chat vs KakaoTalk
- Rocket.Chat vs Quo
- Rocket.Chat vs Sessions
- Rocket.Chat vs Signal
- Rocket.Chat vs TeamViewer
- Rocket.Chat vs WeChat
- Rocket.Chat vs Courier
- Rocket.Chat vs Kakao Work
- Rocket.Chat vs Google Chat
- Rocket.Chat vs Grasshopper
