Softwr

Healthcare · head to head

eClinicalWorks vs ImproMed

eClinicalWorks logo

eClinicalWorks

Healthcare

Comprehensive EHR and practice management platform

From
On request
Rated
-
I

ImproMed

Veterinary

On-premise Windows practice management with deep inventory and financial reporting, now inside Covetrus

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: eClinicalWorks pricing details not disclosed on website; requires sales consultation or demo; ImproMed it is a server-based Windows product, so the practice owns the hardware, the SQL database, the patching and the backup regime, and those costs never appear in the software quotation.
  • They diverge on capability: eClinicalWorks covers Electronic Health Records, ImproMed covers Multi-location inventory.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which eClinicalWorks and ImproMed actually diverge.

Attributes where eClinicalWorks and ImproMed differ
AttributeeClinicalWorksImproMed
Pricing modelUnknownquote
PlatformsWeb, Cloud-basedWindows
CategoryHealthcareVeterinary
Founded1999Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in eClinicalWorks

  • Electronic Health Records
  • Practice Management
  • Revenue Cycle
  • Patient Portal
  • ePrescribing
  • Telehealth
  • HL7
  • FHIR

Only in ImproMed

  • Multi-location inventory
  • Production reporting
  • Wellness plans
  • Laboratory and imaging integration
  • On-premise deployment
  • Covetrus prescription management

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

eClinicalWorks

  • EHR and practice management for multi-specialty medical practicesnot ImproMed
  • Patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messagingnot ImproMed
  • Revenue cycle management with 98%+ first-pass acceptance ratenot ImproMed
  • AI-powered clinical documentation with Sunoh.ai medical scribenot ImproMed

ImproMed

  • A multi-doctor hospital carrying significant inventory value that needs reorder points and vendor price comparisonnot eClinicalWorks
  • A practice manager who has to analyse production by veterinary surgeon and reconcile it against the general ledgernot eClinicalWorks
  • A hospital in an area with unreliable internet that will not put the appointment book and records on a cloud connectionnot eClinicalWorks
  • A small group running wellness plans that need recurring billing and compliance tracking against patientsnot eClinicalWorks

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

eClinicalWorks

  • Pricing details not disclosed on website; requires sales consultation or demo
  • No published technical system requirements specified
  • Cloud-based solution requires reliable internet connectivity for clinics

ImproMed

  • It is a server-based Windows product, so the practice owns the hardware, the SQL database, the patching and the backup regime, and those costs never appear in the software quotation.
  • Covetrus markets Pulse as its strategic cloud platform while holding three legacy practice management systems, so ask directly what development ImproMed still receives and get the support commitment and end-of-life notice period in writing.
  • Remote and mobile access is weak compared with cloud systems, which matters for on-call work, home record review and multi-site groups sharing patients.
  • The interface is dense and dated, and training a new receptionist or technician on it takes materially longer than on a modern cloud system.
  • If Covetrus does steer customers to Pulse, the migration is a full data conversion with retraining, so the cost of the eventual move should be priced into the decision now rather than later.

Pricing, plan by plan

eClinicalWorks

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the eClinicalWorks review.

ImproMed

On request
  • ImproMed Infinity$undefined/year
    • Quoted per practice with a licence and an annual support agreement
    • Server hardware and database licensing are the responsibility of the practice
    • Data conversion and training charged separately

Which should you pick?

Choose eClinicalWorks if

  • You need electronic health records.
  • You work on Web, Cloud-based.
  • You also want practice management.

Choose ImproMed if

  • You need multi-location inventory.
  • You work on Windows.
  • You also want production reporting.

Questions people ask

Is eClinicalWorks or ImproMed better?
Neither clearly leads. eClinicalWorks starts at On request and ImproMed at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, eClinicalWorks or ImproMed?
eClinicalWorks starts at On request and ImproMed at On request.
Does eClinicalWorks or ImproMed run on more platforms?
eClinicalWorks runs on Web, Cloud-based. ImproMed runs on Windows.
What is eClinicalWorks best used for?
eClinicalWorks is most often used for ehr and practice management for multi-specialty medical practices, patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messaging, revenue cycle management with 98%+ first-pass acceptance rate, ai-powered clinical documentation with sunoh.ai medical scribe. Of those, ehr and practice management for multi-specialty medical practices and patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messaging are not what ImproMed is typically brought in for.
What can eClinicalWorks do that ImproMed cannot?
eClinicalWorks covers Electronic Health Records, Practice Management, Revenue Cycle, Patient Portal. ImproMed covers Multi-location inventory, Production reporting, Wellness plans, Laboratory and imaging integration.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

eClinicalWorks: What does eClinicalWorks EHR cost per provider?

eClinicalWorks EHR costs $449/month per provider with no startup costs. This includes the electronic medical record system, mobile access, patient portal, messaging, document management, prescribing, reporting, and 24/7 support with cloud hosting.

Source
ImproMed: Is ImproMed still being developed?

Ask Covetrus for a release history and a written support commitment. Pulse is the stated strategic cloud product, and ImproMed, AVImark and RxWorks are all legacy systems in the same portfolio.

eClinicalWorks: What is the cost of eClinicalWorks with Practice Management?

eClinicalWorks EHR with Practice Management costs $599/month per provider with no startup costs. This adds practice management functionality and billing implementation services.

Source
ImproMed: Can it run in the cloud?

It is designed for an on-premise server. Hosting it on a remote desktop service is possible but it is not a native cloud application and does not behave like one.

eClinicalWorks: What is eClinicalWorks' Revenue Cycle Management pricing?

eClinicalWorks RCM as a Service costs 2.9% of practice collections with no startup costs. It covers claim processing, denial management, appeals, and accounts receivable visibility.

Source
ImproMed: What is it better at than cloud alternatives?

Inventory control and financial and production reporting. Practices with high stock value and several veterinary surgeons are the ones that notice the difference.

eClinicalWorks: Is there a cost for data migration to eClinicalWorks?

No, eClinicalWorks offers free data migration for practices switching from other EHR systems.

Source
ImproMed: What happens to my data if we move to Pulse?

A conversion project. Establish before signing what Covetrus will convert, what it will not, and who pays for it.

eClinicalWorks: Are training costs included with eClinicalWorks?

Initial training is included for practices with 1-9 providers. Additional fees apply for larger practices.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads