Softwr

Healthcare · head to head

eClinicalWorks vs Kareo Clinical

eClinicalWorks logo

eClinicalWorks

Healthcare

Comprehensive EHR and practice management platform

From
On request
Rated
-
Kareo Clinical logo

Kareo Clinical

Healthcare

Specialized EHR and practice management for independent and small practices

From
$89/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: eClinicalWorks pricing details not disclosed on website; requires sales consultation or demo; Kareo Clinical kareo is now part of Tebra and sold under the Tebra brand rather than as a standalone product
  • They diverge on capability: eClinicalWorks covers Practice Management, Kareo Clinical covers Scheduling.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which eClinicalWorks and Kareo Clinical actually diverge.

Attributes where eClinicalWorks and Kareo Clinical differ
AttributeeClinicalWorksKareo Clinical
Starting priceOn request$89/month
Pricing modelUnknownsubscription
PlatformsWeb, Cloud-basedWeb, Mobile
Founded19992010

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Healthcare).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in eClinicalWorks

  • Practice Management
  • Revenue Cycle
  • Telehealth
  • HL7
  • FHIR
  • HITRUST

Only in Kareo Clinical

  • Scheduling
  • Medical Billing
  • Analytics
  • Clearinghouses

Both cover

  • Electronic Health Records
  • Patient Portal
  • ePrescribing
  • Labs
  • Pharmacies
  • HIPAA
  • SOC2
  • Cloud deployment
  • Web support
  • Mobile support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

eClinicalWorks

  • EHR and practice management for multi-specialty medical practicesnot Kareo Clinical
  • Patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messagingnot Kareo Clinical
  • Revenue cycle management with 98%+ first-pass acceptance ratenot Kareo Clinical
  • AI-powered clinical documentation with Sunoh.ai medical scribenot Kareo Clinical

Kareo Clinical

  • Practice management, scheduling and billing for independent medical practicesnot eClinicalWorks
  • Electronic health records and e-prescribing for small clinicsnot eClinicalWorks
  • Insurance claim submission and patient payment collectionnot eClinicalWorks

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

eClinicalWorks

  • Pricing details not disclosed on website; requires sales consultation or demo
  • No published technical system requirements specified
  • Cloud-based solution requires reliable internet connectivity for clinics

Kareo Clinical

  • Kareo is now part of Tebra and sold under the Tebra brand rather than as a standalone product
  • Tebra publishes no rate: pricing varies with provider count, features and implementation requirements and is quoted during a demo
  • Billing counts clinical providers such as MDs, DOs, NPs and PAs, so adding a prescriber raises the bill even though non clinical staff are free
  • Electronic prescribing of controlled substances setup costs about $75 per provider as a one time fee
  • PDMP integration costs $500 one time per facility plus about $50 per user per year

Pricing, plan by plan

eClinicalWorks

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the eClinicalWorks review.

Kareo Clinical

$89/month
  • Clinical Starter$89/month
    • EHR
    • Scheduling
    • Patient Portal
  • Clinical Plus$189/month
    • Everything in Starter
    • Billing
    • Analytics

Which should you pick?

Choose eClinicalWorks if

  • You need practice management.
  • You work on Web, Cloud-based.
  • You also want revenue cycle.

Choose Kareo Clinical if

  • You need scheduling.
  • You work on Web, Mobile.
  • You also want medical billing.

Questions people ask

Is eClinicalWorks or Kareo Clinical better?
Neither clearly leads. eClinicalWorks starts at On request and Kareo Clinical at $89/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, eClinicalWorks or Kareo Clinical?
eClinicalWorks starts at On request and Kareo Clinical at $89/month.
Does eClinicalWorks or Kareo Clinical run on more platforms?
eClinicalWorks runs on Web, Cloud-based. Kareo Clinical runs on Web, Mobile.
What is eClinicalWorks best used for?
eClinicalWorks is most often used for ehr and practice management for multi-specialty medical practices, patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messaging, revenue cycle management with 98%+ first-pass acceptance rate, ai-powered clinical documentation with sunoh.ai medical scribe. Of those, ehr and practice management for multi-specialty medical practices and patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messaging are not what Kareo Clinical is typically brought in for.
What can eClinicalWorks do that Kareo Clinical cannot?
eClinicalWorks covers Practice Management, Revenue Cycle, Telehealth, HL7. Kareo Clinical covers Scheduling, Medical Billing, Analytics, Clearinghouses. Both handle Electronic Health Records, Patient Portal, ePrescribing, Labs.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

eClinicalWorks: What does eClinicalWorks EHR cost per provider?

eClinicalWorks EHR costs $449/month per provider with no startup costs. This includes the electronic medical record system, mobile access, patient portal, messaging, document management, prescribing, reporting, and 24/7 support with cloud hosting.

Source
Kareo Clinical: How much does Kareo Clinical (now Tebra) cost?

Kareo Clinical pricing is not published publicly. Pricing is based on the number of clinical providers in your practice, not seat licenses. Setup includes optional EPCS at $75/provider and PDMP Integration at $500 one-time per facility plus $50/user/year.

Source
eClinicalWorks: What is the cost of eClinicalWorks with Practice Management?

eClinicalWorks EHR with Practice Management costs $599/month per provider with no startup costs. This adds practice management functionality and billing implementation services.

Source
Kareo Clinical: Does Tebra charge for front desk staff and medical assistants?

No. Tebra provides unlimited non-clinical staff access at no extra cost. Front desk staff, medical assistants, billers, and office admins can all access scheduling, charting, and claims modules without increasing billing.

Source
eClinicalWorks: What is eClinicalWorks' Revenue Cycle Management pricing?

eClinicalWorks RCM as a Service costs 2.9% of practice collections with no startup costs. It covers claim processing, denial management, appeals, and accounts receivable visibility.

Source
Kareo Clinical: Are there reduced rates for low-volume practices on Tebra?

Yes. Practices with providers billing under 100 claims monthly receive lower-tier pricing for those low-volume providers.

Source
eClinicalWorks: Is there a cost for data migration to eClinicalWorks?

No, eClinicalWorks offers free data migration for practices switching from other EHR systems.

Source
eClinicalWorks: Are training costs included with eClinicalWorks?

Initial training is included for practices with 1-9 providers. Additional fees apply for larger practices.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads