Healthcare · head to head
eClinicalWorks vs Practice Fusion

eClinicalWorks
Healthcare
Comprehensive EHR and practice management platform
- From
- On request
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Practice Fusion has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: eClinicalWorks pricing details not disclosed on website; requires sales consultation or demo; Practice Fusion cloud-based architecture requires constant internet connectivity
- They diverge on capability: eClinicalWorks covers Practice Management, Practice Fusion covers e-Prescribing.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which eClinicalWorks and Practice Fusion actually diverge.
| Attribute | eClinicalWorks | Practice Fusion |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | On request | Free |
| Pricing model | Unknown | subscription |
| Free tier | No | Yes |
| Platforms | Web, Cloud-based | Web, iOS, Android |
| Founded | 1999 | 2005 |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Healthcare).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in eClinicalWorks
- Practice Management
- Revenue Cycle
- ePrescribing
- Telehealth
- HL7
- FHIR
- HITRUST
- SOC2
Only in Practice Fusion
- e-Prescribing
- Lab Orders
- Scheduling
- Imaging Centers
- ONC Certified
Both cover
- Electronic Health Records
- Patient Portal
- Labs
- Pharmacies
- HIPAA
- Cloud deployment
- Web support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
eClinicalWorks
- EHR and practice management for multi-specialty medical practicesnot Practice Fusion
- Patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messagingnot Practice Fusion
- Revenue cycle management with 98%+ first-pass acceptance ratenot Practice Fusion
- AI-powered clinical documentation with Sunoh.ai medical scribenot Practice Fusion
Practice Fusion
- Small to medium medical practicesnot eClinicalWorks
- Primary care clinicsnot eClinicalWorks
- Independent clinicians needing electronic chartingnot eClinicalWorks
- Practice management and billing workflowsnot eClinicalWorks
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
eClinicalWorks
- Pricing details not disclosed on website; requires sales consultation or demo
- No published technical system requirements specified
- Cloud-based solution requires reliable internet connectivity for clinics
Practice Fusion
- Cloud-based architecture requires constant internet connectivity
- Requires annual commitment for pricing
Pricing, plan by plan
eClinicalWorks
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the eClinicalWorks review.
Practice Fusion
Free- Standard$199/month
- Provider license with e-prescribing and chart signing
- 3 signing staff licenses included
- Unlimited non-signing staff licenses
Which should you pick?
Choose eClinicalWorks if
- You need practice management.
- You work on Web, Cloud-based.
- You also want revenue cycle.
Choose Practice Fusion if
- You need e-prescribing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, iOS, Android.
- You also want lab orders.
Questions people ask
- Is eClinicalWorks or Practice Fusion better?
- Neither clearly leads. eClinicalWorks starts at On request and Practice Fusion at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, eClinicalWorks or Practice Fusion?
- Practice Fusion has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for eClinicalWorks and Free for Practice Fusion.
- Does eClinicalWorks or Practice Fusion run on more platforms?
- eClinicalWorks runs on Web, Cloud-based. Practice Fusion runs on Web, iOS, Android.
- Can I use Practice Fusion for free?
- Yes. Practice Fusion has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. eClinicalWorks starts at On request.
- What is eClinicalWorks best used for?
- eClinicalWorks is most often used for ehr and practice management for multi-specialty medical practices, patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messaging, revenue cycle management with 98%+ first-pass acceptance rate, ai-powered clinical documentation with sunoh.ai medical scribe. Of those, ehr and practice management for multi-specialty medical practices and patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messaging are not what Practice Fusion is typically brought in for.
- What can eClinicalWorks do that Practice Fusion cannot?
- eClinicalWorks covers Practice Management, Revenue Cycle, ePrescribing, Telehealth. Practice Fusion covers e-Prescribing, Lab Orders, Scheduling, Imaging Centers. Both handle Electronic Health Records, Patient Portal, Labs, Pharmacies.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
eClinicalWorks: What does eClinicalWorks EHR cost per provider?
eClinicalWorks EHR costs $449/month per provider with no startup costs. This includes the electronic medical record system, mobile access, patient portal, messaging, document management, prescribing, reporting, and 24/7 support with cloud hosting.
SourcePractice Fusion: How much does Practice Fusion cost?
Practice Fusion starts at $199 per month per provider with an annual commitment required. The pricing includes 3 signing staff licenses and unlimited non-signing staff licenses.
SourceeClinicalWorks: What is the cost of eClinicalWorks with Practice Management?
eClinicalWorks EHR with Practice Management costs $599/month per provider with no startup costs. This adds practice management functionality and billing implementation services.
SourcePractice Fusion: Does Practice Fusion offer a free trial?
Yes, Practice Fusion offers a complimentary 2-week trial with no commitment, no upfront costs, and no credit card required.
SourceeClinicalWorks: What is eClinicalWorks' Revenue Cycle Management pricing?
eClinicalWorks RCM as a Service costs 2.9% of practice collections with no startup costs. It covers claim processing, denial management, appeals, and accounts receivable visibility.
SourceeClinicalWorks: Is there a cost for data migration to eClinicalWorks?
No, eClinicalWorks offers free data migration for practices switching from other EHR systems.
SourceeClinicalWorks: Are training costs included with eClinicalWorks?
Initial training is included for practices with 1-9 providers. Additional fees apply for larger practices.
SourceRelated pages
More on eClinicalWorks
More on Practice Fusion
Other head to heads
- eClinicalWorks vs Epic Systems
- eClinicalWorks vs Cerner
- eClinicalWorks vs Athenahealth
- eClinicalWorks vs Amwell
- eClinicalWorks vs DrChrono
- eClinicalWorks vs Kareo Clinical
- eClinicalWorks vs WebPT
- eClinicalWorks vs Allscripts TouchWorks
- eClinicalWorks vs ChiroTouch
- eClinicalWorks vs Dentrix
- eClinicalWorks vs NextGen Healthcare
- eClinicalWorks vs Halaxy
- eClinicalWorks vs Healthgrades
- eClinicalWorks vs Healthie
- eClinicalWorks vs Hinge Health
- eClinicalWorks vs MDLive
- eClinicalWorks vs Meditech
- eClinicalWorks vs Philips IntelliSpace PACS
- eClinicalWorks vs PioneerRx
- eClinicalWorks vs Rad AI
- eClinicalWorks vs Aidoc
- eClinicalWorks vs Annalise.ai
- eClinicalWorks vs Rx30
- Practice Fusion vs Epic Systems
- Practice Fusion vs Cerner
- Practice Fusion vs Athenahealth
- Practice Fusion vs Amwell
- Practice Fusion vs DrChrono
- Practice Fusion vs Kareo Clinical
- Practice Fusion vs WebPT
- Practice Fusion vs Allscripts TouchWorks
- Practice Fusion vs ChiroTouch
- Practice Fusion vs Dentrix
- Practice Fusion vs NextGen Healthcare
- Practice Fusion vs Halaxy
- Practice Fusion vs Healthgrades
- Practice Fusion vs Healthie
- Practice Fusion vs Hinge Health
- Practice Fusion vs MDLive
- Practice Fusion vs Meditech
- Practice Fusion vs Philips IntelliSpace PACS
- Practice Fusion vs PioneerRx
- Practice Fusion vs Rad AI
- Practice Fusion vs Aidoc
- Practice Fusion vs Annalise.ai
- Practice Fusion vs Rx30

