Telecommunications · head to head
Dialpad vs Intercom
The short version
- Only Intercom has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Dialpad pricing details not publicly disclosed; requires contacting sales; Intercom pricing is high and unpredictable with confusing per-seat, per-feature, and usage-based structure that makes cost estimation difficult
- They diverge on capability: Dialpad covers Voice calls, Intercom covers AI-powered inbox.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Dialpad and Intercom actually diverge.
Identical on both: pricing model (Unknown), user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Dialpad
- Voice calls
- Video meeting
- Chat
- Analytics
- Call recording
- Microsoft 365
- Zapier
- Web support
Only in Intercom
- AI-powered inbox
- Live chat
- Chatbots
- Help center
- Product tours
- Customer data platform
- Automation
- Mobile SDKs
Both cover
- Slack
- Salesforce
- HubSpot
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Dialpad
- Customer service with AI voice and chat agentsnot Intercom
- Autonomous contact centre operations with handoff to humansnot Intercom
- Multi-channel communication (voice, chat, SMS, email)not Intercom
- HIPAA-compliant healthcare communicationnot Intercom
Intercom
- Customer supportnot Dialpad
- Lead generationnot Dialpad
- User onboardingnot Dialpad
- Product adoptionnot Dialpad
- Customer engagementnot Dialpad
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Dialpad
- Pricing details not publicly disclosed; requires contacting sales
- AI Agent pricing uses credit-based model with pay-per-value structure
- Specific pricing tiers and feature comparisons not available on public website
Intercom
- Pricing is high and unpredictable with confusing per-seat, per-feature, and usage-based structure that makes cost estimation difficult
- API rate limited to 1,000 calls per minute, which may constrain integrations for high-volume data users
- Does not support multiple language versions of knowledge base articles, requiring creation of duplicate articles for each language
Pricing, plan by plan
Dialpad
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the Dialpad review.
Intercom
Free- Essential$29/month
- Fin AI Agent
- Messenger
- Shared inbox
- Advanced$85/month
- Multiple team inboxes
- Workflow automation
- Round robin assignment
- Expert$132/month
- SSO
- HIPAA support
- SLAs
Which should you pick?
Choose Dialpad if
- You need voice calls.
- You work on Web, Mobile.
- You also want video meeting.
Choose Intercom if
- You need ai-powered inbox.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, iOS, Android.
- You also want live chat.
Questions people ask
- Is Dialpad or Intercom better?
- Neither clearly leads. Dialpad starts at On request and Intercom at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Dialpad or Intercom?
- Intercom has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Dialpad and Free for Intercom.
- Does Dialpad or Intercom run on more platforms?
- Dialpad runs on Web, Mobile. Intercom runs on Web, iOS, Android.
- Can I use Intercom for free?
- Yes. Intercom has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Dialpad starts at On request.
- What is Dialpad best used for?
- Dialpad is most often used for customer service with ai voice and chat agents, autonomous contact centre operations with handoff to humans, multi-channel communication (voice, chat, sms, email), hipaa-compliant healthcare communication. Of those, customer service with ai voice and chat agents and autonomous contact centre operations with handoff to humans are not what Intercom is typically brought in for.
- What can Dialpad do that Intercom cannot?
- Dialpad covers Voice calls, Video meeting, Chat, Analytics. Intercom covers AI-powered inbox, Live chat, Chatbots, Help center. Both handle Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Dialpad: How much does Dialpad cost?
Dialpad uses conversation-based pricing where customers purchase a pool of AI Agent Credits. Billing occurs only when AI delivers value by retrieving information or executing actions. Exact pricing is not published online and requires contacting sales.
SourceIntercom: Is there a free tier and what are the limitations?
Intercom offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required and access to all features and add-ons. After trial, Essential plan starts at $29/seat/month. Free Lite seats are available on paid plans: 20 with Advanced, 50 with Expert.
SourceDialpad: What is Dialpad's AI Agent pricing model?
Dialpad AI Agents are priced per conversation using a credit system. Credits are used only when the AI retrieves information or executes actions like scheduling, routing, or order lookup.
SourceIntercom: Does Intercom support single sign-on (SSO)?
Yes, Intercom supports SAML SSO with identity provider integration, but it is only available on the Expert plan ($132+/seat/month). SSO also works with Intercom's mobile apps on iOS and Android.
SourceIntercom: Can I export my data from Intercom?
Yes. You can export conversations in CSV format via the Data Export feature in Reports, apply filters to refine exports, and use the REST API to programmatically access conversation and customer data.
SourceIntercom: What would a team of 10 cost on Intercom?
Minimum cost would be $290/month for 10 Essential seats at $29/seat/month. Advanced plan costs $850/month for 10 seats. Prices increase with additional add-ons like Fin AI ($0.99 per resolution), SMS, WhatsApp, or email campaigns.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Dialpad vs Aircall
- Dialpad vs NICE CXone
- Dialpad vs Five9
- Dialpad vs Talkdesk
- Dialpad vs MyOperator
- Dialpad vs RingCentral
- Dialpad vs 8x8
- Dialpad vs Whereby
- Dialpad vs Plivo
- Dialpad vs Telesign
- Dialpad vs Twilio
- Dialpad vs Genesys Cloud
- Dialpad vs Exotel
- Dialpad vs Knowlarity
- Dialpad vs OneSignal
- Dialpad vs Ozonetel
- Dialpad vs Drift
- Dialpad vs Userpilot
- Dialpad vs Height
- Dialpad vs Linear
- Dialpad vs Attio
- Dialpad vs Superhuman
- Dialpad vs Productboard
- Dialpad vs Mozilla Firefox
- Dialpad vs Okta
- Dialpad vs Segment
- Dialpad vs Supabase
- Dialpad vs Safari
- Dialpad vs Nagios XI
- Dialpad vs Postgres
- Dialpad vs Shortcut
- Dialpad vs Site24x7
- Dialpad vs StatusCake
- Dialpad vs Storybook
- Intercom vs Aircall
- Intercom vs NICE CXone
- Intercom vs Five9
- Intercom vs Talkdesk
- Intercom vs MyOperator
- Intercom vs RingCentral
- Intercom vs 8x8
- Intercom vs Whereby
- Intercom vs Plivo
- Intercom vs Telesign
- Intercom vs Twilio
- Intercom vs Genesys Cloud
- Intercom vs Exotel
- Intercom vs Knowlarity
- Intercom vs OneSignal
- Intercom vs Ozonetel
- Intercom vs Drift
- Intercom vs Userpilot
- Intercom vs Height
- Intercom vs Linear
- Intercom vs Attio
- Intercom vs Superhuman
- Intercom vs Productboard
- Intercom vs Mozilla Firefox
- Intercom vs Okta
- Intercom vs Segment
- Intercom vs Supabase
- Intercom vs Safari
- Intercom vs Nagios XI
- Intercom vs Postgres
- Intercom vs Shortcut
- Intercom vs Site24x7
- Intercom vs StatusCake
- Intercom vs Storybook


