Professional Services · head to head
BigTime vs Guru

BigTime
Professional Services
The all-in-one solution for growing, single-entity firms
- From
- $20/user/month
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Guru has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: BigTime advanced and Premier pricing not specified; requires contacting sales; Guru higher tiers all include 600 bids; no bid increases from Business to Executive
- Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which BigTime and Guru actually diverge.
Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Professional Services).
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
BigTime
- Professional services time trackingnot Guru
- Project-based billingnot Guru
- Multi-team resource managementnot Guru
Guru
- Connecting freelancers with employers for competitive project biddingnot BigTime
- Managing multiple contractors as a distributed freelance businessnot BigTime
- Standing out in competitive freelance bidding with premium quotesnot BigTime
- Managing monthly bid limits for active freelancersnot BigTime
- Improving profile ranking in freelancer search resultsnot BigTime
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
BigTime
- Advanced and Premier pricing not specified; requires contacting sales
- Specific feature costs for optional modules not disclosed
Guru
- Higher tiers all include 600 bids; no bid increases from Business to Executive
- Membership purchases are non-refundable
- No free trial period before commitment
Pricing, plan by plan
BigTime
$20/user/month- Essentials$20/user/month
- Time tracking
- Invoicing
- Expense management
- Advanced$null/user/month
- Multi-currency expense management
- Custom reporting center
- Project templates
- Premier$null/user/month
- Multi-currency invoicing
- Custom cost and rate management
- Project budgeting
- Enterprise$null/month
- Custom pricing
- Multi-entity, multi-currency
- Optional modules for Services CPQ and Resource Management
Guru
Free- FreeFree
- 120 bids annually
- 9% job fee
- No premium features
- Basic+$11.95/month
- 120 bids annually
- 9% job fee
- Annual: $8.95/month
- Professional$21.95/month
- 600 bids annually
- 7% job fee
- Premium quotes
- Business$33.95/month
- 600 bids annually
- 6% job fee
- All Professional features
Which should you pick?
Choose BigTime if
Nothing in the data separates BigTime from Guru on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.
Questions people ask
- Is BigTime or Guru better?
- Neither clearly leads. BigTime starts at $20/user/month and Guru at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, BigTime or Guru?
- Guru has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $20/user/month for BigTime and Free for Guru.
- Does BigTime or Guru run on more platforms?
- Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
- Can I use Guru for free?
- Yes. Guru has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. BigTime starts at $20/user/month.
- What is BigTime best used for?
- BigTime is most often used for professional services time tracking, project-based billing, multi-team resource management. Of those, professional services time tracking and project-based billing are not what Guru is typically brought in for.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
BigTime: What is BigTime's starting price per user?
BigTime's Essentials plan starts at $20 per user per month and includes time tracking, invoicing, expense management, and payments.
SourceGuru: Is there a free Guru membership?
Yes, Guru offers a free tier with 120 annual bids and a 9% job fee on earnings.
SourceBigTime: What features are included in BigTime's Essentials tier?
Essentials includes time and expense tracking, project portfolio management, billing and invoicing, automatic reconciliation, QuickBooks integration, and AI Assistant.
SourceGuru: What is Guru's job fee structure?
Guru charges job fees that decrease with membership tier: Free 9%, Basic+ 9%, Professional 7%, Business 6%, Executive 5%.
SourceBigTime: What additional capabilities does the Premier plan add?
Premier adds multi-currency invoicing, custom cost and rate management, project budgeting, and multi-level approvals to all Advanced features.
SourceGuru: Does Guru offer annual billing discounts?
Yes. Annual plans offer up to 27% savings. For example, Professional is $15.95/month billed annually versus $21.95/month on a monthly plan.
SourceBigTime: What modules are available as add-ons in BigTime?
BigTime offers three optional modules: Services CPQ (BigTime Quotes), Resource Management, and Data Hub available for additional fees.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- BigTime vs Avaza
- BigTime vs Harvest
- BigTime vs Toggl Track
- BigTime vs Function Point
- BigTime vs PracticePanther
- BigTime vs Hiveage
- BigTime vs Bonsai
- BigTime vs FreshBooks
- BigTime vs Wave
- BigTime vs Accelo
- BigTime vs Certinia PSA
- BigTime vs TravelPerk
- BigTime vs Kantata
- BigTime vs Scoro
- BigTime vs Teamwork
- BigTime vs Netsuite OpenAir
- BigTime vs Plutio
- BigTime vs Freelancer.com
- BigTime vs Productive
- Guru vs Avaza
- Guru vs Harvest
- Guru vs Toggl Track
- Guru vs Function Point
- Guru vs PracticePanther
- Guru vs Hiveage
- Guru vs Bonsai
- Guru vs FreshBooks
- Guru vs Wave
- Guru vs Accelo
- Guru vs Certinia PSA
- Guru vs TravelPerk
- Guru vs Kantata
- Guru vs Scoro
- Guru vs Teamwork
- Guru vs Netsuite OpenAir
- Guru vs Plutio
- Guru vs Freelancer.com
- Guru vs Productive

