Softwr

Professional Services · head to head

BigTime vs Freelancer.com

BigTime logo

BigTime

Professional Services

The all-in-one solution for growing, single-entity firms

From
$20/user/month
Rated
-
Freelancer.com logo

Freelancer.com

Professional Services

Find the best freelancers for any job online

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Freelancer.com has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: BigTime advanced and Premier pricing not specified; requires contacting sales; Freelancer.com employers pay 3% or $3.00 USD minimum on fixed-price projects when awarding
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which BigTime and Freelancer.com actually diverge.

Attributes where BigTime and Freelancer.com differ
AttributeBigTimeFreelancer.com
Starting price$20/user/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptiontransaction
Free tierNoYes

Identical on both: platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Professional Services).

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

BigTime

  • Professional services time trackingnot Freelancer.com
  • Project-based billingnot Freelancer.com
  • Multi-team resource managementnot Freelancer.com

Freelancer.com

  • Posting projects and collecting competitive bids without upfront costnot BigTime
  • Engaging hourly contractors with flexible staffing and per-payment feesnot BigTime
  • Running design contests where employers only pay if satisfiednot BigTime
  • Securing work payments held by platform until contractor approvalnot BigTime
  • Identifying vetted freelancers through Verified by Freelancer badgesnot BigTime

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

BigTime

  • Advanced and Premier pricing not specified; requires contacting sales
  • Specific feature costs for optional modules not disclosed

Freelancer.com

  • Employers pay 3% or $3.00 USD minimum on fixed-price projects when awarding
  • Freelancers pay 10% or $5.00 USD minimum on fixed-price projects
  • Preferred Freelancer Program charges 15% on recruiter projects
  • Maintenance fee up to $14.00 per month for accounts inactive 6+ months
  • Withdrawal fees range from $1.00 to $25.00 depending on method

Pricing, plan by plan

BigTime

$20/user/month
  • Essentials$20/user/month
    • Time tracking
    • Invoicing
    • Expense management
  • Advanced$null/user/month
    • Multi-currency expense management
    • Custom reporting center
    • Project templates
  • Premier$null/user/month
    • Multi-currency invoicing
    • Custom cost and rate management
    • Project budgeting
  • Enterprise$null/month
    • Custom pricing
    • Multi-entity, multi-currency
    • Optional modules for Services CPQ and Resource Management

Freelancer.com

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Freelancer.com review.

Which should you pick?

Choose BigTime if

Nothing in the data separates BigTime from Freelancer.com on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Choose Freelancer.com if

  • You want to start without paying.

Questions people ask

Is BigTime or Freelancer.com better?
Neither clearly leads. BigTime starts at $20/user/month and Freelancer.com at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, BigTime or Freelancer.com?
Freelancer.com has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $20/user/month for BigTime and Free for Freelancer.com.
Does BigTime or Freelancer.com run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Freelancer.com for free?
Yes. Freelancer.com has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. BigTime starts at $20/user/month.
What is BigTime best used for?
BigTime is most often used for professional services time tracking, project-based billing, multi-team resource management. Of those, professional services time tracking and project-based billing are not what Freelancer.com is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

BigTime: What is BigTime's starting price per user?

BigTime's Essentials plan starts at $20 per user per month and includes time tracking, invoicing, expense management, and payments.

Source
Freelancer.com: What are Freelancer.com's fees?

Employers pay 3% or $3.00 USD (whichever is greater) when awarding fixed-price projects and 3% on hourly payments. Freelancers pay 10% or $5.00 USD minimum on fixed-price projects, 10% on hourly payments, and 10% or $5.00 USD on contest prizes. The Preferred Freelancer Program charges 15% on recruiter projects.

Source
BigTime: What features are included in BigTime's Essentials tier?

Essentials includes time and expense tracking, project portfolio management, billing and invoicing, automatic reconciliation, QuickBooks integration, and AI Assistant.

Source
Freelancer.com: What are the payment processing and withdrawal fees on Freelancer?

Payment processing fees are $0.30 USD plus 2.3% for credit card, PayPal, or Skrill. Withdrawal fees are $1.00 for PayPal/Skrill/Payoneer and $25.00 for international wire transfers.

Source
BigTime: What additional capabilities does the Premier plan add?

Premier adds multi-currency invoicing, custom cost and rate management, project budgeting, and multi-level approvals to all Advanced features.

Source
Freelancer.com: What optional upgrades are available for Freelancer projects?

Featured and Urgent upgrades cost $10.99 each, Private/NDA/IP Agreement upgrades cost $22.99 each, and Full Time projects cost $240.00. Projects also have a Verification Badge option at $99.00 (regular), $79.00 (Preferred), or $59.00 (Rising Stars).

Source
BigTime: What modules are available as add-ons in BigTime?

BigTime offers three optional modules: Services CPQ (BigTime Quotes), Resource Management, and Data Hub available for additional fees.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads