Professional Services · head to head
BigTime vs Hiveage

BigTime
Professional Services
The all-in-one solution for growing, single-entity firms
- From
- $20/user/month
- Rated
- -

Hiveage
Professional Services
Simple, all-in-one invoicing and billing software
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Hiveage has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: BigTime advanced and Premier pricing not specified; requires contacting sales; Hiveage free plan limited to 5 clients
- Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which BigTime and Hiveage actually diverge.
Identical on both: platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Professional Services).
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
BigTime
- Professional services time trackingnot Hiveage
- Project-based billingnot Hiveage
- Multi-team resource managementnot Hiveage
Hiveage
- Tracking when clients view and pay invoices remotelynot BigTime
- Managing unlimited recurring billing for subscription retainer servicesnot BigTime
- Creating and sending invoices immediately from job sitesnot BigTime
- Generating financial reports without spreadsheetsnot BigTime
- Coordinating team expenses and billable hours for agenciesnot BigTime
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
BigTime
- Advanced and Premier pricing not specified; requires contacting sales
- Specific feature costs for optional modules not disclosed
Hiveage
- Free plan limited to 5 clients
- Client limits increase with plan tier
- Custom plans for 1,000+ clients require direct contact
Pricing, plan by plan
BigTime
$20/user/month- Essentials$20/user/month
- Time tracking
- Invoicing
- Expense management
- Advanced$null/user/month
- Multi-currency expense management
- Custom reporting center
- Project templates
- Premier$null/user/month
- Multi-currency invoicing
- Custom cost and rate management
- Project budgeting
- Enterprise$null/month
- Custom pricing
- Multi-entity, multi-currency
- Optional modules for Services CPQ and Resource Management
Hiveage
Free- FreeFree
- 5 clients
- Unlimited invoices/estimates/time tracking/expenses
- Basic$16/month
- 50 clients
- Financial reports
- Pro$25/month
- 250 clients
- 5 team members
- Custom domain
- Plus$42/month
- 1,000 clients
- 10 team members
- API access
Which should you pick?
Choose BigTime if
Nothing in the data separates BigTime from Hiveage on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.
Questions people ask
- Is BigTime or Hiveage better?
- Neither clearly leads. BigTime starts at $20/user/month and Hiveage at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, BigTime or Hiveage?
- Hiveage has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $20/user/month for BigTime and Free for Hiveage.
- Does BigTime or Hiveage run on more platforms?
- Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
- Can I use Hiveage for free?
- Yes. Hiveage has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. BigTime starts at $20/user/month.
- What is BigTime best used for?
- BigTime is most often used for professional services time tracking, project-based billing, multi-team resource management. Of those, professional services time tracking and project-based billing are not what Hiveage is typically brought in for.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
BigTime: What is BigTime's starting price per user?
BigTime's Essentials plan starts at $20 per user per month and includes time tracking, invoicing, expense management, and payments.
SourceHiveage: Does Hiveage offer annual billing discounts?
Hiveage annual plans provide 17% savings compared to monthly billing. Yearly plan prices are lower than monthly equivalents across all tiers.
SourceBigTime: What features are included in BigTime's Essentials tier?
Essentials includes time and expense tracking, project portfolio management, billing and invoicing, automatic reconciliation, QuickBooks integration, and AI Assistant.
SourceHiveage: Can I cancel Hiveage anytime?
Yes, Hiveage users can switch between plans or cancel anytime without long-term contracts required.
SourceBigTime: What additional capabilities does the Premier plan add?
Premier adds multi-currency invoicing, custom cost and rate management, project budgeting, and multi-level approvals to all Advanced features.
SourceHiveage: Is there a trial for Hiveage?
Hiveage offers a 14-day free trial of the Pro plan with no credit card required.
SourceBigTime: What modules are available as add-ons in BigTime?
BigTime offers three optional modules: Services CPQ (BigTime Quotes), Resource Management, and Data Hub available for additional fees.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- BigTime vs Avaza
- BigTime vs Harvest
- BigTime vs Toggl Track
- BigTime vs Function Point
- BigTime vs PracticePanther
- BigTime vs Bonsai
- BigTime vs FreshBooks
- BigTime vs Wave
- BigTime vs Accelo
- BigTime vs Certinia PSA
- BigTime vs TravelPerk
- BigTime vs Kantata
- BigTime vs Scoro
- BigTime vs Teamwork
- BigTime vs Netsuite OpenAir
- BigTime vs Plutio
- BigTime vs Freelancer.com
- BigTime vs Guru
- BigTime vs Productive
- Hiveage vs Avaza
- Hiveage vs Harvest
- Hiveage vs Toggl Track
- Hiveage vs Function Point
- Hiveage vs PracticePanther
- Hiveage vs Bonsai
- Hiveage vs FreshBooks
- Hiveage vs Wave
- Hiveage vs Accelo
- Hiveage vs Certinia PSA
- Hiveage vs TravelPerk
- Hiveage vs Kantata
- Hiveage vs Scoro
- Hiveage vs Teamwork
- Hiveage vs Netsuite OpenAir
- Hiveage vs Plutio
- Hiveage vs Freelancer.com
- Hiveage vs Guru
- Hiveage vs Productive
