Softwr

Professional Services · head to head

BigTime vs PracticePanther

BigTime logo

BigTime

Professional Services

The all-in-one solution for growing, single-entity firms

From
$20/user/month
Rated
-
PracticePanther logo

PracticePanther

Professional Services

Legal practice management software for law firms

From
$49/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: BigTime advanced and Premier pricing not specified; requires contacting sales; PracticePanther trust accounting and operating accounting tools are reserved for the top Business Pro tier at $124/month per user, unavailable on the $59 Solo or $79 Essential plans, per practicepanther.com, August 2026
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which BigTime and PracticePanther actually diverge.

Attributes where BigTime and PracticePanther differ
AttributeBigTimePracticePanther
Starting price$20/user/month$49/month

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Professional Services).

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

BigTime

  • Professional services time trackingnot PracticePanther
  • Project-based billingnot PracticePanther
  • Multi-team resource managementnot PracticePanther

PracticePanther

  • Legal case management and client matter organizationnot BigTime
  • Time and expense tracking for billable hoursnot BigTime
  • Secure client communication via portals and textingnot BigTime
  • Practice automation and document generationnot BigTime
  • Trust and operating account reconciliationnot BigTime

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

BigTime

  • Advanced and Premier pricing not specified; requires contacting sales
  • Specific feature costs for optional modules not disclosed

PracticePanther

  • Trust accounting and operating accounting tools are reserved for the top Business Pro tier at $124/month per user, unavailable on the $59 Solo or $79 Essential plans, per practicepanther.com, August 2026

Pricing, plan by plan

BigTime

$20/user/month
  • Essentials$20/user/month
    • Time tracking
    • Invoicing
    • Expense management
  • Advanced$null/user/month
    • Multi-currency expense management
    • Custom reporting center
    • Project templates
  • Premier$null/user/month
    • Multi-currency invoicing
    • Custom cost and rate management
    • Project budgeting
  • Enterprise$null/month
    • Custom pricing
    • Multi-entity, multi-currency
    • Optional modules for Services CPQ and Resource Management

PracticePanther

$49/month
  • Solo$49/month
    • Contact management
    • Time tracking
    • Secure client portals
  • Solo$59/month
    • Contact management
    • Time tracking
    • Secure client portals
  • Essential$69/month
  • Essential$79/month

Which should you pick?

Choose BigTime if

Nothing in the data separates BigTime from PracticePanther on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Choose PracticePanther if

Nothing in the data separates PracticePanther from BigTime on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is BigTime or PracticePanther better?
Neither clearly leads. BigTime starts at $20/user/month and PracticePanther at $49/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, BigTime or PracticePanther?
BigTime starts at $20/user/month and PracticePanther at $49/month.
Does BigTime or PracticePanther run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
What is BigTime best used for?
BigTime is most often used for professional services time tracking, project-based billing, multi-team resource management. Of those, professional services time tracking and project-based billing are not what PracticePanther is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

BigTime: What is BigTime's starting price per user?

BigTime's Essentials plan starts at $20 per user per month and includes time tracking, invoicing, expense management, and payments.

Source
PracticePanther: Is there a free trial for Practice Panther?

Yes, Practice Panther offers a 7-day free trial requiring only an email address with no credit card needed.

Source
BigTime: What features are included in BigTime's Essentials tier?

Essentials includes time and expense tracking, project portfolio management, billing and invoicing, automatic reconciliation, QuickBooks integration, and AI Assistant.

Source
PracticePanther: How much do annual subscriptions cost compared to monthly billing?

Annual billing saves approximately $120 per user annually across all tiers when compared to monthly billing.

Source
BigTime: What additional capabilities does the Premier plan add?

Premier adds multi-currency invoicing, custom cost and rate management, project budgeting, and multi-level approvals to all Advanced features.

Source
PracticePanther: What is the cheapest Practice Panther plan?

The Solo plan is the most affordable option at $49 per month when billed annually, or $59 per month on a monthly subscription.

Source
BigTime: What modules are available as add-ons in BigTime?

BigTime offers three optional modules: Services CPQ (BigTime Quotes), Resource Management, and Data Hub available for additional fees.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads