Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

Apicbase vs Flipdish

Apicbase logo

Apicbase

Restaurants

F&B management for multi-unit operations

From
On request
Rated
-
Flipdish logo

Flipdish

Restaurants

Branded ordering websites, apps and self service kiosks for takeaways and restaurant groups in Europe

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; Flipdish most plans take a percentage of order value, so the cost rises with volume and a busy site can end up paying more than a flat fee competitor would charge.
  • They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Flipdish covers Branded ordering site and app.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Apicbase and Flipdish actually diverge.

Attributes where Apicbase and Flipdish differ
AttributeApicbaseFlipdish
Founded2017Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (quote), free tier (No), platforms (Web, Ios, Android), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Apicbase

  • Centralized recipes
  • Inventory management
  • Procurement
  • Food cost analytics
  • Menu engineering
  • HACCP
  • POS systems
  • Accounting software

Only in Flipdish

  • Branded ordering site and app
  • Self service kiosks
  • Marketing and loyalty
  • POS and printer integration
  • Driver and delivery tracking
  • Multi site and franchise controls

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Apicbase

  • Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot Flipdish
  • Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot Flipdish
  • Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot Flipdish
  • Purchasing and supplier price managementnot Flipdish
  • Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot Flipdish

Flipdish

  • An Irish or British takeaway trying to move repeat customers off Just Eat and onto its own appnot Apicbase
  • A franchise group that needs one ordering platform across several European countriesnot Apicbase
  • A quick service site adding kiosks to cut counter queues without changing its ordering stacknot Apicbase
  • An operator with its own drivers who needs dispatch and customer tracking without a fleet contractnot Apicbase

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Apicbase

  • No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
  • Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
  • Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
  • Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed

Flipdish

  • Most plans take a percentage of order value, so the cost rises with volume and a busy site can end up paying more than a flat fee competitor would charge.
  • Commission free refers to the marketplaces, not to Flipdish itself, and the wording in its marketing has caused genuine confusion at renewal time.
  • The company cut staff heavily after its 2021 peak valuation and narrowed its focus, so buyers outside Ireland, the United Kingdom and core European markets get less support and fewer local integrations.
  • Kiosks require hardware purchase and physical installation per site, a capital cost that sits outside the software quote and does not scale down for small premises.
  • You still fund the discounting and advertising that moves customers away from the marketplaces, and none of that appears in the platform cost comparison.

Pricing, plan by plan

Apicbase

On request
  • Growth$undefined/mo
    • Starting from 5 outlets
    • Up to 5,000 ingredients
    • Up to 1,000 recipes
  • Professional$undefined/mo
    • For established brands
    • Up to 10,000 ingredients
    • Up to 2,000 recipes
  • Enterprise$undefined/mo
    • For large-scale operators
    • Custom arrangements

Flipdish

On request
  • Flipdish$undefined/year
    • Most plans charge a percentage of order value processed through Flipdish channels
    • Kiosk hardware quoted separately per terminal
    • Setup, branding and app store submission billed at onboarding

Which should you pick?

Choose Apicbase if

  • You need centralized recipes.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose Flipdish if

  • You need branded ordering site and app.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want self service kiosks.

Questions people ask

Is Apicbase or Flipdish better?
Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and Flipdish at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Apicbase or Flipdish?
Apicbase starts at On request and Flipdish at On request.
Does Apicbase or Flipdish run on more platforms?
Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. Flipdish runs on Web, iOS, Android.
What is Apicbase best used for?
Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what Flipdish is typically brought in for.
What can Apicbase do that Flipdish cannot?
Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. Flipdish covers Branded ordering site and app, Self service kiosks, Marketing and loyalty, POS and printer integration.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?

Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.

Source
Flipdish: Is Flipdish actually commission free?

No. It charges much less than a delivery marketplace, but most plans take a percentage of the order value it processes. Ask for the rate at your order volume.

Apicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?

Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.

Source
Flipdish: Does it replace Just Eat or Deliveroo?

It provides a direct channel alongside them. Most venues keep the marketplaces for discovery and use Flipdish for repeat customers.

Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?

Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.

Source
Flipdish: Does it work with my point of sale?

It integrates with a number of systems and, where it does not, orders can be printed or worked on a tablet.

Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?

Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.

Source
Flipdish: Which countries is it strongest in?

Ireland and the United Kingdom, with meaningful coverage across continental Europe.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads