Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs Flipdish

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
Flipdish logo

Flipdish

Restaurants

Branded ordering websites, apps and self service kiosks for takeaways and restaurant groups in Europe

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; Flipdish most plans take a percentage of order value, so the cost rises with volume and a busy site can end up paying more than a flat fee competitor would charge.
  • They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Flipdish covers Branded ordering site and app.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and Flipdish actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and Flipdish differ
AttributeCAKE POSFlipdish
Starting price$69/monthOn request
Pricing modelsubscriptionquote
PlatformsIos, AndroidWeb, iOS, Android
Founded2010Unknown

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Online ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Reporting
  • Kitchen display
  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub

Only in Flipdish

  • Branded ordering site and app
  • Self service kiosks
  • Marketing and loyalty
  • POS and printer integration
  • Driver and delivery tracking
  • Multi site and franchise controls

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Salenot Flipdish
  • Order Managementnot Flipdish
  • Inventory Controlnot Flipdish
  • Staff Schedulingnot Flipdish

Flipdish

  • An Irish or British takeaway trying to move repeat customers off Just Eat and onto its own appnot CAKE POS
  • A franchise group that needs one ordering platform across several European countriesnot CAKE POS
  • A quick service site adding kiosks to cut counter queues without changing its ordering stacknot CAKE POS
  • An operator with its own drivers who needs dispatch and customer tracking without a fleet contractnot CAKE POS

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

Flipdish

  • Most plans take a percentage of order value, so the cost rises with volume and a busy site can end up paying more than a flat fee competitor would charge.
  • Commission free refers to the marketplaces, not to Flipdish itself, and the wording in its marketing has caused genuine confusion at renewal time.
  • The company cut staff heavily after its 2021 peak valuation and narrowed its focus, so buyers outside Ireland, the United Kingdom and core European markets get less support and fewer local integrations.
  • Kiosks require hardware purchase and physical installation per site, a capital cost that sits outside the software quote and does not scale down for small premises.
  • You still fund the discounting and advertising that moves customers away from the marketplaces, and none of that appears in the platform cost comparison.

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

Flipdish

On request
  • Flipdish$undefined/year
    • Most plans charge a percentage of order value processed through Flipdish channels
    • Kiosk hardware quoted separately per terminal
    • Setup, branding and app store submission billed at onboarding

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Choose Flipdish if

  • You need branded ordering site and app.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want self service kiosks.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or Flipdish better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Flipdish at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or Flipdish?
CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Flipdish at On request.
Does CAKE POS or Flipdish run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. Flipdish runs on Web, iOS, Android.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling. Of those, point of sale and order management are not what Flipdish is typically brought in for.
What can CAKE POS do that Flipdish cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management. Flipdish covers Branded ordering site and app, Self service kiosks, Marketing and loyalty, POS and printer integration.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
Flipdish: Is Flipdish actually commission free?

No. It charges much less than a delivery marketplace, but most plans take a percentage of the order value it processes. Ask for the rate at your order volume.

CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
Flipdish: Does it replace Just Eat or Deliveroo?

It provides a direct channel alongside them. Most venues keep the marketplaces for discovery and use Flipdish for repeat customers.

CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Flipdish: Does it work with my point of sale?

It integrates with a number of systems and, where it does not, orders can be printed or worked on a tablet.

Flipdish: Which countries is it strongest in?

Ireland and the United Kingdom, with meaningful coverage across continental Europe.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads