Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

Apicbase vs Epos Now

Apicbase logo

Apicbase

Restaurants

F&B management for multi-unit operations

From
On request
Rated
-
Epos Now logo

Epos Now

Restaurants

Cloud point of sale for hospitality and retail sold with hardware finance and attached payment processing

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; Epos Now hardware is often placed on a finance agreement with a third party, so cancelling the software subscription leaves the equipment payments running for the remainder of the term.
  • They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Epos Now covers Cloud till software.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Apicbase and Epos Now actually diverge.

Attributes where Apicbase and Epos Now differ
AttributeApicbaseEpos Now
PlatformsWeb, Ios, AndroidWeb, iOS, Android, Windows
Founded2017Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (quote), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Apicbase

  • Centralized recipes
  • Inventory management
  • Procurement
  • Food cost analytics
  • Menu engineering
  • HACCP
  • POS systems
  • Accounting software

Only in Epos Now

  • Cloud till software
  • Hardware bundles
  • Integrated payments
  • AppStore add ons
  • Stock and product management
  • Multi site reporting

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Apicbase

  • Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot Epos Now
  • Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot Epos Now
  • Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot Epos Now
  • Purchasing and supplier price managementnot Epos Now
  • Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot Epos Now

Epos Now

  • A single site cafe or bar wanting a low upfront cost till system installed quicklynot Apicbase
  • An independent needing basic stock, staff and sales reporting without an implementation projectnot Apicbase
  • An operator running both a small retail line and a food offer on one systemnot Apicbase
  • A business replacing a mechanical till that has no reporting or remote access at allnot Apicbase

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Apicbase

  • No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
  • Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
  • Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
  • Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed

Epos Now

  • Hardware is often placed on a finance agreement with a third party, so cancelling the software subscription leaves the equipment payments running for the remainder of the term.
  • Software, hardware finance and card processing are three separate agreements with different notice periods, which makes a clean exit difficult and is the source of most published complaints.
  • The vendor makes its margin on payment processing, so the low advertised software price is offset by a card rate that costs far more across a year of trading.
  • Sales is telesales led and buyers report pressure to sign quickly, which is a poor fit for a decision involving multi year finance commitments.
  • Useful capability is spread across paid add ons in the application store, so the functional system a restaurant actually needs costs considerably more than the entry subscription.

Pricing, plan by plan

Apicbase

On request
  • Growth$undefined/mo
    • Starting from 5 outlets
    • Up to 5,000 ingredients
    • Up to 1,000 recipes
  • Professional$undefined/mo
    • For established brands
    • Up to 10,000 ingredients
    • Up to 2,000 recipes
  • Enterprise$undefined/mo
    • For large-scale operators
    • Custom arrangements

Epos Now

On request
  • Epos Now$undefined/year
    • Software subscription quoted per till
    • Hardware frequently supplied under a separate finance or lease agreement
    • Card processing contracted separately and priced by negotiated rate

Which should you pick?

Choose Apicbase if

  • You need centralized recipes.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose Epos Now if

  • You need cloud till software.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android, Windows.
  • You also want hardware bundles.

Questions people ask

Is Apicbase or Epos Now better?
Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and Epos Now at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Apicbase or Epos Now?
Apicbase starts at On request and Epos Now at On request.
Does Apicbase or Epos Now run on more platforms?
Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. Epos Now runs on Web, iOS, Android, Windows.
What is Apicbase best used for?
Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what Epos Now is typically brought in for.
What can Apicbase do that Epos Now cannot?
Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. Epos Now covers Cloud till software, Hardware bundles, Integrated payments, AppStore add ons.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?

Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.

Source
Epos Now: Is the hardware bought or leased?

Frequently financed through a third party agreement rather than bought outright. Ask explicitly which it is and read the term before signing.

Apicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?

Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.

Source
Epos Now: Can I cancel the software and keep trading?

You can stop the subscription, but a separate hardware finance agreement continues to its own end date, and processing is contracted separately again.

Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?

Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.

Source
Epos Now: Do I have to use their card processing?

It is the commercial basis of the pricing. Using another acquirer, where permitted, changes the software quote.

Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?

Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.

Source
Epos Now: Is it suitable for a busy full service restaurant?

It handles straightforward hospitality service. Complex coursing, large table management and high volume kitchens are better served by restaurant specific systems.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads