Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

Apicbase vs PAR Brink POS

Apicbase logo

Apicbase

Restaurants

F&B management for multi-unit operations

From
On request
Rated
-
PAR Brink POS logo

PAR Brink POS

Restaurants

Cloud point of sale for enterprise quick service chains and their franchisees

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Apicbase no pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes; PAR Brink POS the suite was assembled by acquisition, so loyalty, ordering, back office and POS still carry separate data models and administration consoles rather than one unified system.
  • They diverge on capability: Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, PAR Brink POS covers Enterprise menu and price control.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Apicbase and PAR Brink POS actually diverge.

Attributes where Apicbase and PAR Brink POS differ
AttributeApicbasePAR Brink POS
PlatformsWeb, Ios, AndroidWeb, Android, Windows
Founded2017Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (quote), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Apicbase

  • Centralized recipes
  • Inventory management
  • Procurement
  • Food cost analytics
  • Menu engineering
  • HACCP
  • POS systems
  • Accounting software

Only in PAR Brink POS

  • Enterprise menu and price control
  • Drive through and speed of service
  • Open integration interfaces
  • Loyalty through Punchh
  • Back office through Data Central
  • Hardware range

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Apicbase

  • Recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredientsnot PAR Brink POS
  • Food cost and margin tracking across outletsnot PAR Brink POS
  • Inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groupsnot PAR Brink POS
  • Purchasing and supplier price managementnot PAR Brink POS
  • Allergen and nutrition data on menusnot PAR Brink POS

PAR Brink POS

  • A franchisor standardising the point of sale across hundreds of franchised locationsnot Apicbase
  • A quick service brand where drive through timing and speed of service reporting drive operationsnot Apicbase
  • A chain that wants POS, loyalty and back office contracted through a single vendornot Apicbase
  • A brand needing documented interfaces so its own developers can build ordering and delivery integrationsnot Apicbase

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Apicbase

  • No pricing amounts published; requires contact for quotes
  • Monthly billing includes 15% additional fee on top of annual pricing
  • Minimum commitment required (specific term not stated)
  • Volume discounts available but exact percentages not disclosed

PAR Brink POS

  • The suite was assembled by acquisition, so loyalty, ordering, back office and POS still carry separate data models and administration consoles rather than one unified system.
  • Pricing and contracting assume estate scale, which leaves an individual franchisee paying enterprise rates without enterprise negotiating leverage.
  • Hardware and implementation are separate line items that typically exceed the first year of software subscription at a new site.
  • Roll outs are project managed over months, so a brand needing a system live at a site opening in a few weeks will struggle.
  • PAR is a listed company under margin pressure and has raised prices as it consolidates its acquisitions, which makes renewal costs harder to forecast across a long franchise agreement.

Pricing, plan by plan

Apicbase

On request
  • Growth$undefined/mo
    • Starting from 5 outlets
    • Up to 5,000 ingredients
    • Up to 1,000 recipes
  • Professional$undefined/mo
    • For established brands
    • Up to 10,000 ingredients
    • Up to 2,000 recipes
  • Enterprise$undefined/mo
    • For large-scale operators
    • Custom arrangements

PAR Brink POS

On request
  • Brink POS$undefined/year
    • Priced per site per month under a franchisor or corporate agreement
    • Terminals, kitchen displays and drive through hardware quoted separately
    • Implementation and roll out delivered as a project

Which should you pick?

Choose Apicbase if

  • You need centralized recipes.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose PAR Brink POS if

  • You need enterprise menu and price control.
  • You work on Web, Android, Windows.
  • You also want drive through and speed of service.

Questions people ask

Is Apicbase or PAR Brink POS better?
Neither clearly leads. Apicbase starts at On request and PAR Brink POS at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Apicbase or PAR Brink POS?
Apicbase starts at On request and PAR Brink POS at On request.
Does Apicbase or PAR Brink POS run on more platforms?
Apicbase runs on Web, Ios, Android. PAR Brink POS runs on Web, Android, Windows.
What is Apicbase best used for?
Apicbase is most often used for recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients, food cost and margin tracking across outlets, inventory and stock counts for multi-site restaurant groups, purchasing and supplier price management. Of those, recipe and menu engineering with costed ingredients and food cost and margin tracking across outlets are not what PAR Brink POS is typically brought in for.
What can Apicbase do that PAR Brink POS cannot?
Apicbase covers Centralized recipes, Inventory management, Procurement, Food cost analytics. PAR Brink POS covers Enterprise menu and price control, Drive through and speed of service, Open integration interfaces, Loyalty through Punchh.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Apicbase: How much does Apicbase cost?

Apicbase pricing is not published. Specific costs must be obtained by contacting their sales team for a custom quote based on your number of locations and business needs.

Source
PAR Brink POS: Who chooses Brink, the franchisor or the franchisee?

Almost always the franchisor, as an estate standard. The franchisee implements and pays for it.

Apicbase: What are Apicbase's main pricing tiers?

Apicbase offers Growth (from 5 outlets), Professional (for established brands with unlimited locations), and Enterprise (for large operators). Growth tier limits locations to 30 and includes up to 5,000 ingredients.

Source
PAR Brink POS: Does PAR supply loyalty as well as POS?

Yes, through Punchh, which PAR acquired. It is licensed separately from the POS.

Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer monthly billing?

Apicbase subscriptions are billed annually, but monthly billing is available with an additional 15% fee applied on top of the annual rate.

Source
PAR Brink POS: Is it suitable for an independent restaurant?

Not really. The value is in central control across many sites, which an independent does not need and still pays for.

Apicbase: Does Apicbase offer volume discounts?

Yes, volume discounts are available as you add more locations. Bulk discounts apply to Enterprise plans, with per-location fees decreasing with scale.

Source
PAR Brink POS: Does it work offline?

Terminals continue to operate through network interruptions, which matters in drive through environments where a stall is measured in seconds.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads