Softwr

Productivity · head to head

Hubstaff vs RemNote

Hubstaff logo

Hubstaff

Productivity

Time tracking and team management for remote teams

From
$5.99/month
Rated
-
RemNote logo

RemNote

Productivity

Note-taking where lines become spaced repetition flashcards as you write them

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only RemNote has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Hubstaff no pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed; RemNote the free plan is unlimited on notes and flashcards but meters exactly what a student needs, at three annotated PDFs, five image-occlusion images and one handwritten document, so the trigger to pay arrives in the first week of a term rather than after a year.
  • They diverge on capability: Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, RemNote covers Notes and cards in one document.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Hubstaff and RemNote actually diverge.

Attributes where Hubstaff and RemNote differ
AttributeHubstaffRemNote
Starting price$5.99/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionfreemium
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWeb, IOS, Android, MacOS, WindowsWeb
Founded2012Unknown

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Productivity).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Hubstaff

  • Time tracking with timer
  • Activity monitoring
  • GPS location tracking
  • Screenshots
  • Reports and analytics
  • Invoicing
  • Team management
  • Mobile apps

Only in RemNote

  • Notes and cards in one document
  • Spaced repetition scheduler
  • PDF annotation
  • Image occlusion
  • Handwriting documents
  • Exam scheduler
  • Unlimited notes and devices
  • Metered AI credits

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Hubstaff

  • Productivitynot RemNote
  • Collaborationnot RemNote
  • Task managementnot RemNote
  • Organizationnot RemNote

RemNote

  • Medical or law study where the sheer volume of material makes maintaining a separate flashcard deck impractical.not Hubstaff
  • Annotating lecture slides and textbook PDFs so that highlights become review material directly.not Hubstaff
  • Learning anatomy or any diagram-heavy subject where image occlusion is the effective card type.not Hubstaff
  • Language learning where vocabulary emerges from reading notes rather than from a prepared deck.not Hubstaff

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Hubstaff

  • No pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed
  • Per-seat pricing structure means users charged per team member regardless of active tracking use
  • Billing model includes prorated charges on annual plans but full rates for new monthly users, creating potential cost complications

RemNote

  • The free plan is unlimited on notes and flashcards but meters exactly what a student needs, at three annotated PDFs, five image-occlusion images and one handwritten document, so the trigger to pay arrives in the first week of a term rather than after a year.
  • Notes can be exported as text, but the review history and scheduling state cannot be carried into another spaced repetition system, and after a year of study that scheduling state is the real asset rather than the notes.
  • Knowledge bases built over several years slow the application down, and because the method depends on daily reviews, the performance problems arrive exactly when you have the most invested and the least appetite to move.
  • AI features are metered in credits at a hundred a month on the free plan, and the tier that makes them usable costs more than double the standard paid plan, so the AI is effectively a second purchase rather than a feature of the product.
  • It is a small independent vendor serving individual students, with no organisational sales underwriting it, so anyone committing several years of study material is betting on the company's continuity without an institutional customer base as a safety net.

Pricing, plan by plan

Hubstaff

$5.99/month
  • FreeFree
    • Basic time tracking
    • Limited to 1 user
    • Basic reports
  • Starter$5.99/month
    • Time tracking
    • Team management
    • Reports
  • Pro$9.99/month
    • Everything in Starter
    • GPS tracking
    • Activity monitoring

RemNote

Free
  • Free PlanFree
    • Unlimited notes and flashcards
    • 3 annotated PDFs
    • 5 image occlusion cards
  • Pro$8/month
    • All Free features
    • Unlimited PDF annotation and image occlusion
    • Tables and templates
  • Pro with AI$18/month
    • All Pro features
    • 20000 AI credits monthly
    • Unlimited flashcard explanations

Which should you pick?

Choose Hubstaff if

  • You need time tracking with timer.
  • You work on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows.
  • You also want activity monitoring.

Choose RemNote if

  • You need notes and cards in one document.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want spaced repetition scheduler.

Questions people ask

Is Hubstaff or RemNote better?
Neither clearly leads. Hubstaff starts at $5.99/month and RemNote at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Hubstaff or RemNote?
RemNote has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $5.99/month for Hubstaff and Free for RemNote.
Does Hubstaff or RemNote run on more platforms?
Hubstaff runs on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows. RemNote runs on Web.
Can I use RemNote for free?
Yes. RemNote has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Hubstaff starts at $5.99/month.
What is Hubstaff best used for?
Hubstaff is most often used for productivity, collaboration, task management, organization. Of those, productivity and collaboration are not what RemNote is typically brought in for.
What can Hubstaff do that RemNote cannot?
Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, Activity monitoring, GPS location tracking, Screenshots. RemNote covers Notes and cards in one document, Spaced repetition scheduler, PDF annotation, Image occlusion.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Hubstaff: How much does Hubstaff cost?

Specific pricing amounts are not published on the pricing page. Hubstaff offers monthly and annual billing options with a per-seat pricing structure, a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans, and a 14-day free trial with no credit card required.

Source
RemNote: How is it different from Anki?

Anki is a flashcard system you feed, free and open with an enormous library of shared decks and a long record of stability. RemNote generates the cards from notes you are already writing, which saves the copying step but ties the cards to one vendor.

Hubstaff: Is there a free trial for Hubstaff?

Hubstaff offers a free 14-day trial with no credit card required, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans excluding the free trial period.

Source
RemNote: Does it work offline?

An offline mode is offered. Sync conflicts across devices are the usual caveat, so test it with your own workflow before depending on it during an exam period.

Hubstaff: How does Hubstaff billing work when adding team members mid-cycle?

For annual plans, Hubstaff prorates charges when adding seats mid-cycle. For monthly plans, full rates apply for new users with no prorating offered.

Source
RemNote: What does the free plan actually restrict?

Not notes or flashcards, which are unlimited, and not the number of devices. It restricts annotated PDFs, image occlusion images, handwritten documents, daily uploads and AI credits.

Hubstaff: Can Hubstaff plans be canceled anytime?

Plans can be canceled anytime by contacting support or archiving the associated organization. Users removed from monthly plans do not receive prorated refunds.

Source
RemNote: Can I get my material out?

Notes export in text form. The scheduling state and review history do not transfer, so leaving means keeping your notes and restarting the review cycle from nothing.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads