Softwr

Productivity · head to head

Hubstaff vs Kahoot

Hubstaff logo

Hubstaff

Productivity

Time tracking and team management for remote teams

From
$5.99/month
Rated
-
Kahoot logo

Kahoot

Productivity

Make learning awesome with game-based quizzes

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Kahoot has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Hubstaff no pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed; Kahoot no free tier available; all plans are paid subscriptions starting at $19/month
  • They diverge on capability: Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, Kahoot covers Quiz games.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Hubstaff and Kahoot actually diverge.

Attributes where Hubstaff and Kahoot differ
AttributeHubstaffKahoot
Starting price$5.99/monthFree
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWeb, IOS, Android, MacOS, WindowsCloud-based SaaS, Mobile apps (iOS, Android)

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Productivity), founded (2012).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Hubstaff

  • Time tracking with timer
  • Activity monitoring
  • GPS location tracking
  • Screenshots
  • Reports and analytics
  • Invoicing
  • Team management
  • Mobile apps

Only in Kahoot

  • Quiz games
  • Surveys
  • Puzzles
  • Word clouds
  • Live games
  • Self-paced challenges
  • Reports
  • Question bank

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Hubstaff

  • Productivitynot Kahoot
  • Collaborationnot Kahoot
  • Task managementnot Kahoot
  • Organizationnot Kahoot

Kahoot

  • Interactive quizzes and learning assessments for educationnot Hubstaff
  • Employee training and development programsnot Hubstaff
  • Conference and event audience engagementnot Hubstaff
  • Team building and company-wide meetingsnot Hubstaff

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Hubstaff

  • No pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed
  • Per-seat pricing structure means users charged per team member regardless of active tracking use
  • Billing model includes prorated charges on annual plans but full rates for new monthly users, creating potential cost complications

Kahoot

  • No free tier available; all plans are paid subscriptions starting at $19/month
  • Participant limit increases significantly with plan tier, from 50 to 5,000 maximum

Pricing, plan by plan

Hubstaff

$5.99/month
  • FreeFree
    • Basic time tracking
    • Limited to 1 user
    • Basic reports
  • Starter$5.99/month
    • Time tracking
    • Team management
    • Reports
  • Pro$9.99/month
    • Everything in Starter
    • GPS tracking
    • Activity monitoring

Kahoot

Free
  • Kahoot! 360 Pro Start$19/month
    • Up to 50 participants per session
    • Interactive quizzes and polls
    • Basic hosting
  • Kahoot! 360 Pro Standard$25/month
    • Up to 200 participants per session
    • Brainstorms and word clouds
    • Slide syncing and Q&A
  • Kahoot! 360 Pro Plus$49/month
    • Up to 1,000 participants per session
    • Courses with certificates
    • NPS surveys
  • Kahoot! 360 Pro Max$69/month
    • Up to 2,000 participants per session
    • Custom theming
    • Immersive branding

Which should you pick?

Choose Hubstaff if

  • You need time tracking with timer.
  • You work on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows.
  • You also want activity monitoring.

Choose Kahoot if

  • You need quiz games.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Cloud-based SaaS, Mobile apps (iOS, Android).
  • You also want surveys.

Questions people ask

Is Hubstaff or Kahoot better?
Neither clearly leads. Hubstaff starts at $5.99/month and Kahoot at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Hubstaff or Kahoot?
Kahoot has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $5.99/month for Hubstaff and Free for Kahoot.
Does Hubstaff or Kahoot run on more platforms?
Hubstaff runs on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows. Kahoot runs on Cloud-based SaaS, Mobile apps (iOS, Android).
Can I use Kahoot for free?
Yes. Kahoot has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Hubstaff starts at $5.99/month.
What is Hubstaff best used for?
Hubstaff is most often used for productivity, collaboration, task management, organization. Of those, productivity and collaboration are not what Kahoot is typically brought in for.
What can Hubstaff do that Kahoot cannot?
Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, Activity monitoring, GPS location tracking, Screenshots. Kahoot covers Quiz games, Surveys, Puzzles, Word clouds.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Hubstaff: How much does Hubstaff cost?

Specific pricing amounts are not published on the pricing page. Hubstaff offers monthly and annual billing options with a per-seat pricing structure, a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans, and a 14-day free trial with no credit card required.

Source
Kahoot: What is the cheapest Kahoot plan and what audience size does it support?

Kahoot! 360 Pro Start is $19 per month (or $228 annually) and supports up to 50 participants per session. It includes interactive quizzes, polls, basic hosting, and AI kahoot creation.

Source
Hubstaff: Is there a free trial for Hubstaff?

Hubstaff offers a free 14-day trial with no credit card required, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans excluding the free trial period.

Source
Kahoot: Which Kahoot plan supports the largest audience, and what is its participant limit?

Kahoot! 360 Pro Ultra is the top tier at $79 per month (or $948 annually) and supports up to 5,000 participants per session. It includes full AI assistant access, event consultation, commercial licensing, and large document processing up to 500 pages.

Source
Hubstaff: How does Hubstaff billing work when adding team members mid-cycle?

For annual plans, Hubstaff prorates charges when adding seats mid-cycle. For monthly plans, full rates apply for new users with no prorating offered.

Source
Kahoot: How much does a Kahoot plan cost annually if I pay upfront?

Annual pricing is available for all plans and includes a discount: Pro Start is $228/year ($19/month), Pro Standard is $300/year ($25/month), Pro Plus is $588/year ($49/month), Pro Max is $828/year ($69/month), and Pro Ultra is $948/year ($79/month).

Source
Hubstaff: Can Hubstaff plans be canceled anytime?

Plans can be canceled anytime by contacting support or archiving the associated organization. Users removed from monthly plans do not receive prorated refunds.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads