Softwr

Productivity · head to head

Google Workspace vs Hubstaff

Google Workspace logo

Google Workspace

Productivity

Everything you need to get work done, all in one place

From
€6.8/month
Rated
-
Hubstaff logo

Hubstaff

Productivity

Time tracking and team management for remote teams

From
$5.99/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Google Workspace starter tier storage limited to 30 GB per user, requiring upgrade to Standard or higher for adequate document storage; Hubstaff no pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed
  • They diverge on capability: Google Workspace covers Gmail business email, Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Google Workspace and Hubstaff actually diverge.

Attributes where Google Workspace and Hubstaff differ
AttributeGoogle WorkspaceHubstaff
Starting price€6.8/month$5.99/month
PlatformsWebWeb, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows
Founded20062012

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Productivity).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Google Workspace

  • Gmail business email
  • Google Drive storage
  • Google Docs, Sheets, Slides
  • Google Calendar
  • Google Meet video conferencing
  • Google Chat
  • Google Forms
  • Google Sites

Only in Hubstaff

  • Time tracking with timer
  • Activity monitoring
  • GPS location tracking
  • Screenshots
  • Reports and analytics
  • Invoicing
  • Team management
  • Mobile apps

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Google Workspace

  • Business email and communicationnot Hubstaff
  • Cloud document collaborationnot Hubstaff
  • Team productivity and file sharingnot Hubstaff
  • Enterprise application suitenot Hubstaff

Hubstaff

  • Productivitynot Google Workspace
  • Collaborationnot Google Workspace
  • Task managementnot Google Workspace
  • Organizationnot Google Workspace

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Google Workspace

  • Starter tier storage limited to 30 GB per user, requiring upgrade to Standard or higher for adequate document storage
  • Starter and Standard tiers both capped at maximum 300 users per organisation
  • Video meetings limited to 100 participants on Starter tier, 150 on Standard tier
  • Recording capabilities only available on Standard tier and above
  • eDiscovery, Vault, and advanced security features only available on Plus and Enterprise tiers

Hubstaff

  • No pricing amounts published on pricing page; specific dollar amounts for plans not disclosed
  • Per-seat pricing structure means users charged per team member regardless of active tracking use
  • Billing model includes prorated charges on annual plans but full rates for new monthly users, creating potential cost complications

Pricing, plan by plan

Google Workspace

€6.8/month
  • Starter$6.8/month
    • 30 GB storage
    • Custom business email
    • Basic Gemini AI features
  • Standard$13.6/month
    • 2 TB storage
    • Enhanced email features
    • Gemini AI across multiple apps
  • Plus$21.1/month
    • 5 TB storage
    • Advanced security features
    • Expanded Gemini AI access
  • Enterprise$null/custom
    • 5 TB storage upgradeable
    • Up to 1,000 meeting participants
    • Enterprise-grade security

Hubstaff

$5.99/month
  • FreeFree
    • Basic time tracking
    • Limited to 1 user
    • Basic reports
  • Starter$5.99/month
    • Time tracking
    • Team management
    • Reports
  • Pro$9.99/month
    • Everything in Starter
    • GPS tracking
    • Activity monitoring

Which should you pick?

Choose Google Workspace if

  • You need gmail business email.
  • You also want google drive storage.

Choose Hubstaff if

  • You need time tracking with timer.
  • You work on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows.
  • You also want activity monitoring.

Questions people ask

Is Google Workspace or Hubstaff better?
Neither clearly leads. Google Workspace starts at €6.8/month and Hubstaff at $5.99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Google Workspace or Hubstaff?
Google Workspace starts at €6.8/month and Hubstaff at $5.99/month.
Does Google Workspace or Hubstaff run on more platforms?
Google Workspace runs on Web. Hubstaff runs on Web, IOS, Android, MacOS, Windows.
What is Google Workspace best used for?
Google Workspace is most often used for business email and communication, cloud document collaboration, team productivity and file sharing, enterprise application suite. Of those, business email and communication and cloud document collaboration are not what Hubstaff is typically brought in for.
What can Google Workspace do that Hubstaff cannot?
Google Workspace covers Gmail business email, Google Drive storage, Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Google Calendar. Hubstaff covers Time tracking with timer, Activity monitoring, GPS location tracking, Screenshots.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Google Workspace: What are the Google Workspace pricing tiers?

Google Workspace offers Starter at 6.80 EUR/month (normally, currently 30% off), Standard at 13.60 EUR/month, Plus at 21.10 EUR/month, and Enterprise with custom pricing.

Source
Hubstaff: How much does Hubstaff cost?

Specific pricing amounts are not published on the pricing page. Hubstaff offers monthly and annual billing options with a per-seat pricing structure, a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans, and a 14-day free trial with no credit card required.

Source
Google Workspace: How many users does each tier support?

Starter, Standard, and Plus plans support up to 300 users. Enterprise plans support unlimited users.

Source
Hubstaff: Is there a free trial for Hubstaff?

Hubstaff offers a free 14-day trial with no credit card required, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans excluding the free trial period.

Source
Google Workspace: What storage is included in each plan?

Starter includes 30 GB, Standard and Plus include 2 TB and 5 TB respectively. Enterprise includes 5 TB upgradeable.

Source
Hubstaff: How does Hubstaff billing work when adding team members mid-cycle?

For annual plans, Hubstaff prorates charges when adding seats mid-cycle. For monthly plans, full rates apply for new users with no prorating offered.

Source
Google Workspace: What meeting features are included?

Standard and Plus plans include Meet video conferencing, though participant limits increase by tier. Enterprise supports up to 1,000 meeting participants.

Source
Hubstaff: Can Hubstaff plans be canceled anytime?

Plans can be canceled anytime by contacting support or archiving the associated organization. Users removed from monthly plans do not receive prorated refunds.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads