E-Commerce · head to head
Retail Pro vs TikTok Shop

TikTok Shop
E-Commerce
Social commerce platform integrated with TikTok
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only TikTok Shop has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation; TikTok Shop 6% commission per sale reduces profit margins compared to self-hosted e-commerce
- They diverge on capability: Retail Pro covers Point of sale, TikTok Shop covers Product showcase.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Retail Pro and TikTok Shop actually diverge.
| Attribute | Retail Pro | TikTok Shop |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | On request | Free |
| Pricing model | Unknown | transaction |
| Free tier | No | Yes |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Windows | Web |
| Founded | 1988 | 2021 |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Retail Pro
- Point of sale
- Inventory management
- Customer database
- Employee management
- Sales analytics
- Promotion management
- Multi-store support
- Reporting tools
Only in TikTok Shop
- Product showcase
- Live shopping
- Video integration
- Order management
- Logistics partnerships
- Analytics dashboard
- Customer reviews
- Payment processing
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Retail Pro
- Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not TikTok Shop
- Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot TikTok Shop
- Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot TikTok Shop
TikTok Shop
- Social commerce for small businesses and individual sellersnot Retail Pro
- Direct-to-consumer sales via TikTok platformnot Retail Pro
- Reaching TikTok's user base without separate website developmentnot Retail Pro
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Retail Pro
- Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
- No published technical requirements or system specifications
- International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region
TikTok Shop
- 6% commission per sale reduces profit margins compared to self-hosted e-commerce
- Incentive program ($23,630 max) is limited to new sellers and specific merchants
Pricing, plan by plan
Retail Pro
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.
TikTok Shop
Free- Standard ShopFree
- No setup fees
- 6% commission per sale
- Direct payouts to linked bank account
- New Seller Incentives$23630/incentive-value
- Up to 2800 USD in launch rewards
- Up to 20830 USD in ad credits
- TikTok Shop-funded discounts and campaigns
Which should you pick?
Choose Retail Pro if
- You need point of sale.
- You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
- You also want inventory management.
Choose TikTok Shop if
- You need product showcase.
- You want to start without paying.
- You also want live shopping.
Questions people ask
- Is Retail Pro or TikTok Shop better?
- Neither clearly leads. Retail Pro starts at On request and TikTok Shop at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Retail Pro or TikTok Shop?
- TikTok Shop has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Retail Pro and Free for TikTok Shop.
- Does Retail Pro or TikTok Shop run on more platforms?
- Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows. TikTok Shop runs on Web.
- Can I use TikTok Shop for free?
- Yes. TikTok Shop has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Retail Pro starts at On request.
- What is Retail Pro best used for?
- Retail Pro is most often used for multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores), inventory management with serialized product tracking, customer loyalty programs via appcard integration. Of those, multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores) and inventory management with serialized product tracking are not what TikTok Shop is typically brought in for.
- What can Retail Pro do that TikTok Shop cannot?
- Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Inventory management, Customer database, Employee management. TikTok Shop covers Product showcase, Live shopping, Video integration, Order management.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Retail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?
Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.
SourceTikTok Shop: How much does TikTok Shop cost to open?
Opening a TikTok Shop is free. There are no setup fees or upfront costs to launch a shop on the platform.
SourceTikTok Shop: What commission does TikTok Shop charge?
TikTok Shop charges a flat 6% commission on each sale. This is the only per-transaction cost for selling on the platform.
SourceTikTok Shop: What incentives are available for new sellers?
New sellers can earn up to 23,630 USD in total incentives including up to 2,800 USD in launch rewards, up to 20,830 USD in ad credits, and access to TikTok Shop-funded campaigns and exclusive growth support.
SourceTikTok Shop: How do sellers receive payment?
Sellers receive payouts directly to their linked bank account after orders are completed and any return or refund windows close.
SourceRelated pages
More on TikTok Shop
Other head to heads
- Retail Pro vs Shopkeep
- Retail Pro vs Square
- Retail Pro vs BigCommerce
- Retail Pro vs Magento
- Retail Pro vs KORONA POS
- Retail Pro vs Heartland Retail
- Retail Pro vs Square for Retail
- Retail Pro vs Oracle Commerce
- Retail Pro vs Erply
- Retail Pro vs Inventory Lab
- Retail Pro vs Toast
- Retail Pro vs Volusion
- Retail Pro vs PrestaShop
- Retail Pro vs Razorpay
- Retail Pro vs Saleor
- Retail Pro vs SamCart
- Retail Pro vs Sellfy
- Retail Pro vs Ecwid
- Retail Pro vs Temu
- Retail Pro vs Memberful
- Retail Pro vs Braze
- Retail Pro vs Poshmark
- Retail Pro vs Shein
- Retail Pro vs Squarespace Commerce
- Retail Pro vs Authorize.net
- Retail Pro vs Big Cartel
- Retail Pro vs Bluepark
- Retail Pro vs Braintree
- Retail Pro vs Drip
- TikTok Shop vs Shopkeep
- TikTok Shop vs Square
- TikTok Shop vs BigCommerce
- TikTok Shop vs Magento
- TikTok Shop vs KORONA POS
- TikTok Shop vs Heartland Retail
- TikTok Shop vs Square for Retail
- TikTok Shop vs Oracle Commerce
- TikTok Shop vs Erply
- TikTok Shop vs Inventory Lab
- TikTok Shop vs Toast
- TikTok Shop vs Volusion
- TikTok Shop vs PrestaShop
- TikTok Shop vs Razorpay
- TikTok Shop vs Saleor
- TikTok Shop vs SamCart
- TikTok Shop vs Sellfy
- TikTok Shop vs Ecwid
- TikTok Shop vs Temu
- TikTok Shop vs Memberful
- TikTok Shop vs Braze
- TikTok Shop vs Poshmark
- TikTok Shop vs Shein
- TikTok Shop vs Squarespace Commerce
- TikTok Shop vs Authorize.net
- TikTok Shop vs Big Cartel
- TikTok Shop vs Bluepark
- TikTok Shop vs Braintree
- TikTok Shop vs Drip

