Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs Deliveroo

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
Deliveroo logo

Deliveroo

Restaurants

UK-headquartered food delivery marketplace connecting restaurants, riders and diners

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Deliveroo has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; Deliveroo restaurant commission of roughly 20 to 30 percent is frequently passed on as higher in-app menu prices, so the displayed total is not the restaurant menu price plus a small fee, it is a marked-up menu plus a fee.
  • They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Deliveroo covers Restaurant marketplace.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and Deliveroo actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and Deliveroo differ
AttributeCAKE POSDeliveroo
Starting price$69/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionFree to download; delivery and service fees per order, optional subscription for reduced fees
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsIos, AndroidiOS, Android, Web
Founded2010Unknown

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Online ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Reporting
  • Kitchen display
  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub

Only in Deliveroo

  • Restaurant marketplace
  • Deliveroo Plus subscription
  • Live order tracking
  • Grocery and convenience delivery
  • Group ordering
  • Deliveroo for Business

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Salenot Deliveroo
  • Order Managementnot Deliveroo
  • Inventory Controlnot Deliveroo
  • Staff Schedulingnot Deliveroo

Deliveroo

  • Someone ordering food for delivery who values convenience over the price premium versus collectionnot CAKE POS
  • A frequent orderer weighing whether a Deliveroo Plus subscription pays for itself at their order volumenot CAKE POS
  • A workplace using Deliveroo for Business to give staff an expensed meal allowancenot CAKE POS
  • A diner comparing grocery delivery speed against a supermarket own-delivery slotnot CAKE POS

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

Deliveroo

  • Restaurant commission of roughly 20 to 30 percent is frequently passed on as higher in-app menu prices, so the displayed total is not the restaurant menu price plus a small fee, it is a marked-up menu plus a fee.
  • Riders are engaged as self-employed contractors paid per delivery, a model that has faced repeated legal and regulatory challenges in the UK and EU over minimum pay and employment status.
  • Deliveroo Plus only saves money above a certain order frequency, and casual users who subscribe rarely break even on the monthly charge.
  • Availability and reliability vary sharply by city; smaller markets have fewer restaurant partners and longer, less predictable delivery windows.
  • The company has exited some international markets entirely (including Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Taiwan and Australia in prior years), so coverage has shrunk rather than grown in several regions, and a market can disappear with limited notice.

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

Deliveroo

Free
  • Pay per orderFree
    • Delivery fee scaling with distance and demand
    • Service charge of a few percent on order total
    • Restaurant menu prices often marked up versus in-store
  • Deliveroo Plus$3.49/month
    • Delivery fees waived on qualifying orders above a minimum basket size
    • Service charge may still apply
    • Price varies by market and is often discounted for an introductory period

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Choose Deliveroo if

  • You need restaurant marketplace.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Web.
  • You also want deliveroo plus subscription.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or Deliveroo better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Deliveroo at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or Deliveroo?
Deliveroo has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $69/month for CAKE POS and Free for Deliveroo.
Does CAKE POS or Deliveroo run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. Deliveroo runs on iOS, Android, Web.
Can I use Deliveroo for free?
Yes. Deliveroo has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. CAKE POS starts at $69/month.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling. Of those, point of sale and order management are not what Deliveroo is typically brought in for.
What can CAKE POS do that Deliveroo cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management. Deliveroo covers Restaurant marketplace, Deliveroo Plus subscription, Live order tracking, Grocery and convenience delivery.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
Deliveroo: Is Deliveroo cheaper than collecting the food yourself?

Usually not. Menu prices in the app are frequently higher than in-restaurant prices to offset the commission Deliveroo charges, on top of the delivery and service fees.

CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
Deliveroo: What does Deliveroo Plus actually save?

It waives the delivery fee on qualifying orders above a minimum basket value for a flat monthly or annual charge; the service charge can still apply.

CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Deliveroo: Are Deliveroo riders employees?

No, they are engaged as self-employed contractors paid per delivery, a classification that has been challenged in UK and EU courts and regulators.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads